We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Plus”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Service Plus”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Taj is well located in the centre of the old city. The staff could not have been more friendly: reception, concierge, room service, and especially the breakfast staff at the Mint each morning! Our room was very comfortable. We have never had a better appointed bathroom (loved the night light under the sink). Daniel in the wine store was very helpful in selecting a bottle of wine for the room. The Bombay Brasserie served an exquisite meal and is well worth a visit if you are looking for fine dining.
We highly recommend the Taj.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation onto the Taj Team and make a special mention about Daniel from the Pendock Wine Gallery. . We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    340
    84
    28
    26
See reviews for
271
694
82
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Thanks to the Taj we had a wonderful week in Cape Town. No detail left undone in the room or services .We felt pampered and recognized, homey and private and always safe. Thanks especially to Faith who made coming to breakfast feel like a special event as she catered to our every need....so very thoughtful ,poised and friendly.
Gavins who made walking through the door feel like coming home.
Many others all of whom added that special touch which made us feel so welcome.They don't go unnoticed.
Thanks everyone......we will come again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidgit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation onto the Taj Team. For Faith and Gavins we will certainly nominate them for the employee of the month programme. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level Contributor
358 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and to tell you all it is superb.
Everything about this hotel is class, people ,food, rooms and atmosphere. I will be returning as soon as I can as it is that good. Food here is some of the best hotel food I have had and the Eggs Benedict last Sunday is the best breakfast dish I have ever experienced. Twankeys is also supereb as to wine beer cider and its food.
Rooms and staff are marverols especialy those at breakfast in The Mint.
I strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: High Floor and pay the supplement for a room with a city or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Keith
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation onto the Taj Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our last stop of a 3 week African holiday and it was a wonderful end to our trip. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are beautiful, room service is very affordable and it is in a great location.

Our only issue was upon check in. We had requested a twin room and received a king bed. When we called the front desk they didn't have a room to move us to until the next day so they made the bed "german style" and my friend and I shared the bed for the first night. Our first room was very nice on one of the highest floors with views of the harbour so we were sad to give up the room but the second room had great views of Table Mountain so we were pleased.

The staff moved our luggage for us while we were out sight seeing so there was little hassle for us. We had also had a bag sent ahead to the hotel and when we arrived it was in our room waiting for us. We appreciated these courtesies.

The hotel has free wifi and courtesy shuttles. The breakfast buffet was plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-M197211625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in January; unfortunately my wife had been taken very ill prior to our arrival and the hotel were superb in helping us stabilise her. Within 30 minutes of check in on a Sunday and a doctor had arrived and diagnosed her (I won't go in to the details but for clarity it was a gastro illness but nothing to do with the Taj in any way shape or form) and so with medication prescribed the hotel proceeded to look after us very well.

I had the opportunity to sample Mint for lunch and dinner and both were excellent, I didn't try the Indian bistro but by all accounts it is even better - the hotel bar (Twanky) is also a bit of fun.

My wife turned a corner and so we were able to enjoy our last couple of nights here and can vouch for the breakfast being gorgeous, the staff are also all lovely and cannot do enough to help you.

Whilst lovely there are however some current drawbacks to this hotel - it is a shame/surprising they weren't resolved as quickly as they should have been

1. The lifts have a key card system where you must have your card accepted by the lift before you can get to your floor. This system seems incredibly flawed/problematic here as there were times that even after having reception reprogramme my card, I still could not go anywhere - infuriating and not good enough in a hotel of this calibre... I understand many other guests were having similar issues

2. The movie channels were not available in the bedroom all week and although the hotel was finally able to provide a DVD player they didn't have any DVD's other than those that the general manager brought in from his private collection for us! Again not really good enough in a 5 star hotel

3. The main printer and scanner in the business centre was out of action all week; again not really good enough as it would be simple enough just to purchase another one if they can't repair the one they have!

4. The wifi is free for 24 hours but then very expensive at £15 a day but be wary as using a PC in the business centre is £15 for 90minutes!! Hotels such as the Mount Nelson offer this all for free so something for the Taj to have a long think about

5. The swimming pool is tiny and no outside space to the hotel

Overall it is a nice hotel and it is a 5 star but there are just better offerings out there I think - if you are in town for business then the location is amazing but we wouldn't chose it again having seen it I have to say.

A good hotel but just not quite on a par with the other flawless Taj hotels we have stayed in

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAAD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We have taken note of the issues surround the keycard system, in room movies as well as the business centre. I can assure you that these have all been addressed. Whilst I appreciate this may not compensate for the experience you received we do hope that you will return to Cape Town, and give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Taj Cape Town team.
I invite you to contact my office when planning your next trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My family of 4 stayed at Taj Hotel for 4 nights at the end of December 2013. Both of our 2 rooms had amazing Table Mountain views. The staff are very friendly and the service is definitely 5-Star. The rooms are very comfortable. We loved the variety of the breakfast. WIFI is not fast but worked for us. The car valet service was very good and convenience. I would stay Taj Cape Town again if I return to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Rooms with Table Mountain view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights in early December and had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had stunning views of Table Mountain. The beds were very comfortable so we slept very well. Breakfast was very nice. A lot of variety.

Location wise, the hotel is in a great spot. A short walk from the famous Long Street, with food markets being held right next to the hotel regularly.

However, the only problem was Wifi. Although it was complimentary, it was a very weak connection. I would have expected better from a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose and front facing room to get views of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,155 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing