We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no substitute for the experience shared!”
Review of Tom's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tom's Guest House
Ranked #19 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This b&b is gorgeous in ever way, decor is very tasteful, breakfast is all you desire, the bedrooms are sufficient, but the overwhelming winning feature is the owners, Gunther and Martin are the stars of the show, they Re the hosts with the most, they know exactly how much looking after you need, and deliver accordingly.

Thank you Gunther and Martin you surpassed yourselves, and your business is so successful because of who you are.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rennie-Brewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

As a frequent business traveller I have been to many a guesthouse and hotel. Not only does Tom's Guesthouse offer a homely environment with its plush surroundings and elegance, it is the people at Tom's that makes it a sheer pleasure to stay at. I find that after a tough day at the office, I go 'home' to friendly and genuine people at Tom's. I have become a regular guest there, stopping in even when i am forced to stay somewhere else (The place is in high demand!). I fear this review may weaken my chances of getting a room there, yet it is truelly worth the time, effort, money and experience. Thank you lovely Guenter:)

Room Tip: Room 5! My fave! Most romantic and secluded:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This bed & breakfast was the first stop on our tour of South Africa's garden route, and it got us off on a great start. Guenter greeted us up at the airport, and our first hour with him set us up for a relaxing two weeks in South Africa as he gave us some travel essentials. Don't roll your eyes at his tirade about traveling light and leaving non-essentials behind - not only did this keep us safe, it also made the vacation more about relaxing and enjoying, and less about looking over our shoulder.

The B&B is well appointed, with excellent rooms, clean showers, modern safes, free wifi, and a very substantial breakfast spread, both continental and cooked. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The pool is nice and cool for the mid-afternoon heat, and larger than it looks.

The best feature was Guenter's advice on what to visit and when, as well as doing the heavy lifting by booking tickets for us online, and printing confirmations for us. He also provided an excellent taxi service at the same bargain rate as the local taxis.

Guenter's thoughts about iPhones at the breakfast table is a little old fashioned, perhaps more telling about his German stubbornness. Whatever. Leave the email and Facebook updates behind - you're on vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvr1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Tom's Guest House is a great value for your money and great service. The room we had had was clean, free wifi, and had a great shower and bathroom. The outside sitting area with views of Table Mountain was nice and spacious. Guenter provided great advise the minute we stepped into the door. He made reservations online for Table Mountain, Robbin Island, and the tour bus. He was always looking out for us and give us some great insights about where to eat in Cape Town. I would recommend this to anyone who is planning a trip to Cape Town and can not wait to return to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanson1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We chose Tom's on the back of the location and the reviews on Trip Advisor and were so glad we did. One of the best and friendliest places we stayed in South Africa.

The room we stayed in was out the back, off the garden so we felt like we had plenty of our own space. Our room had a massive bed, bathroom with a stunning shower and a dressing area which was nice as it didn't get cluttered with lots of our stuff.

Sometimes in guest houses, the communal areas are minimal but at Toms they were really spacious and very homely (although quite a posh home!). You felt like you were staying in someone's home and they were very welcoming. Breakfasts were huge and tasty - lots of places inside and out to eat. It wasn't great weather when we were there and so the log fire was on a couple of days which made the rooms cosy and nice to come back to. But when it was warm and sunny, the outside areas were lovely and cool with views of Table Mountain (or in our case views of the clouds around Table Mountain...).

The location was perfect as well - walkable into town and to a lot of the museums etc, and close to the bus both for the Myciti bus and the opentop sight seeing bus (well worth it if you don't have your own transport - Cape Town has possibiy the worst public transport system I've experienced in a major city!). It was only a short taxi ride away from Kloof, Kloof Nek and Long Street for eating out in the evenings.

But the best thing about this guesthouse were the owners and staff. Everyone was really friendly and relaxed. From the minute Gunther picked us up at the airport he was friendly and full of information and tips. To put it in context, we are usually really independant travellers and adopt a DIY approach, so us following advice from guesthouse owners is not really the norm. But it was always done in such a friendly, helpful and non intimidating way it really worked. They booked things like Robben Island and Table Mountain for us online so that we didn't have to queue and it saved us money. And yes, well we could have done it ourselves (and normally we would) but they were so helpful and nice about it it made us feel like we were properly on holiday rather than travelling.

They recommended us places to go to eat and booked ahead for us, giving us vouchers so that we got money off some of our meals. And the places they recommended us were great! When they booked us taxis, it was often Gunther who drove us to the restaurant because he was going anyway, or because the taxi was late or was going to take too long. I agree with what others have put - this is better than you would expect in a 5* hotel! One night we ended up going to the same place as them, so they took us there and dropped us back afterwards. by the time we left we felt like we were leaving new friends behind.

Toms is a lot better and more upmarket than the photos and the website might have you think - definitely worth every penny we spent and more! The mix of people staying there was great too - from young to older, and lots of different nationalities. Lots of the reviews here are in German and the owners are German but speak lots of other languages fluently including English. I would recommend this place to friends, to other travellers, to backpackers or to my parents or anyone who asked me for a recommendation in Cape Town.

We look forward to staying there again next time we're in Cape Town - but this time we'll hope for better weather and for a view of Table Mountain from the pool (and we'll definitely go back to Ricks)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a real gem and we really lucked out to stay here because originally we wanted to stay in a B&B down the road (Cactusberry). Cactusberry emailed me, saying they have no availability but they would recommend Tom's Guest House.

This place is absolutely brilliant. Beautiful lounge, clean rooms, comfortable and amazing breakfast. Honesty bar is brilliant and really good value - especially when compared to drink prices in Dubai where we live!

The staff here really make you feel welcome, especially Guenter who came to pick us up from the airport and made some brilliant recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. Guenter even drove us to the winelands and took us to a vineyard on the way! You wouldn't even get this service at a 5* star hotel!

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone visiting to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascara46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Really nice place, and with the advantage of being central (15-20 minute walk to Green Market Square). But the most striking thing for me about Tom's is the wonderful service provided, by particularly Guenter, who speaks fluent English. Guenter always made sure that you knew how to get to wherever you wanted to get, would give you down-to-earth advice on everything from parking to where to have dinner (including booking it) - it made a major difference to my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
281 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
303 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Guest House

Address: 44 Breda Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tom's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tom's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tom's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing