We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property very conveniently located; service doesnt live up to Taj standards”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed at the Taj Cape town a couple of times between October and November 2012. The property is located very conveniently at the heart of the business district, and has a nice, old-world feel to it from the outside. The reception and the lobby are also tastefully maintained. The rooms are neat and well furnished - typical Taj and the views from the upper floors are quite impressive.

The only crib I have is regarding the poor service. Food orders would take forever to get served and some orders would be forgotten. Additionally, the quantity of drinking water provided per room is ridiculously low (2 x 250 ml bottles? Please!) and the prices of bottles of water are ridiculously hight. Really wish the hotel management would provide for more quantities of complimentary drinking water at least!

Room Tip: Try and get rooms in the higher floors - views can be quite awesome, especially during dusk/ sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VRangarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

If you've stayed in a few nice hotels you'll know that what lets many of them down is a lack of attention to detail.

The rooms are incredibly well laid out, functional for relaxation or work, and with with one wall made up of a sliding glass door it's full of nature light and airy. The bathroom too uses the philosophy of natural light with a big glass window looking onto the room (it has a blind that can be closed if you prefer)

And in terms of attention to detail, there's a pillow menu allowing you to choose a variety, some are scented (A fresh, scented cotton covered pillow of my preferred firmness, bliss). I can't flaw the room in any way and I regard myself quite critical.

The hotel itself has a great cigar lounge, beautiful furnishings, and great gym facilities including pool. Even scent, is piped through the aircon of the hotel so it feels extra fresh and clean as you walk in, great especially when you're a bit hot and bothered.

Its parking is valet service only, but it's quite and efficient. The breakfast is tasty, great selection, had room service a few times as well, fast, with a good selection of nice food.

Then there's the staff. Highly trained to be polite, attentive and efficient, and they are.

The only thing missing is a nice pool and deck area, but it is a city hotel so they're limited by that.

In summary I wouldn't bother staying anywhere else on my next trip, I don't think any other place could better the Taj. It might not have great sea views (although rooms with views of the mountain are available) which is a bit of a pity given how spectacular the Cape Town coast is, but if you accept that limitation you will have a great stay!

Room Tip: As usual higher up is better. Haven't seen the mountain facing rooms, although with the massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Amazing experience.... very elegant interiors and a beautiful view from the room. We got a corner room with large windows. The room was full of light and breathtaking view of table mountain covered with clouds. My little doll enjoyed the warm bubbly bath in the tub. The only thing we missed there was a pool for the kids ... my daughter was pretty dissapointed.

The muffins in the breakfast were very yummy... must try them...

Overall a memorable experience.. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulikaanandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I just stayed at the Taj hotel on Cape Town and must say I was impressed. First I arranged via email to have the hotel provide transportation from the airport upon my arrival. When I arrived there was a driver waiting for me. I would highly recommend this service as it only costs about $56 and is well worth it when coming in from a long flight.
When I arrived at the hotel they placed me in a room on the Club Floor where there is a separate breakfast served and cocktails (not complementary) in the evening. The most impressive part of my stay was my room and everything about it. It was huge with an enormous bathroom, bath tub, shower stall, and king size bed. I don't need to go into any more detail except to say everything surpassed five star luxury standards. The location of the hotel is in the center of everything and walking distance from everything else. During the day it is in the center of activity. But be forewarned that when the sun goes down the area quickly empties out and it becomes quite seedy. Even the two block walk to Long Street becomes unwalkable.
Another feature of the hotel is that it is right across the street from the " hop on hop off" bus stop. This bus has two routes, red and blue, which last about two hours each and take you to all the interesting spots and areas. The two day pass allows you unlimited use of both routs and costs 250 Rand ($28). If you get a one day pass you can only go on one route. I made full use of it and found it the best deal in town.
If there were any downsides to the hotel I would say that it was the internet charge. They give you one half hour every 24 hours. This means that if you use your half hour (it cannot be spread out) at 3 pm one day, you do not get another half hour until 3 pm the next day. Then the rates for internet usage is probably the highest I have ever seen. The Westin in Cape Town give you free internet for your entire stay. I think that the Taj’s rates are a mark against it. But other than that I found it a great place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Have stayed in Taj hotels in India before, where the standard of service is always exemplary. I was pleasantly surprised to see that these standards are maintained in what is clearly a very different culture.
Convenient location, with very rapid valet parking. Every single member of staff, from the parking valet to check-out receptionist went out of their way to be friendly, professional and helpful. Room was large, great balcony view, large bathroom with funky internal window (with blind). Our stay included breakfast which was a great selection and delicious. The only one (slight) gripe is the free wifi for 30 mins is so painfully slow that it's impossible to do much in that 30 mins.
For the room, staff and location would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a balcony have a great view of the Lion's Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Taj for 4 nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the entrance and were also told at the reception that we were upgraded. The receptionist took us around the hotel guiding us about the restaurants and facilities available in the hotel. The room in the heritage wing with a view of the table mountain was perfect! It is indeed a large and comfy room (taj ofcourse!). The service was impeccable except for the occassionally rude staff at the breakfast restaurant in the mornings.
Special mention of the Concierge staff who were very helpful and ofcourse the city shuttles in the Jaguars and Landrovers were a nice addition!
Overall, a great place to stay - though I might add that the location may not be as happening as the V&A waterfront though its just about a 10 min drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulge1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A magnificent hotel in an urban context. Elegant, serene, well-appointed. Much to see and experience in the surrounding area, however aggressive driving and hooting does rather detract from the Cape Town experience. Service in The Mint restaurant was exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,408 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,444 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,684 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £144 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing