We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights on a recent trip. Centrally located with excellent staff it would be difficult to want more. The only reason I have not given it a 5 is a petty irritation about the complimentary shuttle bus which we were unable to access when we requested and some slight irritation with housekeeping not replenishing the coffee pot on at least 3 occasions. To be fair they did ask you to book the shuttle in advance. Booking in was quick and simple, we were asked to take a seat in the lounge and the concierge came to us. Our room was beautiful with wonderful views overlooking Table Mountain.
The food was good, breakfast was OK, not the best I have ever had and toast seemed to be problem.
Overall we had a wonderful stay, the staff are excellent and if I had the opportunity I would stay again with no hesitation

Room Tip: Stay up as high as you can to get amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendiedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    327
    81
    28
    26
See reviews for
258
664
81
376
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I always have mixed feelings about the Taj hotels - compared to the Oberoi hotels they some how come away 2nd place. There is no Oberoi in Cape Town but the Taj here still feels it can do more... I stayed 2 days and booked a club room. Airport pick up was smooth, the welcome a little rushed as I guess they had a convention going on. The rooms and facilities are excellent - nothing to fault at all. Breakfast at the Mint was good. Its situated in the center of town but the V&A area is a short drive away. The view of Table Mountain was rather obstructed by buildings as we were on the second floor but had a view of the cathedral which was good. There was absolutly no street noise - a fact very appriciated. Long street which is a good place to hang out during weekends is a short walk away. We had a butler dedicated to us who helped make our stay better but apart from him felt the rest of the staff could have done more, been more attentive. Satisfactory but can improve is my verdict.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulzfeld
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the Taj in October/November 2011 and definitely enjoyed it! The complimentary valet-parking is very helpful, when being in Capetown with a car. Especially the concierges were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice with a great view and the location is right in the middle of the city bowl, so it is not far to either the waterfront, camps bay, the airport, table mountain, or the main road leading to the cape. Unfortunately, the hotel offers only 30min complimentary Internet for free which is only available every 24hrs. However, one can buy firther hours, if needed, if one is willing to pay the price for it. In total, we can recommend the hotel not only for business visitors, but also for travellers!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here for a week on business and found location very good for town with park opposite and market square close by for a stroll. Rooms are FAB...go for one high up and you'll see the mountain from your bath !! The comfiest and largest beds I have ever experienced. Food quality was superb even for the training course delegates during the day - no dried up sandwiches here !! Did not get to use SPA or sports facilities but did get to take a peek and they are quiet and high quality, Very attentive staff who are eager to please and sort out any problems or queries you may have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 14th floor or above - preferably corner room for peace and quiet and double aspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShugsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Very neat property. Not well know but in the perfect location. Had a Suite with a view of Table rock, beautiful! Good value for the room, clean and modern.

I want to say the concierge lounge was a bit unusual and it has no view. That said the staff was incredible. They remembered what finger food we ate the night before and made sure we got those and in abundance each night. We toured the penthouse and I would definitely take it on another stay. It is designed for entertaining and the deck and views are excellent.

Room Tip: facing table rock on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livesinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, KZN
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My second stay at the Taj - it is such a treat. The staff are well trained, respectful with a sense of humor and the chaffeur car service is such fun. It was our 18th wedding anniversary and we had a ball - ate breakfast in bed (sublime), spa treatments, drank champagne at Twanky's and generally ate ourselves silly in all the good restaurants in the city. The location is superb - central, beautiful and close to everything without being noisy. I love the Taj and will continue to come back - its a beautiful hotel with the grace of years gone by.

Room Tip: Definitely mountain facing - on a corner, you'll have a 360deg view of the beautiful city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiser08_KZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The service at the Taj is outstanding. It's only the position that doesn"t allow an excellent. Especially when you want to go for a walk in the surroundings. Everything else is perfect

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expert720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing