We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, location & Views of Table Mountain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location & Views of Table Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights, comfy bed and nice spacious room.

Good points - executive lounge where you can enjoy drinks, snacks in a quiet lounge area, room, pianist during breakfast & staff.
Bad points - breakfast variety after 9.30am is limited, some of the metal spoons are extremely hot and I almost burnt myself on one.

Overall great stay, I would recommend having breakfast early!

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms so you can enjoy the exclusive lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "zoeoey"

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience at our hotel, following your recent stay with us.

Your recommendations and positive feedback regarding your stay are truly taken to heart.

I am pleased that you found the views of the room to you liking. The view of Table Mountain is truly a pleasure to wake up in the mornings.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon


Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    273
    105
    30
    20
See reviews for
89
228
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and found it to be excellent. Staff were faultless. Facilities were superb. Breakfast was great. Location was good - a short taxi ride from the Waterfront where the main attractions are, particularly in the evening, however the value this hotel offers over the hotels on the waterfront is worth it. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drhares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "Drhares"


Thank you for you positive feedback regarding your stay with the Strand Tower Hotel.

May i say congratulations to the newlywed couple!! I am pleased that you decided to spend this special time at the Strand Tower Hotel and that you found our services to your satisfaction - especially the staff and the breakfast.

All of your feedback will be shared with our team members for their information and motivation


We most definitely look forward in welcoming you back with any future visits to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
210 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stumbled upon Strand Tower Hotel quite by accident while trying to stay at other Cape Town Hotels. It turned out to be the best decision I made. Staff was quick, efficient, pleasant. We had a bit of a technical flight problem due to which we arrived a day & half late at the hotel & since we pre-paid our stay, we requested if the night we missed could be replaced with an extra night at the hotel or be refunded- This could most rightly not be done - but they handled our request so well & were not dismissal of us.
Yes the rooms are a bit small but very functional. Very Comfortable King size bed, Tea/ Coffee Facilities, Has a Bath tub! Not to forget 100MB free Wifi!
We had access to the Executive lounge - which had a mini Business Centre with computer & Printer set up, a lovely Library and the best Part - Freshly made Snacks & Alcoholic Drinks from 5-6pm for free. Tea/ Coffee was avl. all day & night.
Breakfast - lots of room, very fresh breakfast, loved the piano being played.
1 recommendation - Could improve on the coffee in the Bkfst area - was very light & had only one type of coffee being dispensed.
Location - Super Excellent - On Strand street from where U can connect to the N2 that takes you to the Garden Route, Simon's town, Cape of Good Hope & every other place you want to see. Cab from Hotel costs 60-80 ZAR to Table Mountain & 50 ZAR to V&A.
Car rental companies, restaurants, Long Street, Bo Kaap are all 2 mins walk away.
They have a tour assistance desk right next to the reception - which can make bookings for wine tours, shark dives, Table mountain, Robben island!
Even though this hotel caters to tour groups - the staff manages this part very well. As its a big hotel - there's plenty of room & it did not get in the way of anything.
I simply loved this hotel & will def. be back & 100% recommended to all types of travelers.

Room Tip: The higher Facing rooms are good.... give a great Bird's eye view of Cape town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "Monalisa777"

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It gives the Strand Tower Hotel great pride when we receive such a great review from such a well versed traveler.

I am pleased to read that you found the Strand Tower Hotel 100% to you liking. We always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

As you mentioned, our location is ideal for exploring Cape Town. Everything is so accessible from right outside the front door. I am pleased that you made use of the 100 MB of complimentary internet that we offer each room each day.


Please be assured that I have passed on all your praises to the staff.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The organisation I work for recently hosted a two-day meeting at The Strand Towers. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate our (many) last minute requests, and provided an absolutely impeccable standard of care and service to us and our delegates. Our every request was met with a smile and an immediate jump to action, no matter how out of the blue, or unplanned.
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Strand Towers for conferences and business meetings in Cape Town. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive; the location is central, convenient and easy to find; and the general standard of care provided to guests and delegates was truly impressive. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilianm2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear "Lilianm2m"

Thank you for your review of the Strand Tower Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Strand Tower Hotel so much. It is always great to hear about how guests and conference delegates enjoyed their stay.

As we strive to constantly improve the level of service we deliver, it is always nice to know that we are moving in the right direction.

Our conference rooms are well equipped with data projectors, PA systems and wireless internet. Accompanying our facilities, is our wide variety of lunch buffet menu's and conferencing morning and afternoon snacks.

Please be assured that i has sent your praises to all management and staff and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A great welcome when we arrived, car unloaded and parked for us. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast accompanied by the delightful music from the resident pianist.
All the staff very helpful and always greeted us with a smile.
Good location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevorthedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear "Trevorthedriver"

Thank you for your kind words in your review. I am pleased that you found the welcome you received when arriving at the Strand Tower Hotel so good. Coming from a well experienced traveller such as yourself, it really means allot.

I have relayed your praises to all the staff in the hotel. As you mentioned, our buffet does serve a large variety of dishes during all services. It is a true way of experiencing Cape Town's cuisine.

I am sure you furthermore enjoyed the complimentary 100MB of complimentary internet that we provide each room on a daily basis. it makes staying in touch with the family back home so easy.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Strand Tower recently and although we arrived early in the morning, the pleasant young Helen at reception found us an available room immediately so that we could rest after our long journey. The doormen were exceptionally happy and helpful. Breakfast very ample and delicious. Our room overlooking Table Mountain was nicely furnished and very clean. Time and weather did not allow us to take advantage of the invitation to the Executive Club or to use the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HadjFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear "HadjFam"

I am pleased to read about your pleasant stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to provide us with valuable feedback of your visit.

We understand that traveling to South Africa is a long journey and i am pleased that Helen could assist you with a room when you arrived at the hotel. I have conveyed all your praises to all the employees.

I trust you enjoyed the 100Mb of complimentary internet that we provide all our guests on a daily basis .

Please inform us with you next visit to Cape Town in order for use to extend access to the executive lounge again. It is truly a experience to be had. There is a 24 hour butler service with something nice to nibble on throughout the day.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Really enjoyed our two week stay in the strand tower. This is the first time in Cape Town and we were greeted by friendly doormen who were quick to help with our luggage and who subsequently put a smile on our faces each time we entered and left the hotel.
The location is perfect as it is close to the site seeing tours as well as a short walk from V&A waterfront and long street and a short taxi to table mountain and the lions head.
The rooms are clean with all amenities you would expect from a good hotel (tea and coffee, mini bar and a safe). The beds are wide and comfortable.
The staff are friendly and helpful which made dining in the hotel a pleasure. And problems are quickly dealt with such as when we accidentally blew the power in our room (oops). There was a nice selection at breakfast and we also tried the buffet lunch and dinner which were equally high quality. The pianist at breakfast was just a pleasant bonus. The 100MG of free wifi each day was great and helped up with planning the numerous trips and tours there are in Cape Town.
The spa has high quality treatments. The massages were among the best I have had an the price was very reasonable.
Overall we could not have asked for more and the hotel and the staff made our experience of Cape Town all the better.
Note it is a little noisy at times but it is in the centre of the CBD so this is to be expected.

Room Tip: Higher floors give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemzy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear "Gemzy86"

Thank you for your great review of the Strand Tower Hotel. I am pleased to read about the fantastic stay with us and the fact that we could make your first visit to Cape Town such a memorable one.

We do pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the fact that we are always willing to go the extra mile for our guests. As mentioned, the Strand Tower Hotel is the ideal Hotel to make use of when visiting Cape Town. Our location is ideal, be it for shopping in town, or enjoying all the truly authentic cuisine that we have to offer.

I have relayed all your praises to all the Head of Departments. I am pleased that you found the 100Mb of daily complimentary internet of such a great use.

We are excited to welcome you back to the Strand Tower Hotel upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing