We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful, quiet B & B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 15 Welgemeend Street B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
15 Welgemeend Street B&B
Ranked #105 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Arizona
1 review
“Delightful, quiet B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

15 Welgemeend Street is a great find for anyone looking for a safe (I, a woman, was able to walk about untroubled on my own), comfortable place to stay in Cape Town. The room was beautiful and stocked daily with cookies and teas. Trevor and Liz were wonderful, charming hosts who were more than happy to assist with directions, sight-seeing advice, lifts to various locations around the city, and even pleasant conversation over glasses of port. I must say, too, that the breakfast was delicious! You couldn't ask for a better location either. The B & B is located within walking distance of many of Cape Town's finest museums, the beautiful city gardens, as well as many fine restaurants. I liked it so well that I actually stayed here again when I returned to Cape Town in July. My only complaint was that when I first arrived in May, the room seemed to have experienced some water damage due to heavy rains that had been falling at the time; however, when I returned in July the problem was resolved.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Java1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

It's very difficult to imagine a better location, accomodation, family atmosphere, breakfast (and Mandela's breakfast!) but expeccially it's very difficult to find two people, Liz & Trevor, so kind, caring and hospitable!!!!

15 Welgemeend Street....the best way to visit CT!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CriLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We first stayed at 15 Welgemeend St in Dec 2003. Liz and Trevor made such an impression that we have kept in touch ever since, stayed there again and recommended it to friends. They also enjoyed their stay. They are magnificent hosts, being very knowledgable about Cape Town and the surrounds so can advise on places to visit. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and comfortable and the healthy breakfasts were a delight. It is ideally situated for a pleasant walk into the city to visit the museums, Green Market Square etc and easy to find when driving from the airport. We have booked to stay there again in 2010.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Failand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Lovely B&B. Great hosts, and the cutest dog ever! The breakfast was super, as was the hospitality all round.

Nice, quiet & safe location in CT that is also central if you want to poke around! Safe to park outside too.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank La_GalesaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

If you visit Cape Town, do stay with Trevor and Liz Wilkins at 15 Welgemeend Street! The charming home on the lower slopes of Table Mountain is within walking distance of shops and restaurants and only a short taxi ride from great beaches and the popular Waterfront area. Liz and Trevor are truly fantastic hosts; their breakfasts are delicious and healthy! I want to return....

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topopu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#63 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-...
#29 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Welgelegen
#8 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Vip Cape Lodge
Vip Cape Lodge
#33 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Villa Zeezicht
#77 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Ashanti Gardens Guesthouse
#130 of 163 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Welgemeend Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Welgemeend Street B&B

Property: 15 Welgemeend Street B&B
Address: 15 Welgemeend Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the lower slopes of Table Mountain in a secure area. Within walking distance of the city center. The New MyCiti bus offers an excellent service and their stop is within walking distance. We have FREE WiFi The area is secured by private security and you can happily walk to the nearby restaurants ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Welgemeend Street B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing