We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with style and elegance”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the moment we checked in we could not have been treated better .... we were upgraded to a mountain view room which meant we woke up to stunning views of table Mountain. Awesome! The interior decor was elegant and stylish and the breakfats buffet extensive and tasty. The swimming pool was a bit disappointing as it was in a small dark room - but otherwise faultless. Pieter on the Concierge desk could not have been more helpful and arranged several great days out for us. The Wine Route and the Cape of Good Hope Tours must be done! The hotel is well located and cheap taxis can be caught down to the V and A for evening entertainment. Big tip is NOT to ask them to meet you at the airport -- taxis and shuttle buses can be picked up so easily for half the price (expect to pay about 200-220 R) You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear JaimieQ
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Taj Cape Town and we thank you for the feedback which I will be sharing with the team this morning. I will also convey your gratitude on to Pieter at our Concierge.

We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is an amazingly luxurious hotel directly opposite the historical St. Georges Cathedral. Their in-house Bombay Restaurant serves the most amazing Indian Cuisine. The room was amazing and the service received is more than 5 star. We spend the weekend to celebrate my husbands weekend and this is a birthday that he will always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear JulianaW
Thank you for the wonderful review and in particular the on our Bombay Brasserie Restaurant. You can be assured that I will be sharing this with my team this morning. It is only through feedback like yours we are able to benchmark our progress.

We certainly hope this will not be the only birthday celebration you will be spending with us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, great facilities, luxurious rooms, great location, and definitely a hotel I'd return to. Most of the staff provided excellent service, especially the front desk personnel and the bell staff. There were just a couple of things that detracted from the overall experience. There seems to be a communication problem between the front desk and reservations. After listening to another guest who's room deposit had been incorrectly applied to someone else's account, we found that our reservation was inadvertently cancelled. Both situations were resolved quickly, but things just seemed to be a little disorganized.

Room Tip: Definitely a great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 882markd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. It is important to receive all comments as this is used as a training tool, for our internal programme. I can assure you that the front desk agents as well as the reservations manager have addressed and put the necessary measures in place to ensure that incidents of this nature are not repeated.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Shocking yes! because this here is a hotel that is very very beautiful in terms of its interior decor and amenities, but I am appalled that such an exquisite hotel could fail to deliver on service, hospitality... courtsey!

From the first day to the very last minute(and gosh I had to go through that ordeal for 5 whole days!), where at that point I couldn't stomach the horrible manners of the staff at the front desk and restaurant and the laissez-faire attitude of their seniors! WHAT A DISASTER OF A HOTEL! In fact, I sensed that with regards to the waitresses, either they're very ignorant about the world and their city, which is probably the most cosmopolitan in RSA) or they're downright uncouth! My fellow journos and I concluded that staff morale was an obvious problem, because if a whole team of people are going to display the same unbecoming behaviour then certainly it must have everything to do with the kind of working environment/conditions they find themselves subjected to, which pretty much exposes the weaknesses in the hotel's management. I spoke to two managers about my dissatisfactions, and I cannot say i was pleased with their responses either, there is a serious problem at that hotel!

Let me be so bold as to state, the front desk; a white male named Jo, and another female caucasian Colette/Nicolette were very dismissive and at times I felt they were in-fact plain racist! It is one thing to be busy and fast in how you help people, but it is something else to assist impatiently, without eye contact or even a forced smile at that!

In spite of all that, there were a few individuals that consoled my experience and one in particularly, did his job diligently, Mr Themba(concierge)!

I will not recommend this hotel, in as much as it is conveniently located in the centre of that very clean and relatively safe city!

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor, and spent time in the upper floors with my colleagues as well, to enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boi2melow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, it is only through detailed feedback like your own that we measure and improve our performance. Your positive comments have been forwarded to Themba, at the concierge.

Please accept our apologies for the failure to deliver on the Taj standards, that we pride ourselves on. We truly aspire to providing an exceptional Hotel experience to all our guests. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and all details have been addressed with my executive management team and staff. You have clearly highlighted some concerning issues which is being addressed and the necessary training will be scheduled.

Whilst you have indicated that you will not return to our beautiful hotel, which I am saddened by, i would sincerely welcome the opportunity to restore your total confidence in the entire offering at Taj Cape Town, when planning your next trip I invite you to contact either my personal assistant Trish Humby, or myself, to make the necessary arrangements on your behalf, and I will personally ensure that your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

We certainly hope that you we take up the offer and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Best Regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival as my partner had requested anything the hotel could do to make the trip memorable as it was my 30th birthday celebration holiday during the pre-booking process. The suite was of a very high standard, and the hotel manager had arranged for a selection of birthday desserts to be sent up to the suite after we had checked in, this was a lovely thought. The hotel staff were extremely polite, friendly and very helpful. We really enjoyed the extensive range of breakfast options in the mornings, a great way to start the day! The hotel was perfectly located and within walking distance of Green Market Square and the restaurants and bars along Long Street. I would highly recommend staying at The Taj if you are planning a trip to the City.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBBB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Booked a weekend special here that was extremely good value for money. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a top floor room which had a great view over central Cape Town.

I originally was not convinced that the location (just off Wale street right in the heart of central Cape Town) would be a nice one, but was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast area is adjacent to a small square close by to the central church and the whole experience feels very European on a nice sunny morning. There was also a busy night market just outside the entrance to the hotel.

Rooms are modern and clean with nice bathrooms, linen and toiletries. The spa is great, though the facilities (steam room and mineral baths) are seperated into the male and female change rooms. The on site Bombay Brasserie serves excellent, authentic Indian that is hard to beat in Cape Town.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryHalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Taj Cape Town in March for a week. The hotel is excellent! The rooms are elegantly decorated. The customer service was excellent. The staff is very knowledgeable about all aspects of the business. Our tours were arranged with ease at convenient times. The hotel is well placed with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. The breakfast buffet had a vast amount of choice of items. It is very near to the train station. We had a wonderful vacation and when we return to Cape Town, the Taj will definitely be our first choice and we will certainly recommend the Taj to anyone planning to visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powell62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £172 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing