We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$352
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$882
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,924)
Filter reviews
1,924 results
Traveller rating
1,383
377
102
31
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,383
377
102
31
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbombay brasseriemint restaurantjiva spatwankey barrange rovertable mountainpillow menuexcellent hotelin room diningcompany gardensmountain viewupgraded to a suiteconcierge deskturn down servicehigh tealong streetsouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
1,546 - 1,551 of 1,924 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I was excited to be staying here after all the rave reviews but my experience was far short of amazing. I couldnt get housekeeping to do a turndown service, no complimentary water left in my room, no welcome drink. Room was pretty good but for nearly double any other hotel in Capetown service seemed very poor. The Indian restaurant was rediculously expensive and staff couldnt get the right meals to the right diners and it took two and a half hours for our meal. When the right dishes did come they were OK not great. After a couple of nights I moved to the Hilton, WOW half the price twice the service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel is a true 5 star hotel. The service was exceptional from all members of staff and we stayed for four nights and were remembered by name by reservation/concierge staff. We would not fault any part of this hotel - it is truly beautiful. Located right on the central mall in Cape Town, with the breakfast restaurant leading directly onto the mall, it is in an ideal location and far better than the noisy, touristy V&A Waterfront where we went for a nasty lunch. We were given a deluxe mountain view room on the 15th floor and the view was to die for each day. In the evening, lights were turned on at the foot of the mountain illuminating it spectacularly. Our bedroom was fabulous, comfy bed and excellent pillow menu, huge bathroom (separate shower), lovely toiletries, mini bar that was checked daily, free in-room breakfast (we didn't try this option) if breakfast is included in your room rate, spa, sauna, swimming pool (inside), excellent gym, restaurant, bistro and separate bar restaurant (Twankey's). The best Indian food I've ever eaten was in the Brasserie restaurant in the hotel, breakfasts were fine but I'd liked to have seen a more diverse selection of fruit alternating and no offer of a freshly made omellette for buffet breakfasts (and also no toaster?). The hotel is a welcome refuge from the bussle of the city and we were looked after like I imagine royalty are looked after! I would stay in a Taj property again, particularly this one.

Room Tip: The Table mountain views are worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The only thing I regret about my trip to capetown is not staying at the TAJ longer. It is an amazing hotel, they treated us like we were their highest spending customers which was definitely not the case. The picked us up from the airport and showed us nothing but hospitality till we left. The rooms are gorge and the sheets are sooo heavenly, and so is the bathroom. The restaurant is good too. It is my favorite hotel in Africa so far.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShallyWaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My best stay of 2011 !
The upper floor rooms have great views, are roomy and very pleasant.
What makes this hotel stand out is the great personal attention given by staff who sincerely go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Some very decent indian food at the brasserie, excellent breakfast buffet (one of the best croissants you'll find in this part of the world).

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms (parliament side) give a magnificent view on the gardens and table mountain
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rengephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

this hotel was fabulous in absolutely every aspect. the location, the restaurants were excellent ..and the staff was superlative. the indian restaurant at the hotel is pricey but unbelievably good - i'm pretty sure i swooned.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews