We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little guest house in Cape Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This charming small all-suite hotel consists of delightfully modern units set in renovated old homes that take up a small, quiet street in the Gardens district of CT, just up the street from the landmark Mount Nelson Hotel. The view from our one-bedroom apartment was of Table Mountain, so we could check to see if conditions allowed for good viewing before attempting the trip up. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely hostess who gave us a brief orientation before leading us up to our private entrance. The reception area and breakfast room speak of the understated elegance of the buildings former history. All is very modern with elegant antique touches. Breakfasts were enormous! The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance to the Company's Gardens and the Jewish Museum. The Red Bus - a hop-on-hop-off tour line ($15/day pass) is just down the street, and will take you pretty much anywhere you want to go in the main area of Cape Town from the V &A Waterfront to District Six to Table Mountain with convenient stops all along the way. We highly recommend this unique hotel. A definite must for those who want to experience the authentic flavor of CT in preference to the sterile environment of the big chains..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank frankandellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Wow! What fabulous review - thank you so much for the detailed description of your stay. We are in such a fabulous area and our team tries to make each stay as personal and unique as possible.

We aim to give our guests an authentic Cape Town experience that travellers often miss out on by staying in more commercial areas.

Thank you for visiting and I hope to host you again soon!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a fantastic 4 days. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment was fantastic. It is well situated and close to excellent restaurants. Highly recommend Aubergine restaurant it had superb food and wine-the service was great and not at all pretentious. THe breakfast at More quarters was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was an apartment. It was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy that you enjoyed your four days with us and that you found Aubergine so fantastic - we love recommending Aubergine to our guests and it is one of the many fabulous restaurants in the area.

I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future since it was such a pleasure having you at More Quarters.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Fabulous place to stay. Quiet environment. Room was spacious and very welcoming. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was scrumptious and the easy walking distance to restaurants for dinner was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for the review! Our location is fantastic and I am happy to hear that you experienced it as such.

I hope that you will visit us gain soon - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just a great spot to stay in Cape Town! We had a 2 room unit with a well apportioned kitchen/living area separate from the bedroom. Excellent quality throughout our unit and the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts they provided and the friendly and accommodating staff were a delight. We loved the dinner dinning within walking distance when we didn't feel like making anything (and why would we in CapeTown!) and the ease to get to the harbour area. A wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49dss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing us! Our location is perfect and it gives our guests a unique and authentic Cape Town experience. I am glad that we made your stay enjoyable at More Quarters!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our trip was split in two and so we stayed in two different rooms, both two bed luxury apartments (9 on the ground floor and our favourite - had a bath and a bit more space - and 11 on the first floor).

The staff were amazing, so welcoming and friendly.

The location was great too, just a short cheap taxi ride from the waterfront and really close to the foot of the mountain.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank lucilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for the great review! I am so happy that the staff took good care of you and your family. We are indeed located in a fabulous part of the city with all the best restaurants and experiences close by. It was lovely having you stay with us - please visit us again soon! Our home is your home.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The More Quarters is nice hotel in good part of town. Each guest quarter, is a two room suite with a kitchenette area. There is an excellent breakfast with a table of fruit, cereal juice, and pastry, as well as a breakfast menu for eggs and hot food. The staff is helpful and courteous and greets you with cold lemonade when you check in. I would like to give a shoutout to Grant who helped us at every turn, and Brucely who attended us at breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bschoenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for the review! I will make sure that the comments are passed onto Grant and Bruce - our team tires to make each stay as comfortable as possible and I am glad to hear that you experienced it as such. I hope to host you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After spending 12 days on safari, we arrived in Cape Town and the More Quarters. It was such a wonderful and welcoming introduction to Cape Town. All of the staff were as helpful as they could be. The room was excellent, the breakfasts great and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review! It was lovely having you stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and that our staff members were accommodating. We pride ourselves in providing an authentic 'Cape Town' experience to our guests - you won’t find this anywhere else. I hope to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,621 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £226 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing