We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Positives- good location,quiet and reasonably priced.
Negatives -arrived on a weekend and there was skeleton staff, we were not even escorted to our rooms,on our 5 night stay not once did any housekeeping check on us if we needed any thing, spent 3 nights with stained bed sheets,the bedrooms(to echo one of the prev reviewers) are almost claustrophobic!The overall experience fell far short of 4 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Good Day Reggie

Im sorry you did not experience the excellent service we renowned for. Im sure you will be pleased to know as from January this year we did employ two more staff members to assist with check in so this does not happen again. I hope you will return to visit us again to see the improvements.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    152
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
92
172
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here towards the end of December 2013 and our conclusion is that it is an OK hotel to act as a base for exploring Sea Point and the rest of Cape Town.

Our highlights were the location which is right next to the Sea Point Promenade and also near various good restaurants along Beach Road.

However, some lowlights included the poor communication regarding the additional charges that you encounter while checking in which are not communicated earlier such as the 1% levy and the 200 Rand per day deposit which has to be retained for the duration of your stay for items you might use in the room (this was not communicated to us and was quite suprising to be slapped with all these news at check-in).

The bedroom is also very crammed yet the lounge is very huge so as mentioned by other reviewers, the bedroom carpet was damp throughout our stay and the bed is right next to a window hence affecting sleep quality with people passing outside. The breakfast is also quite basic with not a wide variety.

However, for the location, we would not mind visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Get higher rooms to minimise noise from downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Good Day and Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. Im so please you would return to us and perhaps taking advantage of our studios or Suite which dont have the window in the passage way on your return visit. As said in previous reviews we will be doing renovations this year so there will be an exciting new room available this time next year with all of the benefits of current rooms and eliminating any areas of small rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Hyde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The Hyde was recommended by friends who had stayed there 3 times previously (they were also disappointed this time round). Although the bedroom was really small the large lounge kitchen would have compensated had there been cupboard space. 1 small cupboard was provided and when I asked for additional hangers I was told they had none. The hotel was full but only 5 pool chairs and 3 umbrellas were available. (1 of which was broken ). No pool towels were available at the pool unless requested and pool service was sadly lacking. In addition we returned to our room on 2 occasions at 4 pm to find our room had not been cleaned. (Definitely not the 2x daily service promised). Sadly not worth 4 stars and with such an abundance of accommodation in Cape Town we will not be returning

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Errol Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Good Day Errol
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I'm sure you will be pleased to know that we will be upgrading our Deluxe Suite this year, making the bedroom bigger and doubling the cupboard space as well. We do also have two other room categories with much more cupboard space already available at The Hyde. Sadly our laundry provider did let us down this season causing large delays in getting our pool and room towels back to us and then having a knock on affect to the pool deck and room service for this I apologize. We have since change laundry suppliers and have already found systems back to normal. I do hope you will return to see the improvements. I wish you the very best for the year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

If you like spacious rooms, nice interior, very friendly staff in a good neighborhood than this is the right place for you.
The apartments are well spacious and very well equipped. (Kitchen, fridge, microwave, TV set, wifi etc)
Abigail,working at the front desk and Octavia, waitress for the breakfast service are really nice and are doing great support to make your stay very comfortable and feel at home
In the close neighborhood there are plenty of good restaurants, laundry shops or supermarkets.
The ocean is just a minute away. Excellent choice !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you Mike for your comments on trip adviser. Abigail and Octavia will be delighted that you were so pleased with their service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyde again in the near future. We wish you all the best for this new year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Me, my better half, son and grand daughter stayed with the Hyde for 10 nights, It was a wonderful stay, Spacious Suites,. Excellent room service, sumptuous breakfast. Since only 36 suites, all most every body knew the others. Used to chat at breakfast. Exchanged courtesies in elevators, lunge at the reception. The House keeping was good, twice a day. Personal attention courteous staff. Tour and sight seeing guidance from in house Green Apple Tours was a blessing. Location at Sea Point and proximity to Sea Front, where Water Sports, Ferry rides, large number of restaurants from all over the world and wide ranging options for shopping, were all very good. The Hyde proved to be a wholesome experience. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words you will be sorely missed till your return home. I wish you all the best on your future travels and we all at The Hyde family look forward to welcoming you back home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Overall good experience except some toiletries like shampoos and shower gels were not provided. Was not much happy with bathroom amenities at all. Rooms quite nice and clean. Beds were good. Location is good to. But prefer waterfront location as this place is quite far from waterfront area.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice but was not very happy with routine toiletries in the bathroom we stayed for three n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truptikhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Im sorry we were not closer to the Waterfront for you. At 3km away most of our guests enjoy our location because we close enough to the Waterfront without being stuck in the middle of the area that is usually gridlocked in Season. Also our location offers better routes and convenience to the other tourism hot spots in Cape Town and of course the Beautiful Sea Point promenade for those sunset walks. Thank you for your comments on the ammenities in the rooms. We have added a few more items to the rooms, I hope you will be able to join us again to see all the improvements. All the best with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for an extra three nights after our tour party left and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The hotel is clean, comfortable and benefits from having professional, well trained and thoughtful staff. We were in Room 301 with a beautiful view of Lion's Head. Thank you to the member of staff who drove us to pick the hire car up in Cape Town and guided us back to the hotel to collect our luggage, don't think we would have managed without his help. A fantastic stay in a great hotel, thank you all.

Room Tip: We moved from 302 as bedroom quite small room 301 had great view and was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor. Im so please you enjoyed your stay and your room. I trust the rest of your travels will be safe and hassel free. I hope we get to welcome you back to Cape Town and The Hyde in the near future. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde All-Suite Hotel

Property: The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
Address: 13 London Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hyde All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Situated in the cosmopolitan area of Sea Point, The Hyde Luxury All Suite Hotel comprises of 36 swanky Luxury Suites and is Cape Town’s new hot spot for production crews, conferencing clients, and business or leisure travelers. Catering specifically to these discerning markets, the Hyde delivers the small things that make the big differences – with a style all of its own. The Hyde is an independently owned and operated boutique hotel of the highest standard with a commitment to excellent service and sophisticated comfort being the pledge of its dedicated, passionate owners and management team, ably assisted by their handpicked support staff. This philosophy of accessibility, extra care and attention to detail converts our guests into friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hyde All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hyde All Hotel Sea Point
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing