We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Hyde hotel for 8 nights and would highly recommend it. We wanted a bit more space than the average hotel room because we were there for a length of time and this was ideal for our needs. Its set just off the seafront in Sea Point, 2 minutes walk to the HOHO bus stop and the main street with convenience stores, ATM & restaurants. Other reviewers mention the bedrooms are small but really this didn't bother us, as you are only sleeping there because the lounge & kitchen area is comfortable and spacious. Whole suite was clean and comfortable and also felt very secure (we are 2 female travellers). Breakfast was simple but pleasant & though we never used the kitchen for cooking, it was great to have the fridge & other amenities for having snacks or wine in the evening. We spent a lot of time at the V & A Waterfront which was a short taxi ride away (about R50) & the hotel was always happy to help out with any queries or calling taxis etc. Special mention to Mohi (concierge) who went out his way to help us get Currie Cup Rugby tickets and arranged transfers for us at short notice. All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, no complaints at all.
This isn't the cheapest hotel option in the area but if you want a bit more space and a place that feels safe, with room to relax, we would definitely recommend it. If I return to Cape town I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotlandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor. Im so pleased you enjoyed our Spacious rooms and service. It was a pleasure to assist you and so happy you enjoyed the Rugby. Its wonderful to find such passionate fans of the game. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    152
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
92
172
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Hyde is really well trained and friendly, but the property suffers from comparison relative to other locations we stayed at along the Garden Route and in Cape Town. The furnishings are nice and they have done a nice job sprucing up an old property, but for a family of four, the rooms are incredibly cramped. A couple in the same room would likely be OK. If you've got a family, looking for a place with a bit more space might be better.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Good Day and thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
Unfortunately our Deluxe rooms at 57 Square Metres are the biggest rooms we have and a family of four is our capacity. I think you will be happy to know we have plans in the pipeling to offer specific family rooms next year with the conversion of some of our deuxe suite to Executive Suites.
These promise to offer even more space and will be great for families.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel was in a quiet by lane and the suites were superb. Very well furnished with microwave, fridge, requisite utensils the pantry area was good, thought we didn't use any of it, bedroom is tiny but comfortable. The breakfast spread was adequate and the staff very warm, welcoming and accommodative regarding any special request. Loved the cuddly blankets kept in the dining area to ward off sudden chilly winds

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varsha_Manohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Good Day and Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Hyde. We were considering removing the blankets at one stage, Im glad you enjoyed them so much. You have made up our minds to keep them there as a perminent feature in the hotel restaurant for the guest enjoyment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Many Thanks and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were in The Hyde for 7 nights in total at the begin and the end of our tour through the Western Cape. A very nice hotel with all comfort in a very good location. The rooms are very nice, however the bedroom is rather small, but the living space and kitchen are great.

The staff is professional and very helpfull and friendly. We enjoyed our stay. We will be back whenever we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you Jan for your comments. Our staff will be so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town and The Hyde in the near future. We misss you already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The suite concept is comfortable and the decor is attractive. The breakfast buffet was good. Staff was helpful and pleasant. And the price for the room was very good. I would give this place a fourth star if not for a few issues. To begin with the bedroom is almost claustrophobic in size and while you do have a living area, it is actually tricky to walk around the bed to the bathroom. As well, the bathroom lacks decent ventilation, and ours had definite signs of mould in the shower, unfortunate for a fairly new hotel. I would stay here again in spite of these issues.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet location and were on the 6th floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Good Day and Thank you for your comments on your stay at The Hyde. Im so pleased you enjoyed the comfort, food and service of the Hotel. I think you will be happy to know that we are already half way through the winter renovations of our bathrooms. All the showers have been re-done and the walls and roofs are also getting re-painted. I look forward to welcoming you back to see the improvements. I wish you the very safest travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Thinking back on my short stay at the Hyde, two words come to mind. Convenience and Luxury. Convenience because the hotel is just a few steps away from the V&A Waterfront and Open Top Bus Stop. Also close by are many shops / restaurants and the Sea Point Ocean-front promenade. The area is quiet and I awoke to the sounds of the ocean and seagulls.

The word luxury comes to mind when I recall our lovely suite with an ultra modern kitchen / lounge area and comfortable separate bedroom. Every convenience is modern and classy. A review would not be complete without mentioning the friendly staff and the excellent breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel for both business and tourist travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you Paul for your kind words. I hope we get to welcome you back to the Hyde in the Near future. All the best for your travels ahead. Best Regards, The Hyde Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our African vacation and I rushed to write my first review ever, because this was such a great experience! From the moment that we arrived and were greeted by Jason, we felt taken care of... After our tour did not show up on our first day, Leon called the tour company and found out that our trip had never been booked. He swung into action and booked us another tour with Moji, an tour operator who also works as a concierge at the hotel. We had an amazing day and it was a fraction of the price of our original group tour. Later in the week, we were scammed at an ATM. Again, the staff helped us tremendously and made every effort to help us feel comfortable again. Did I forget to mention how nice the rooms were and the daily breakfast?! If I return to Cape Town, there is no question where I will stay. I know that I'm not alone as many of their guests are return guests.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jcharnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Im so pleased you had a fantastic time in Cape Town and at The Hyde Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon. All the best with your travel ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde All-Suite Hotel

Property: The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
Address: 13 London Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hyde All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Situated in the cosmopolitan area of Sea Point, The Hyde Luxury All Suite Hotel comprises of 36 swanky Luxury Suites and is Cape Town’s new hot spot for production crews, conferencing clients, and business or leisure travelers. Catering specifically to these discerning markets, the Hyde delivers the small things that make the big differences – with a style all of its own. The Hyde is an independently owned and operated boutique hotel of the highest standard with a commitment to excellent service and sophisticated comfort being the pledge of its dedicated, passionate owners and management team, ably assisted by their handpicked support staff. This philosophy of accessibility, extra care and attention to detail converts our guests into friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hyde All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hyde All Hotel Sea Point
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing