We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I usually judge a hotel by the quality of it's towels and bedding and the Taj passed this test with flying colours.
The room was spotless, the bathroom beautifully finished with lots of marble.
But most of all the staff were so friendly and smiley.... nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast on the terrace was delightful.....
We will return !

Room Tip: We were low floor in old building .... very quiet, high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey this to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    343
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
273
700
85
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a most memorable stay at this hotel, the service was impeccable, the room was large with a beautiful king size bed, my daughter was provided with a single bed not a sofa bed the bathroom was beautiful with a large glass panel which allowed you watch TV while soaking in the deep bath we were concered about the privacy in the bathroom as we were travelling with our daughter but that soon was rectifyed as there was a blind that you would roll down, it also had a large double rain shower, lots of cupboard space and full length mirrors definetaly a 5 star hotel. Concierge were extremely helpfull they would go out of there way to make you feel like nothing was a issue. We were initially concerned about the area surrounding the hotel however it turned out to be a great spot with open markets the Cathedral just opposite and the famous and trendy Kloop and Long Streets around the corner, and the free shuttle bus that was provided by the hotel was great. made travelling to and from the Waterfront very easy. The Indian resturant which is part of the Hotel was just amazing and the buffet breakfast was also wonderful as was the service. We had an early flight into Cape Town which meant that we arrived at the Taj well before checkin time which was 2pm, which did not seem to be an issue for them we were asked if we wanted to freshen up while we waited for our room to be ready which we took the offer up and had a shower which was a great idea we had a drink and then we were taken up to our room. I cannot say enough about what awonderful hotel and the impeccable service we recieved. Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Gina and family
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will pass your comments on to the team. We certainly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

** If you liked this review, please click the helpful button at the end **

We stayed in this hotel in October 2013 while visiting Cape Town. It's a great hotel, in downtown CapeTown. The hotel is very luxurious, and has a great breakfast included. Rooms are modern and so comfortable. The hotel staff is great - front desk will take care of everything you need. They help you understand where to go, and how to stay safe. Despite the warnings of being careful in Cape Town, we never felt unsafe. This hotel is well worth staying at because it is central, and they help you see everything you'd want to. A few must do tips:

+ Make sure you ask for the free walking tour that's offered to all guests. It's a great way to get a sense of the city. Do this your first day.
+ Take a cab to Victoria & Alfred waterfront and walk around / eat outside
+ Make sure you go to table mountain. The Hop On Hop off bus is a great way to see the city in one day. It drops you off at table mountain. Check with the front desk to make sure Table Mountain is open. It can close on windy days
+ We took the day tour to Cape Point / the Cape of Good Hope through the hotel. Ask the Concierge, great day trip. Must see
+ Have dinner at Fork. You can walk there from the Taj. Ask the front desk for directions. Make reservations - but very casual, fun, delicious food.
+ Go to Stellenbosch Botanical Gardens. Gorgeous. The day trip to cape hope booked with the hotel should take you there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ocean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your comments on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town and more importantly Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and centrally located n has some lovely views of Cape Town but we found that the service level leaves a lot to be desired. Getting to the airport was a mission although we had pre-organized the transport and the guy at the front desk could not seem to make up his mind what to do as we were beginning to fear that we could miss our flight. In the end a junior guy saved the day by suggesting he took us to the airport in the hotel's own transport. We also had a disaster in that we gave a very important document to the butler to be delivered to Johannesburg and one week later it has still not been delivered and after numerous phone calls and numerous promises of emails and phone calls to clarify the situation we have NOT received a single phone call or email to shed light on the situation. Very very poor indeed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Thandie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Thandie
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, it is only through detailed feedback like your own that we measure and improve our performance.

Please accept our apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced with regards to delay in having the document delivered in Johannesburg. On investigation there was clearly a miss communication with how the document had to be send, and landed up being sent through our local postal service, for which we do apologise. We truly aspire to providing an exceptional Hotel experience to all our guests. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment.

Whilst we appreciate that an apology may not restore your total confidence in the entire offering at Taj Cape Town, when planning your next trip I invite you to contact either my personal assistant Trish Humby, or myself, to make the necessary arrangements on your behalf, and I will personally ensure that your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

We certainly hope that you we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Best Regards
Michael Pownall - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The first thing that stands out when you arrive at the Taj is the consistency of the service -- everyone smiles; everyone is helpful. The building is absolutely stunning - a perfect mix of the old (lower floors, lobby) and new (the cafe and the upper floors in the tower). The room was huge; the finishes of the highest quality. The gym and pool were outstanding. The breakfast was spectacular, and the room service top notch. When checking out, the guest relations woman (wish I remembered her name) was in the lobby and she noticed I was wanting help (anticipating this is a gift). She approached me, and within minutes arranged towels for me for the beach, change for the bellman (by running across the street to the coffee shop to break the bill), and even promised to arrange for my checkout so I could sneak away to the beach, vs. standing in line. I travel 100s of days/year, and this was one of the best stays I can recall in so many years!

Room Tip: If you want a taste of the old, ask for a room on a low floor. I was on 3, and still had a stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zim_travelin_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your comments on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town and more importantly Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our first trip to Cape Town (first of many, I hope), and for this trip Handsome One and I wanted to have a downtown city experience. Our criteria for choosing a hotel were 1. Location 2. View 3. Room and lastly 4. Amenities. We chose the Taj off Tripadvisor reviews and to be honest, I wasn't expecting a 'True-Taj' experience (having had that in India, and being blown away by it). Boy, was I wrong - and very happily so!

Here is why:
1. Location: Fantastic downtown location. Very safe. Bang opposite St. George's Cathedral. Right next to Long Street (the cool street with art galleries, neat restaurants and boutiques). Walking distance to Bo-Kaap (Cape Malay community with those colorful houses). 5 minutes by cab to the waterfront and wharf.

2. View. Absolutely STUNNING view. Our room overlooked the historic St. George's Cathedral. Table mountain literally loomed over us. Flanked on both sides by two other peaks. City lights laid out at night. A partial view of what I think is the Company Gardens. We had a room on the 11th floor with a balcony. From my balcony I could see 5 distinct types of architecture (if you are into that kind of thing, which I am)

3. Room: Very conducive to 'romance'. Floor to ceiling glass, both in the rooms as well as the bathroom. You can take in the view lying in your bathtub and then lower the shades in the bathroom when you need privacy. Modern and tasteful decor. Handsome One commented that he liked the carpet. When I arched one brow and reminded him that he was talking about hotel carpet, he said: EXACTLY. Exactly. Nuff said. Tasteful décor.
Private and great sound insulation - I slept like a baby. Ask for a room facing the mountains and a higher floor.

4. Amenities - greatly exceeded expectations. For instance, their shower caps. So what you say, all hotels have them. Well this one came with a soft hair band ( ladies -or men - with long hair - you know what I am talking about!!!). Anyway nice little touches that made all the difference.

Service was very good - prompt, courteous and friendly but not overly familiar (such a thin line, that one). The concierge, was exceptional (including the porters and doormen). The front office manager took good care of us. Faith at breakfast was wonderful. The service at breakfast could be better, but hey that's just if you are in a rush which we were not.

All in all, highly recommended. Surprisingly good. Great value for money. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We had room 1107 (11th floor). Choose a higher floor. Ask for mountain view. Check if you have a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InScreenNameHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your comments on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you want to walk and discover the centre of Cape Town, you cannot find a better location than this. The hotel is right by the Company Gardens, within 5 minutes walking distance from the museums, Long Street and trendy Bree Street. The staff is hugely friendly and professional, the rooms spacious and pleasant with very comfortable beds. We ate at Mint, the brasserie restaurant where breakfast is also served, and found the food good and the service charming. Both the hotel bar and the trendy Twankey bar (the oysters there are delicious !) are very pleasant. The concierge service is efficient and helpful in booking you restaurants and advising you on things to do. Overall we found the hotel perfect. The only downside is that there is no outside pool on the premises. Hotel guests are allowed to use a roof pool on the other side of the street but there are no changing rooms and there is no drinks service. The spa which is excellent does have an inside pool, but when you visit Cape Town in summer you do prefer an outside swim. Apart from that, we cannot fault the hotel and would be delighted to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with fantastic view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMOK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your comments on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
1.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing