We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
15 Welgemeend Street B&B
Ranked #111 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had the priviledge to have chosen a perfectly wonderful place to stay at our fantastic trip to Cape Town. Liz and Trevor care for their guests in a very charming way and make companionship thus you almost want to miss the rest of Cape Town. We had a very lovely room and magnificent homemade breakfast just outside the room in a very nice and lush garden. Liz and Trevor's B&B gem is just the one-of-a-kind vantage point to explore and enjoy lovely Cape Town.

stayed May 18th to 24th 2013

Franz and Katja

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Once again a great stay with Liz & Trevor, the perfect owners of this little gem of B&B’s in Cape Town.
Previous guests have already raved about this B&B’s perfect location and their great breakfasts, and we couldn’t agree more. This is our third stay at 15 Welgemeend St B&B, and every time we feel like old family members returning home.
This is of course due to Liz & Trevor’s cordial reception, where they manage to treat you both as a hotel guest with some privacy and at the same time as old friends. This is a tricky balance that every B&B owner struggles to achieve, but not all succeed in.
As said, the location is great. The area is quiet but 15 Welgemeend is near the trendy Kloof and Long Streets with its small shops and café’s and not more than 20 minutes walk down to the Waterfront. The old grand hotel Mount Nelson (worth a visit, if only to marvel the building and garden) is merely five minutes away.
I’ll be back! As the governor once said.

Jan & Janet

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderingSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My mother has stayed with Trevor & Liz twice now, the first time on the recommendation of some Canadian friends. It is well located and close to town. She was made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed her time so we had no hesitation booking with them this year and are so glad we did!!

This well -appointed, comfortable Victorian-era house has 2 charming guest rooms (with ensuites) and a lovingly cared-for garden - perfect place to enjoy our scrumptious breakfasts (as noted by other reviewers), an afternoon cuppa or better still, a G&T! Trevor & Liz are both very knowledgable and helpful regarding your stay in Cape Town - we only wish we had had more time to spend with THEM! They are truly delightful hosts and made us feel like friends returning!

Thank you both for making our time in Sth Africa so special! Sally & Nan (Australia)

Room Tip: Our bathroom was modest in size but we were perfectly happy with it. However, if you prefer a bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Liz & Trevor thank you so much for your hospitality and kindness while we were visiting your BB. We enjoyed our stay in Cape Town for almost 14 days and you were both so nice and helpful - besides you served the most delicious breakfast we ever had - Liz's muesli and Trevor's bread is matchless.Thank you

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Inge_Hjermitslev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I could not have wished for better hosts than Liz and Trevor. I stayed for 5 day. Both Liz and Trevor went out of their way to make my days, and especially my birthday a special day. Thank you! The house and the garden have a comfortable atmosphere.The light breakfast in the garden is just the right start for the day.
After trips up Table Mountain, Hout Bay or the very interesting Waterfront the garden welcomes you to relax. One thing of great pleasure for me was, the long talks with Liz and Trevor. Sailing and photography are subjects which Trever knows a lot about.
I will remember the great days in 15 Welgemeend Str. for a long time. Und wenn es moeglich ist, komme ich im naechsten Jahr wieder!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finhansa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

After a 5 day Garden Route road trip with our 18 month old son, it was a treat to be welcomed in to the home of Liz and Trevor.

The accommodation was stunning, excellent location, amazing breakfast and both Liz and Trevor were brilliant with our son, providing toys, milk, appropriate breakfasts and a comfortable cot.

I would recommend 15 Welgemeend Street to anyone looking for a home from home at the southern tip of Africa.

If we return to Cape Town, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at 15 Welgemeend Street B&B at the start of a one-month trip through southern Africa. Trevor and Liz made us feel right at home, explaining not only the Cape Town attractions, lay-out, sight-seeing and transportation options for us during our stay, but also provided insight into the culture and history of the area. The fact they were able to accommodate a gluten-free diet was a welcome added bonus!

The B&B is located in a quiet and safe part of town, within reasonable walking distance from the city core. With few exceptions, we were able to see the major sights on foot.

It is certainly a B&B we would be happy to stay in again!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ange D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,351 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Welgemeend Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Welgemeend Street B&B

Address: 15 Welgemeend Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £75 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the lower slopes of Table Mountain in a secure area. Within walking distance of the city center. The New MyCiti bus offers an excellent service and their stop is within walking distance. We have FREE WiFi The area is secured by private security and you can happily walk to the nearby restaurants ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Welgemeend Street B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing