We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Over this past weekend myself and my Wife stayed at the strand Tower Hotel where we had the experience of a lifetime. On arrival we went up to our room to notice that there were rose petals on our bed and a picnic basket with all sorts of nice things in it. This extra effort added was extremely impressive. The view from our room was spectacular allowing us views of table mountain from one side of the room and the CBD from the other. The bed was huge and rooms were spotless. Breakfast the next morning was a absolute treat as there was a huge variety. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel like royalty. I will definitely return to the Strand Tower Hotel. Hendrick and Lillian Kotze

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hennyenlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear "hennyenlillian "

Thank you fro taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at that Strand Tower Hotel. Please be assured that your praises will be communicated to all team members for the motivation and their consideration.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to your liking, especially the beds and the rooms.

Please do visit us again upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is well located in downtown Cape Town; it is frequently used by various groups, tourists, students, etc.; we were part of one group and stayed four nights there; we appreciated our stay at this hotel; room was nice and clean;good buffet for breakfasts as well as for suppers; employees were nice and friendly.

Room Tip: we were on the 16th floor, no view of the sea or Table Mountain;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lessasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear "lessasy "

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your recent stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am pleased to read about your enjoyable stay as I can assure your that we enjoyed accommodating your group.

We do take tremendous pride in all aspects of the hotel, thus you can be assured your feedback will be passed on to all team members for their consideration and motivation.

I am glad you enjoyed your room as well as the service and the restaurant.

Please do visit us upon your next trip to Cape Town in order for us to extend the level of hospitality you are accustomed to.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The rooms at the Strand Tower Hotel are nice and spacious, great bathroom with bath and shower. The free internet is a bonus. The large variety at breakfast caters to everybodies taste. They had home made bread on the buffet which was amazing. The coffee comes from the coffee roastery at the entrance of the hotel.
The hotel has a great location, we could walk anywhere in town.
The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to assist where necessary.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room, worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edbar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear "Edbar2014"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such feedback of your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel.

I am pleased to read about your pleasant stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. The strand Tower Hotel prides itself on service, rooms and excellent food. As i'm glad you mentioned, we now provide all our rooms with uncapped wireless internet. This facility is also available throughout the entire Hotel.

Please do visit the Strand Tower Hotel soon in order for us to extend the hospitality that you have become accustomed to.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel we had an excellent stay, drinks on arrival, all staff were friendly, excellent gym facilities, great room, housekeeping staff were friendly and happy to speak to us. The hotel is across from a few food outlets and breakfast is a buffet where you can request your eggs to be cooked however you like with fresh fruit and breads. Will definatly stay here again and as we were heading off on a Nomad tour, the porters walked with out bags all the way to our location point so we did not need to worry about getting there and also carrying out bags.

Room Tip: Stayed in 1107 which had a great view of table mountain as well as lions head !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkinnear1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear "Tkinnear1505 "

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the valuable feedback of our stay with the Strand Tower Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with the Strand Tower Hotel and I can assure you that I will be sharing your review with all of the Team for their motivation and consideration.

It pleases me that to read about your great experience with the Strand Tower Hotel staff. We do pride ourselves on our excellent service and especially the friendliness of the our Staff.

Please do call on the Strand Tower Hotel upon our next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had a lovely view of Table Mountain and was uniquely decorated. Would have loved to make use of the pool only if the weather was a bit warmer. The pianist at breakfast was a quirky surprise!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMFAUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear "DMFAUX"

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with feedback of your recent stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. We always value feedback as it gives us an indication of our levels of service and the Hotel.

I am pleased that you found the Hotel's service and rooms to your satisfaction. Please be assured that i will convey your review to all team members.

During the summer months we do have allot of guests making use of the pool are and i trust you will join us once the weather turns for the better. During the summer months we also use the terrace to entertain guests with live music and complimentary snacks. This combined with the beautiful Cape Town sunset is definitely something to partake in.

Please do visit us again upon your return to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is well located and allows walking to several points of interest. The staff is first rate and very helpful. The rooms are a good size, but seem a bit in need of refurbishing. The carpet is an odd color, and it gave the appearance of being dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Williamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear "2Williamz"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay at the Strand Tower Hotel.

I am pleased you found the level of service provided to you satisfaction. Please be assured that i will convey your review to all team members for their considerations and motivation.

I have taken note regarding you concerns and we will most definitely address them where applicable.

I trust that you will visit us upon your return to Cape Town and we look forward in welcoming you back .

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Strand Tower Hotel , i will definitely recommend it to lots of my friend to book in when they want to experience the beauty of Cape town. Friendly staff at the hotel and delicious food.

Room Tip: Closer to everything! Most especial to V & A Waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonginhlanhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear "Bonginhlanhla"

Thank you for taking the time to write a reviews of your stay with the Strand Tower Hotel. It is always pleasant to read about guest enjoying their stay with us. I can assure you that i will send your review to all team members for the motivation and consideration.

I am pleased that you enjoy the efficiency and friendliness of the Team. I will convey the compliments to the chefs as well.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Strand Tower Hotel upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#89 of 112 in Cape Town Central
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#77 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Address: | Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £82 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of South Africa’s most beautiful cities. Located in the heart of the Mother City, the Holiday Inn Cape Town is in close proximity to many of the city’s major attractions. The Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, it is a mere 10-15 minutes’ walk along the historic streets of Cape Town. Take a walk up the majestic Table Mountain and enjoy the legendary scenic views that Cape Town has to offer. With the central location of the Holiday Inn Cape Town you can take to the streets & experience Cape Town‘s diverse range of restaurants, shops and vibrant nightlife. A “My city” bus station is just seconds away, making this the ideal base for both the business and leisure traveler, offering ease of exploration throughout Cape Town. Whether you're overnighting for business, enjoying sundowner cocktails poolside with friends or hosting a conference, the Holiday Inn Cape Town ensures a memorable experience for all. At Holiday Inn Cape Town, you're our reason to smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing