We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We travelled to Cape Town at the beginning of February for an event and stayed at the Taj in Wale Street. It is a lovely hotel as you would expect from this group of hotels and guests experience the same seamless service as in their hotels in India.

The linen on the beds is absolutely sumptuous and the house keeping service really thorough. We stayed in a fairly standard room, but it was well thought out, had all the amenities we needed and a lovely luxurious bathroom.

While at the hotel, I had a treatment at the Spa and highly recommend visiting the Spa, it is quite special.

The breakfasts are lovely and in fine weather can be enjoyed on the square outside. Ask for the dosa, it is delicious.

We ate at the Indian restaurant on the property and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We did have some trouble being seated at first as, although there were tables, and it was 2 hours before closing, the restaurant hostess did not want to seat us as we did not have a booking. When we queried this, the restaurant manager quickly assisted us and made sure we felt welcome.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoTravelRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    332
    82
    28
    26
See reviews for
260
676
80
385
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

i have had the luxury of staying here on a number of occasions. I find the level of service impeccable. Once they get to know you they remember the small things like how you take your coffee etc…Great rooms ask for one with a view of table mountain and a balcony.

The wake up call service is unbelievable they will ask when you book it if you want a tea or coffee and you get the call and within a few minutes there is a knock at the door and presto there is your coffee.

A very well run hotel

Room Tip: View of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue356sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Your comments will be shared with the entire team and especially those that do the wake up call along with the beverage service. It is always rewarding to learn that we have exceeded expectations of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed three nights and our experience was absolutely wonderful. We were on the 17th floor and the room and view were fantastic. Service was great and breakfasts were overwhelming. The hotels location is probably the best in Cape Town. Easy wlking distances to everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryF994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Terry
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will most certainly convey your message to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Heading to Cape Town? Head for the Taj Hotel located at the foot of the Company Garden and in the heart of the cultural district. It is the best hotel you have never heard of when looking for places to stay in Cape Town! The lobby area was formerly a bank; a beautiful and unique space. Our bedroom + sitting looked out on Table Mountain. The service at the Taj is outstanding. I can't say enough about the friendly, helpful Concierge staff. They have great restaurant recommendations (we loved Savoy Cabbage). If you are a seasoned traveler who likes fine accommodations and low key elegance this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will share your comments with our entire team. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for a quick visit to Cape Town and enjoyed its central location, which allowed us to walk to several nearby stops and sites quite easily. Obviously other places would be more convenient for the beach, or outdoors, as compared with a city centre site. Valet parking was efficient and well handled, as there is no parking by the entrance. The rooms were excellent, well sized and fitted, although we had no especially good views from our rooms at all. It's a bit of a shame that there is no top-floor bar with some views over the city, but this is a minor point. The breakfast was outstanding though, and we'd recommend that. The wifi was also reliable, albeit pretty slow for visiting Europeans, but this is not unusual. All told, we'd stay again if we wanted a handy spot in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience which we will share with the team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.

Kind regards
Michael Powall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My dad stays with Taj Hotels if there's one in the city he's visiting, that's where I got my recommendation from.
Concierge was helpful with all the little silly questions we had, and they were patient with us too. Liked the Freedom walk that was offered, learnt a great deal about Cape Town and it's history! Location was great! Staff was very warm and welcoming. Felt more like a resort/lodge than a hotel when it came to the breakfast, selection was great! Hotel is right next to a strip of shopping stalls, couldn't help ourselves.
If you would like to go to the Indian restaurant that is part of the hotel, make sure to make a reservation when you book the hotel! If not a couple weeks in advance.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Natasha
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Taj Cape Town. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cape Town and more importantly, Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My friend and I decided to treat our mothers to afternoon/high tea at your hotel, and found the experience most disappointing. The food was mediocre at best, and left much to be desired. The price for your high tea is more than The Mount Nelson, so I expected a higher standard of foodstuffs to be on offer at the buffet than half a left over black forest cake (see picture). On top of that, the staff kept serving themselves from the buffet! That is most unacceptable. Staff are not supposed to eat from the buffet that has been put out for paying customers. Another problem was that we were not waited on. Nobody came to clear our table when we had finished a pot of tea or whatnot, or to check if we wanted something or were having a good time. Our table quickly got unbearably full of clutter, at which point WE had to ask a waiter to please make a plan - and apparently the plan was to bring a new table on which to place the clutter, rather than removing it from the table altogether. When my friend and I ordered a glass of water, my friend was offered lemon and/or honey with hers, whilst I was offered nothing of the sort.

For all theses reasons, I would rate high tea at The Taj an overpriced, poor experience. The Mount Nelson is better by leaps and bounds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Jade
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, it is only through detailed feedback like your own that we measure and improve our performance.

Please accept our apologies for poor offering at our high tea. We truly aspire to providing an exceptional high tea experience to all our guests. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and has been discussed with our food and beverage team.

Whilst we appreciate that an apology may not restore your total confidence in the entire offering at Taj Cape Town, when planning your next special occassion I invite you to contact either my personal assistant Trish Humby, or myself, to make the necessary arrangements on your behalf, and I will personally ensure that your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

We certainly hope that you we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
1.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing