We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for self-catering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This all-suite hotel resides in the Seapoint neighbourhood, just a few blocks from the beach. Each suite consists of a bedroom with adjacent bathroom, and a living room with kitchenette. Modern and stylish furniture, and plenty of closet space. Great for those who wish to self-cater, but if you rather use restaurants, the available space may have better been put to use for more room in the living room. Not well suited for business travellers as there is no desk space.
The roof-top is for common-use and includes a small, solar-heated pool.
The in-house kitchen provides a limit selection of dishes for lunch and dinner, nothing spectacular but those we sampled were clearly prepared with love.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Shuttle service to the waterfront area is available, and the driver will also bring you to other places based on specific arrangements (charged).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear tmk010

Thank you for the feedback given for The Hyde.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and experienced the high standards we strive to maintain at all times.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Hyde Family upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Yours in Hospitality,

Leon Knoetze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent apartment, fully equipped with all amenities. Perfect location. Amazing staff! The beach is a short walk away. The breakfast service is small but adequate, with all that one can need. The rooms are serviced daily and are exceptionally clean. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Anesh M

Thank you for the kind words given.

I am sure all staff would be happy to know that their hard work and great service does not go unnoticed. Carol our Housekeeping manager works very hard to train and keep all housekeeping staff motivated and to understand the quality of cleaning rooms.

We pride ourselves in our service and high quality of cleanliness and we are very happy that you experienced our Culture.

Look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Leon Knoetze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When planning a trip (especially the hotel), I like to read reviews from real people - I noticed that The Hyde had a lot of positive feedback so I decided this would be the hotel I would stay at during my trip to Cape Town.

The Hyde is an all-suite hotel. A suite means you get a kitchen with a fridge, stove, microwave, etc.. This can be nice in case you end up bringing left-overs back to your room or want to chill some bottles of water/juice/pop/ etc.. For those more concerned about what the actual rooms are like – as of this posting, the hotel has 6 studio suites (which means the bedroom isn’t in a separate area), 6 regular suites and 24 deluxe suites (which have a separate bedrooms). Since I was traveling with a friend I wanted to make sure we had a suite with a separate bedroom (there’s a pull out couch in the living room which was comfy). However, it should be noted that the bathrooms are located inside the bedroom (in the regular suite/deluxe suites). So if you are traveling with someone that is a light sleeper, just be mindful if you have to take a potty break in the middle of the night.

When it comes to distance to all the fun stuff there is to do in Cape Town: The hotel isn’t located a few blocks of the V&A Waterfront, but it is within walking distance. I would say it’s about a 30-ish minute walk, maybe 20 if you’re a fast walker and don’t stop along the way to take pictures (it is a nice scenic walk). For those that don’t want to walk to the V&A (or anywhere….) – The Hyde has some AWESOME drivers who can drive you to the V&A, they can take you to a Safari or even drive you around on your own private tour. The prices are also very reasonable. The hotel even offers airport pickup – but I should note: If you schedule a driver pickup from the airport, don’t base your pickup time on when your airplane lands. If your flight lands at 11:30 pm, tell the hotel the driver should be there around 12:30 am. I felt bad that the driver had to wait for almost 40 minutes while I had to go through customs/get luggage/exchange money/etc.. plus it didn’t help that the plane was late arriving to Cape Town.

Overall I had an excellent time while staying at The Hyde – the staff was friendly and they really made me feel like a family member instead of a room number. If I ever return to Cape Town, I would book this place again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good Day Christina0875

We would like to thank you for the kind feedback given.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and experienced our "Home away from Home" service from our amazing team.

All the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Leon Knoetze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely friendly hotel with amazing staff!!! Great breakfast and a fabulous situation. Heated blankets, very clean and very good value!! Nice gym and close to the waterfront at seapoint for a morning jog. Also most importantly, we felt very safe.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bellamanchester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Bellamanchester1

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hyde.
We appreciate your kind feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the true art of hospitality upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,

Leon Knoetze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This establishment is great for a couple of days stay, the staff are courteous, friendly and helpful.

The suite on the 5th floor was great, well laid out and clean.

We enjoyed our stay, the breakfasts and facilities are of good quality. The position of this hotel within Sea Point is great as this facilitates access to both the centre of city and the V&A waterfront.

Even though this is a small hotel we highly recommend this establishment.

Our thanks to all the staff and especially Melindie for the exceptional service.

Room Tip: Request a suite on the top floors as these have views of the ocean and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Rui F

We at The Hyde are very glad you enjoyed your stay and really do hope you will come visit us again in the near future.

Thank you for mentioning the staff who made your stay more pleasant. We will acknowledge them for the outstanding service.

Yours in Hospitality,

Leon Knoetze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at the Hyde in early June 2014 this was a family trip too. From the food ( breakfast , room dining) to the concierge services, to the friendliness of the entire staff, to the responsiveness of staff definitely Top notch! The staff specially Mohammed, Mohi, Melanie Octavia and the front office guys are great!! Thank you guys for making this trip memorable. This hotel is definitely one worth staying in.

Pirwani.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank MeemAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MeemAries

Thank you for taking you time to comment on TripAdvisor.

We value your feedback and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
I am sure the staff will be delighted that you mentioned them on TripAdvisor for the great service they offered you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Leon Knoetze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

What an awesome little gem in Sea Point! Way above all expectations! Wanted a small weekend break away in town and instead got an awesome experience which was way more than what we had anticipated. A definate must whether for weekend break away or prolonged stay. Very well suited accomodation.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Charl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHyde777, General Manager at The Hyde All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Char L

Thank you for the kind words and feedback.

We are glad you could join us and hope that you would return to The Hyde for a longer more relaxing stay, perhaps in summer, to enjoy the beautiful views from our rooftop pool deck.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,035 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winchester Mansions
#22 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,114 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde All-Suite Hotel

Address: 13 London Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £104 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hyde All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Situated in the cosmopolitan area of Sea Point, The Hyde Luxury All Suite Hotel comprises of 36 swanky Luxury Suites and is Cape Town’s new hot spot for production crews, conferencing clients, and business or leisure travelers. Catering specifically to these discerning markets, the Hyde delivers the small things that make the big differences – with a style all of its own. The Hyde is an independently owned and operated boutique hotel of the highest standard with a commitment to excellent service and sophisticated comfort being the pledge of its dedicated, passionate owners and management team, ably assisted by their handpicked support staff. This philosophy of accessibility, extra care and attention to detail converts our guests into friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hyde All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hyde All Hotel Sea Point
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing