We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Langa and Mzoli's place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inkululeko Freedom Tours

Inkululeko Freedom Tours
Ranked #172 of 324 Tours in Cape Town Central
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Langa and Mzoli's place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Andile is an excellent guide on this tour who shared great wisdom and depth of local knowledge, deepening also our understanding of the history of South Africa. He was able to tailor a tour to suit our needs, at short notice, and give us a real glimpse into township life. When we return to Cape Town I hope to book a tour with him again. For my son, whose grandfather was Xhosa, it was also an enriching and moving experience. I would highly recommend this tour. Thank you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cape Town-History &Culture Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you want to know the true history of Cape Town and experience the culture first hand, take the Inkululeko Tours. The tour will walk you through the township of Langa and you will meet the people who reside there. The guide, Andile is a part of the community and his knowledge of the country of South Africa will impact you significantly and increase your understanding of the past, present and the hope for the future. The freedom route is a must for anyone visiting Cape Town and I would highly recommend Inkululeko Tours for any of your sightseeing excursions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryc99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting insight into township history and current life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Andile gave us a great overview of life in the townships and tailored the tour to what we were interested in and what was safe on the day. He took us through the history, through older style townships to newer ones as well as a preschool and discussed hopes for the future. Lunch at mzolis was excellent!! Such great meat!! Thank you andile

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azzi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enriching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Well worth a 1/2-day commitment. We had originally contacted Comissa on short notice, and since they were booked, referred us to Inkululeo, which worked out great. We got an intimate view of the broad spectrum of lifestyles and lives in the Langa Township, courtesy of Andile, and came away with a much greater appreciation for the people and their experiences. This is not a voyeuristic drive-by tour, but a get out and walk about, meet and talk with people, share a pale of umqombothi in a shebeen experience that is unforgettable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best Township Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Going to Cape Town is not just living a luxury life by going to the best restaurants and seeing Table Mountain. It's more! One big and interesting issue is Langa Township!

Start your Cape Town trip with a Township Tour guided by Andile who lives at Langa.
Experience the Langa by walking through the Township. You even have the opportunity to go inside houses and talk to the local people.

One interesting extra is the Baptist Church Service on Sundays which brings you to the world of Ghospel!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inkululeko Freedom Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Inkululeko Freedom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing