We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Stay! Great People!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
“Great Stay! Great People!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Doorman Gavins was the best part of Capetown. He was more than willing to show me and my family where to exchange money for the best rate. he walked us in and introduced all of us. Gavins also did a great job of showing us where to go and how to get there. was always more that wiliing to go the extra distance to make sure we enjoyed our time in Capetown. this review is for Gavins!!!
Thank You from my Family!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Rashad
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey the message to the team and especially to Gavins. We have also nominated Gavins for our Stars programme.
We hope to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    323
    79
    26
    25
See reviews for
252
650
79
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights recently. We had a wonderful stay and truly enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The guys at the front door were fabulous! Nothing was too hard for them. Thanks for a memorable stay.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Jim
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. We most certainly will share this with the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel and staff are world class. They upgraded our room to a suite for some reason that I was thrilled about. Our room was stunningly beautiful and looked over at the old church across the street. Breakfast came with the room in a beautiful restaurant off the main lobby. Don't miss it! It was so delicious and I was not hungry because this was a trip that I ate too much but I don't regret having the amazing breakfast.

I will say that you should not walk around Cape Town after 7 or 8 at night. We just walked from the hotel a few blocks to a restaurant but it was too late to be out walking by ourselves and we did have an incident that could have been avoided.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly pass this on to the team
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently returned from 6 weeks in Africa, and Cape Town was our last port of call. It was a GREAT place to finish our trip. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we were thrilled to find we had been upgraded to a suite on our arrival. A magnificent room with plenty of space, and views of the city. It is an excellent location, right near a Hop On Hop Off bus stop, which basically can get you to anywhere, including Table Mountain, the beaches and the waterfront. The food at The Taj was great ... Breakfast was amazing! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Taj Cape Town. It has a lot to offer, and basically, we couldn't fault it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SusanMH5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Susan
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the team.
We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great location, beautiful room, excellent breakfast every day. This was a memorable stay made all the better by Faith's welcoming smile. The spa treatments were world class and the staff made us feel really at home. There was a mix up with the booking but the manager put it right in a professional and friendly manner. I really recommend this lovely hotel and cannot wait to return to Cape Town!

Room Tip: The heritage rooms are lovely and we overlooked the cathedral and awoke to the sun on table Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We will certainly be nominating Faith for our Stars programme - thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We staid at the Taj for five nights as our entry point for our travels to Southern Africa. It was a great beginning to our trip. The location in downtown Cape Town was convenient to many areas and restaurants. The staff were wonderful especially Faith from Mint and Tsitsi at the Registration Desk. After our first day, they would greet us by name and made us feel special. The experience overall was outstanding and would recommend the Taj to everyone visiting Cape Town!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing Table Top Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We will also be nominating Faith and Tsitsi for our Stars programme - thank you We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Spent a lovely weekend in super luxury. The room was very spacious, clean and overlooked the city centre. linen was clean and of the highest quality. The welcome and the attitude of the staff showed confidence. The food offering is of a high standard. Definatly recommend staying at the Taj.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will most certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing