We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Check Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Check Inn
Ranked #98 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I wanted to express my appreciation for the superior service I received during my stay at the Check Inn Hotel. In particular, Reception whom were very helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent customer service.

Also I want to praise you on the comfortable and clean rooms you guys had it was such a pleasure staying there.

Thanks to you and your staff for making my stay a great one - I will definitely be staying with your Hotel again.

The Hotel is worth it when you want to stay at a Budget Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
8
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

If on budged then this hotel is the place to stay. Clean and neat. Exellent customer service! Enough parking. Cant wait till next year when new building is complete!!
Near W&A waterfront and other tourist attractions. Will come back next year.
Perfect place to stay

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Finding budget accommodation in Cape Town is not easy. The price us great but you get what you pay for. The staff were friendly and helpful enough and parking was great. The room is air conditioned but I must say the sheets although clean we're threadbare. The shower floor needs to be rescaled and the underside of the toilet seat not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHendrikse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Terrible service, in that they barged into the room at 10:50 despite numerous attempts to notify them that we were not dressed inside and the explanation we got was that they were reminding us that check out was at 11, I was in complete disgust the receptionist did not appease us in the least in fact she stood by that ridiculous policy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samsalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a perfect place to stay while in Cape Town. The rooms are clean and the service is great. The price for what you receive is definitely excellent. We walked around the area and major attractions were not a too far drive away. We plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage request a lower floor, there is not an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel4life316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I just spent the weekend at the Check Inn. It's a perfect budget hotel with free parking at the front. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a TV and air con. Rooms are cleaned daily. The staff are really helpful and friendly and will help you with any tourist trips you want to do. We walked to the V&A Waterfront in around 10-15 minutes. The World Cup stadium is right across the street. There are some nice restaurants nearby such as a steak house, the slug and lettuce pub and Mario's an Italian resturant that I highly recommend.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I stayed here for three weeks on a group study tour. The location was great--close to the waterfront--and it's very close to the soccer stadium being built currently for the 2010 World Soccer Cup. It is very bare bones--no restaurant, elevators, chests of drawers, or phones in room, etc.; but it was very clean. It also seemed very safe, and South Africa is a place where I didn't always feel that way. There are laundry facilities in both directions from the hotel, as well as many restaurants and Internet cafes. It's just a short walk to the waterfront and the Victoria and Alfred Mall.

The breakfast consisted of dry cereal, toast, and coffee (Nescafe from an automated machine); but this was sufficient for a morning start.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#81 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#77 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Antrim Villa
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#85 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Check Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Check Inn

Property: Check Inn
Address: No. 155 Main Road | P.O Box 4, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Check Inn Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing