We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest house in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful guest house in a great location!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We spent 3 days at More Quarters recently and found it a perfect spot from which to explore Cape Town and the entire area. The little apartment with its private patio (perfect for my companion's relaxing smoke) and central location near non-touristy restaurants was much appreciated. The staff helped us find good, reasonably priced restaurants which were all far better than those on the V&A Waterfront. The airy breakfast room and delicious breakfasts were a highlight and the best of any that we had in our two weeks in Africa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and compliments! We try and make each stay as comfortable as possible and it was a pleasure having you at More Quarters. We are indeed located in the best part of the city and we provide an authentic Cape Town experience.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    89
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
144
264
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaufman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Another couple, my husband and I spent a few days at the More Quarters in Cape Town as we began a South African vacation. We chose Cape Town because we were going to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary while in the country. We could not have asked for a more welcoming, warm and comfortable place! The staff was extremely helpful and the breakfasts were great. On the night of our anniversary, we returned to our room to find a tray, covered in red rose petals, with a bottle of champagne and two glasses! Can't say enough about More Quarters!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic review! It was lovely having stay with us and I hope that you will visits us again soon - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This charming small all-suite hotel consists of delightfully modern units set in renovated old homes that take up a small, quiet street in the Gardens district of CT, just up the street from the landmark Mount Nelson Hotel. The view from our one-bedroom apartment was of Table Mountain, so we could check to see if conditions allowed for good viewing before attempting the trip up. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely hostess who gave us a brief orientation before leading us up to our private entrance. The reception area and breakfast room speak of the understated elegance of the buildings former history. All is very modern with elegant antique touches. Breakfasts were enormous! The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance to the Company's Gardens and the Jewish Museum. The Red Bus - a hop-on-hop-off tour line ($15/day pass) is just down the street, and will take you pretty much anywhere you want to go in the main area of Cape Town from the V &A Waterfront to District Six to Table Mountain with convenient stops all along the way. We highly recommend this unique hotel. A definite must for those who want to experience the authentic flavor of CT in preference to the sterile environment of the big chains..

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frankandellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Wow! What fabulous review - thank you so much for the detailed description of your stay. We are in such a fabulous area and our team tries to make each stay as personal and unique as possible.

We aim to give our guests an authentic Cape Town experience that travellers often miss out on by staying in more commercial areas.

Thank you for visiting and I hope to host you again soon!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurstonland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a fantastic 4 days. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment was fantastic. It is well situated and close to excellent restaurants. Highly recommend Aubergine restaurant it had superb food and wine-the service was great and not at all pretentious. THe breakfast at More quarters was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was an apartment. It was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy that you enjoyed your four days with us and that you found Aubergine so fantastic - we love recommending Aubergine to our guests and it is one of the many fabulous restaurants in the area.

I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future since it was such a pleasure having you at More Quarters.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Fabulous place to stay. Quiet environment. Room was spacious and very welcoming. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was scrumptious and the easy walking distance to restaurants for dinner was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the review! Our location is fantastic and I am happy to hear that you experienced it as such.

I hope that you will visit us gain soon - our home is your home.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just a great spot to stay in Cape Town! We had a 2 room unit with a well apportioned kitchen/living area separate from the bedroom. Excellent quality throughout our unit and the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts they provided and the friendly and accommodating staff were a delight. We loved the dinner dinning within walking distance when we didn't feel like making anything (and why would we in CapeTown!) and the ease to get to the harbour area. A wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49dss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! Our location is perfect and it gives our guests a unique and authentic Cape Town experience. I am glad that we made your stay enjoyable at More Quarters!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Our trip was split in two and so we stayed in two different rooms, both two bed luxury apartments (9 on the ground floor and our favourite - had a bath and a bit more space - and 11 on the first floor).

The staff were amazing, so welcoming and friendly.

The location was great too, just a short cheap taxi ride from the waterfront and really close to the foot of the mountain.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lucilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am so happy that the staff took good care of you and your family. We are indeed located in a fabulous part of the city with all the best restaurants and experiences close by. It was lovely having you stay with us - please visit us again soon! Our home is your home.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Property: More Quarters Hotel
Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing