We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near centrum”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel near centrum”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile



We stayed in the Strand Tower Hotel for 4 days in our Christmas Holliday. After our arrival there was someone to pick us op and bring us to the hotel, in comparative with the taxi or bus is it a bit expensive.

They gave us a room located near the elevators, which produces a lot of noise and was even louder than the air conditioning.
The breakfast was good, enough diversity en the quality was good. Sadly there was only jus d orange and not fresh but from a bottle.

After talking to someone of the front desk we where able to move to a new and quietly room, which was way better than the old one.

Most of the employees are very friendly and working hard to make it the best time in South Africa, especially the concierge and the bell boy.

There is a stop where you also can buy tickets for the Hop on Hop off bus near the hotel, for us this was a great way to explore the city. Many languages available.

Wifi is limited to 100mb, but we are only able to make a short call via wifi before getting the message that we have used the 100mb for that day.

+:
Good location, friendly employees and good breakfast.
-:
Minibar is empty and need to be order before use, wifi is limited, only few sun beds, missing water-bottles in the room and no flip flops and bathrobe.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear "Eke S"

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that we could accommodate you with a room that suited your needs more comfortably.

it gives me great satisfaction to hear that you found the level of service you received during your stay with us satisfactory.

Thank you for your recommendations regarding the water, robes and slippers. We do offer guests an option of booking a superior room where we provide complimentary water, bathrobes and slippers.

I trust that you will visit us again during your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    277
    110
    31
    20
See reviews for
89
237
57
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

i was staying at the strand hotel for 3 days i have a pleasant stay helped in the parking by senatar cracking jokes telling us about the hotel very friendly staff.nice view from the room but tight parking

Helpful?
Thank nokiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear "nokiaguy"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel.

I can assure you that i will pass your praises on to all the team members, especially to Senate.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room and i trust you will consider the Strand Tower Hotel should you visit Cape Town again.

KInd Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

WE stayed here for a week - and could have stayed here for much longer. You filled it nearly like home. Very helpfull, polite and smilling staff.
The Hotel is modern, very clean and nice situated in the center of the city,
When we will go back to ZA, we will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear "Klaus L"

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with the Strand Tower Hotel. Be be assured that i will pass on your positive comments to all team members - Especially concerning their friendliness.

I am pleased that you found the Hotel services to your liking.

We do look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel for a longer stay.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I would like commend all staff for their friendly, prompt, professional service; they made us feel right at home & special in every way.
I would most definitely recommend to anyone, looking for a looking for a well deserved pampering holiday!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "FrancoisCenturion"

Thank you for taking time to deliver your response and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers - Especially regarding the fantastic service you received.

I will pass on your praises to all the team members for their information.

We would definitely like to welcome you back to the Strand Tower Hotel should you have the need for some well deserved pampering in the near future.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We only stayed here for two nights but want to come back for a much longer stay. The hotel is very modern, comfortable and clean and the helpfulness and friendliness if the staff is wonderful. We had the use of the executive lounge which served lovely snacks and the staff were delightful (although we forgive them for supporting Liverpool football club!). It was great to be able to sit on the roof terrace outside the lounge and enjoy the sunshine. The hotel is very convenient for a visit to Table Mountain with its fantastic views over the city and also the waterfront and its array of restaurants. Altogether a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrecante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "Torrecante"

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will share your kind words with our team members for their information and motivation.

I am sure you also enjoyed the complimentary 100 MB of complimentary WiFi that we offer each room on a daily basis.

We do look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel for a longer stay.

P.S
I will adress the Liverpool issue with the guys in the executive lounge ;)

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

What an awesome 2 weeks spent at the Strand Towers Hotel! Everyone was always so willing to please which is never a bad thing given the questionable levels of service at so many of the hotels I have visited. Not that I am hard to please or anything:) The location, views of the bay are all an added plus. The rates are reasonable and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakayvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "lakayvictor"

Thank you so very much for your positive feedback following your 2 week stay with The Strand Tower Hotel.

It gives me great joy to know that you received the level of service you deserve. We truly appreciate your positive comments and will share all of these with our team members for their information and motivation.

I am pleased that you found the views to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future


Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We mentioned it was our honeymoon only on arrival yet we were given bigger room and fruit and wine. Staff were excellent. Friendly and efficient . Great value for money . Snacks and tea/ coffee free in conference room . Spa treatments very reasonably priced

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank benimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear "benimar"

Thank your for taking the time to provide ups with positive feedback regarding your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel - especially the level of service you received.

I have passed on your praises to all the team members for their information as well as their motivation.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

P.S
May your marriage be blessed with more joy than either of you can imagine.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing