We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very nice stay :)”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a very nice stay :)”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a very nice stay at Strand Tower Hotel. The rooms where very clean and i loved the Pool :) Every day they cleaned the room. The Breakfast was okay. The People at the reception where absolutely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time :) The Hotel is situated in the city center, near to the Long Street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bolle1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear "Bolle1459"

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am glad that you found all the hotel facilities to liking.

We do pride ourselves on the efficiency and friendliness of our team. It pleases me to know that you were able to experience this first hand. I trust you furthermore enjoyed the complimentary internet that we offer to all our guest.

Please do contact us with you next visit to Cape Town so that we can extend the hospitality you are accustomed to

Kind Regards
Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    283
    112
    31
    20
See reviews for
91
242
57
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germiston, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I facilitated a conference 4 - 7 March 2014. The service from arrival at the hotel to departure was excellent. The food and refreshments served over the four days was also excellent. Staff that worked at conferencing went out of their way to make it a great success. I will definitely use the facility again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear "Richard M"

Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your conferencing experience with us. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable conference with us. I have sent your praises onto our conferencing team for their motivation and gratitude.

The variety of conferencing options we offer makes The Strand Tower Hotel a great location i.t.o. conferencing solutions. We have 6 in-house conference rooms ranging from breakaway rooms to conference rooms that can host more than 200 people.

The cuisine we offer our conference delegates are truly to write home about. We have a large variety of freshly prepared food on every occasion.

We do look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel for all your future conferencing and accommodation needs.

Kind Regard

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Hotel is located at a center point. easy walk around and find places to shop and to eat.

Breakfast had good variery to choose from. The rooms are reasonably sized and the view from window is table mountain and the busy roads of CPT.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aravind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear "Aravind S"

Thank you for the review regarding your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our breakfast is truly a feast to behold. Our in-house bakery ensures that all our breads are freshly baked for all our guests to enjoy,

I am pleased you enjoyed your room as well as the spectacular view of Table Mountain.

We look forward in welcoming you back with your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed four nights at the hotel on a combined business/holiday trip. I arrived early in the morning and even though the staff promised to try to find a room for me as soon as possible I only received it after check-in hours (2 pm). This was problematic since I had to work. I received a wifi internet voucher to use while woking in the restaurant but the wifi was not working and it was impossible for me to work there. In the room the internet connection was quite good.

The room I stayed in on the fifth floor (502) was however not very nice. Although the hotel proudly says they have spectacular views from their rooms, I was looking at a blank wall on one side and into an office, which was maybe two meters from my window, on the other side. Breakfast is okay, but nothing special really. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful, but not very flexible or service minded sometimes. In addition some of my room neighbour decided to have an after party right outside my room on Saturday night.. not too pleasant.

While I was not impressed with the hotel, the location, however, is perfect. It is easy to just walk down to Long street for lunch, dinner or drinks in the evening, or hop into a car or cab and drive off outside the city.The car parking on the 1st floor was also a plus since it can be tricky to find parking in the street.

Room Tip: Make sure to require a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear "Nina S"

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. I have taken your concerns to heart and i assure i have addressed them.

Please do take note that we do have two room classes. Please unsure that when you book the room you carefully look at what is being booked. As we are a city hotel, it is inevitable that some of the rooms overlook other buildings. We do have spectacular views from the superior rooms where one can wake up to table mountain and the beautiful harbor.

Due to high occupancies we were unfortunately not able to assist with a early arrival room. I can assure we strive to assist with guests requests as far as possible. I am pleased that my team was able to accommodate you with a complimentary internet voucher while you waited to the normal check in time.

As mentioned, the location of the hotel is perfectly located for any business traveler as well as tourist. Our city center location makes the hotel prefect for exploring Cape Town.

Please do contact me upon your next visit to Cape Town. I would like to offer you a true sense of our hospitality.

kind Regards
Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a fairly run-of-the-mill city-centre hotel; you know, the sort that has bland decor, a big room for seminars on the 2nd floor and very average breakfasts. The rooms are basic but spacious; similarly the bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. The WiFi was good but the two computer terminals in the lobby had technical problems. The location is very good - a short walk to a variety of shops and a 15-20 minute walk down to the V&A Waterfront. On arrival, the front-desk staff were cold but on the final day one of the team was very helpful and did the online, airline check-in for us. The concierge team were more friendly and always willing when it came to handling luggage and finding you a taxi.
Overall verdict - I would shop around next time for somewhere with a bit more character.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HankEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear "HankEaling"

Thank you for taking the time to provide with a review of you recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room. I am pleased that you made use of the complimentary Wi-fi that is available throughout the Hotel.

I have taken note of your concerns and we have addressed them accordingly. Please do contact us directly with you next visit to Cape Town in order for us to extend our hospitality to you and your family.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights before boarding a cruise ship. The staff on reception are very helpful, the room was a reasonable size and clean and the location is fairly central. There is a Hertz car rental opposite which is convenient. However, the hotel is in need of refurbishment throughout. For two nights it was OK but it would have been depressing to stay any longer. The breakfast was very mediocre.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear "jrsj"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We have taken note of your concerns and we will be addressing them during our off-season.

I am sure you enjoyed the complimentary wireless internet that we provide all our guests as well as the complimentary mineral water that is situated on the restaurant floor.

Please do contact me the next time you are in Cape Town in order for us to extend our warm hospitality again.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great convenient hotel for a stay in Cape Town. Very nice and helpful staff. Great manager. Needs freshened up a bit over all. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Small problem with hot water and manager stayed on it with great follow through.

Room Tip: Get room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear "Rogerdav101"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will share your kind words with our team members for their information and motivation.

Thank you for your patience with regards to the small hot water issue we had. I can assure you we have put additional systems in place in order to prevent this from re-occurring.

I am glad you had a comfortable stay and we do look forward in welcoming you back for your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Fountains Hotel
#83 of 109 in Cape Town Central
530 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
900 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing