We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit a african hospitality”
Review of Ikhaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ikhaya Lodge
Ranked #83 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Laid back. I had a very large and bright room with a view on Table mountain. Central location in a very quiet area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielVeniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

iKhaya Lodge can be found tucked away in Cape Town’s historic Dunkley Square and surrounded by heritage buildings. It is listed as a three star establishment but its owner Ruth Kamau and her friendly staff provided us with five star service. Our delightful if sparsely furnished loft apartment provided pristine white linens on very comfortable beds. The view from our balcony of well known Table Mountain was breathtaking. A simple breakfast buffet was more than adequate and if desired, we had the opportunity to purchase a more robust fare. iKhaya Lodge is within easy walking distance of Cape Town City Centre and conveniently close to the City Sightseeing ‘Hop-on Hop-off’ bus stop. Owner Ruth Kamau proved to be a rich source of local area information and her freely offered knowledge and advice of where to go, what to see and do were most welcomed and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem22Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at IKhaya lodge for 6 days at the end of June while in Cape Town and found it to be friendly, comfortable and good value. Only downsides were that the breakfast is continental only with limited choice, and the restaurant was not open for lunch or dinner while I was there. However there is a new Greek restaurant, Maria's, over the square and the food there was outstanding. I will happily come back both to IKhaya lodge and to Maria's.

Room Tip: Half the rooms overlook Table Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanoiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

It is always lovey to read a review from a guest and thank you for making time and it's great to know you enjoyed our property. The restaurant was going through some changes in the kitchen but we are happy to say that is complete and we are open daily from breakfast to 3pm. As a future note, dinner is available and can be booked through reception. Our continental breakfast includes 3 cereals and yoghurts, two juices, cold meats and cheeses, fruit salad, muffins and preserves, toast and tea or coffee. We would love to have you visit again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed in one of the iKhaya Lodge apartments for 6 nights. The lodge is in a good location, within walking distance to several restaurants including Long Street and the train station. The apartments are roomy with good views of table mountain. We would stay here again. The wifi is not free, but is very inexpensive for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

We enjoy having all our guests but it is a special bonus to have guests stay for long as we get to know you better. Thank you for the lovely remarks and it we are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful location and and property and like the best of things in life, these two are also better shared!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I stayed at iKhaya Lodge during the World Cup to report for a museum about women and public health. The Lodge was clean, incredibly safe, lovely, comfortable, and the staff were exceptionally kind. I travel frequently for work and staying at the Lodge was a truly remarkable time. I will return again next year and many years to come.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
Thank KateStence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I spent four wonderful nights at the Ikhaya Lodge with colleagues earlier this month (Oct 2010) and found it absolutely delightful. If you're looking for a chain type hotel with predictable amenities and such, don't come here -- but if you're looking for a place with both charm and artistic touches, with exceptional African hospitality in a wonderful location, then you've chosen the right place. What I loved was the outdoor courtyard, as well as the view of Table Mountain right from my room -- in addition to the lovely square outside where there were cafes, nearby parks, and also an amazing Wellness clinic one block over where I had one of the best massages I've ever had! I cannot finish this review without mentioning Ruth and Dereck -- both lovely wonderful and warm people who make this place one of my new favorites in a city/town I will come back to again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Superb location, wonderful staff and fantastic views of Table Mountain. easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants and the Gardens. The Hotel was undergoing a minor refit and we understand that they will be opening a new restaurant for lunches and dinner. the value for money in a fairly pricey city is outstanding.
Ruth and all the staff could not have made us feel more welcome. it is like one big family. I highly recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelmontGuestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#81 of 112 in Cape Town Central
366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#65 of 112 in Cape Town Central
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#67 of 112 in Cape Town Central
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikhaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikhaya Lodge

Address: Wandel Street | Dunkley Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £57 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ikhaya Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ikhaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikhaya Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing