We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit!”
Review of Karibu

Karibu
Ranked #78 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: African, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Service with a smile. I wasn't quite sure what I would like from the menu however the dishes that the waiting staff recommendation hit the spot. High quality food at a reasonable price. I would highly recommend a visit to Karibu, you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank M_Rose_Cunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We were very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves at Karibu and we are also grateful for recommending our restaurant to other Tripadvisor members, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    517
    206
    73
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plastic food, poor service”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stopped in for a quick dinner having spotted Bobity on the menu. Not likely to stop here again. Very poor service, very 'plastic' food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We were very disappointed to hear that you thought our food was " Plastic ", we don't really understand what that actually means as all our ingredients are sourced as fresh as humanly possible and all our recipes are made and prepared on the premises, we will however look into the matter and we will most certainly also look into the poor service issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homely food away from home”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Awesome oxtail and lamb stew! Cooked to perfection! The special amarula cocktail was lovely! Family friendly… Perfect for wine enthusiasts! Please serve larger rice portions!!! The meat was more than the rice! Exquisite food at reasonable prices!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mamodise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are always pleased when customers from up-country enjoy everything we have to offer, I will most certainly look into the rice portions but next time you visit us just ask you waiter for more rice as we don't mind giving more rice so as to enjoy the bredies even more.
we hope to see you in the near future, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SA food done proud”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our first night on holiday in Cape Town and we were shopping around for dinner. Reviews on Karibu prompted us to give it a try. Great decision. The staff were friendly and efficient, ambience perfect on a slightly cool Winter's eve (the warm blankets on all the chairs is a nice welcoming touch). Although they don't have a kiddies menu - come on guys, it's not that hard - the chicken schnitzel did well for our young ones. My Karoo Lamb Bredie was superb - so many wonderful layers of flavours, simply heartwarming. My partners mussel soup left a little wanting and the snoek could have been a more generous portion. But all in all great service, good value and fabulous food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuirFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, Exec Chef at Karibu, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are always glad to see South Africans enjoying our extensive menu and warm hospitality, I will most certainly look into designing a small kiddies menu as I have had a few requests and it will just add to all that we offer. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you in Cape Town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“My Personal Favorite ”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We keep going back again & again. I love the celebration of South African food, wine and culture.
I've never been disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaribuRestaurant, at Karibu, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Michael for a wonderful review and I am sure we will see you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karibu also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Karibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing