We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, plush accommodation”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient, plush accommodation”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were absolutely amazing and very helpful. Breakfast was good. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We loved the convenience of the position of the hotel in central Cape Town, we were able to enjoy walks. We were able to take a nice walk to Bo-Kaap.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ms Cronje
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    340
    84
    28
    26
See reviews for
271
695
82
397
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Last week I have been to Cape Town where I have stayed at Taj Cape Town , room No 1502 ( 9th April 14 to 12th April 14 ).
On 9th I have checked in around 5 pm ( Local Time ) . I was in room most of the time & as a habit I have kept all my accessories ( Camera , Mont Blanc Pen , Watch , Wallets etc ) on the Working table. Next day I have left hotel bit early around 7 oclock morning & come back around 10 pm. Being tired I have decided to take rest . Next day 11th April early morning when I have started my working ( checking mails etc ) I realised My Mont Blanc Pen ( Model name Star Walker ) is not there on the table where I have kept it. I have searched the same each & Every corner including my luggage & Laptop Bag . But when I have not found the same I have decided to escalate it to Front Desk / House Keeping & Security Department . Security Department has assured me that they will look into it. In the evening when I have come back , I have meet with Mr Ricardo ( Security Personal ) & have put my written complain . For me the pen has got some emotional value attached to it, as it has been gifted to me by father ( Model Name Starwalker ) , which has been also communicate to the team out there . They have assured me that they will find the same & get back to me.

Its being more than a week now & I have not got a single reply from Taj , Cape Town. It’s quite surprising to see that Taj personal is keeping silence & not acting on the written complain submitted by their guest . Is this the way the team Taj treat their guest ? or this is the standard of Taj Security that even a pen is not secured inside the room. It is definitely denting the entire Taj image and setting low standards for the entire company , I shall make sure this issue and unprofessional behaviour is very well communicated to the TATA Corporate Office.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank imGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience. We truly do aspire to providing a luxury Taj experience to all our guests and clearly we have fallen short on this occasion.
We take issues like this very seriously and as you know we advised that we had to investigate all possible leads. Whilst we realise that nothing we say can return the emotional value of the pen, my Front of House Manager has dealt with you to ensure a replacement is sent to you as a gesture of goodwill. We do hope that you will take us up on the offering of restoring your faith in the Taj on your next visit to Cape Town.
When planning your next trip, we ask that you make contact my office, where all the necessary planning will be made on your behalf.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were upgraded to a room with an unbelievable view of the mountain. What a beautiful room and such a treat! Thank you very much for a lovely stay. Also the staff were all very friendly and willing to assist. We had a short, but great stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ms Venter
Thank you for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisors. We certainly hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is the first time I stayed in a Taj and it was a pleasant experience. Check-in was quick, the rooms are impressive, and our mountain view is to die for. If anyone is familiar with the Dusit Thani chains of hotel I must say this is very reminiscent of it for me.

The staff are very helpful, and they remember your name which is quite nice. The concierge has also been incredibly useful to us, and in fact the most important person in the hotel for us during our stay handling all our reservations and providing all recommendations. The location is excellent as well making everything accessible.

Recommended.

Room Tip: A mountain view IS A MUST. It is breathtaking to open your curtains in the morning a look at Table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waseem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Waseem
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will certainly share this with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a really nice hotel, very good location, and great accommodating staff. The morning breakfast was delicious, so were our other meals at Mint Restaurant. My husband called in ahead to have a surprise for me to include a drink, flowers, etc which was never delivered but had been paid for. That was disappointing. The hotel car was convenient as long as you booked in advance. The concierge provided great suggestions on restaurants, etc. The staff really cared for the safety and comfort of hotel guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank penguinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience however I read with concern that our team did not deliver on the flowers, which I would like to follow up on, albeit 5 months ago. Please could you make contact with my office so that we can do the necessary investigation and also make arrangements for the compensation.
We certainly hope that this will not deter you from returning to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We travelled to Cape Town at the beginning of February for an event and stayed at the Taj in Wale Street. It is a lovely hotel as you would expect from this group of hotels and guests experience the same seamless service as in their hotels in India.

The linen on the beds is absolutely sumptuous and the house keeping service really thorough. We stayed in a fairly standard room, but it was well thought out, had all the amenities we needed and a lovely luxurious bathroom.

While at the hotel, I had a treatment at the Spa and highly recommend visiting the Spa, it is quite special.

The breakfasts are lovely and in fine weather can be enjoyed on the square outside. Ask for the dosa, it is delicious.

We ate at the Indian restaurant on the property and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We did have some trouble being seated at first as, although there were tables, and it was 2 hours before closing, the restaurant hostess did not want to seat us as we did not have a booking. When we queried this, the restaurant manager quickly assisted us and made sure we felt welcome.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoTravelRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

i have had the luxury of staying here on a number of occasions. I find the level of service impeccable. Once they get to know you they remember the small things like how you take your coffee etc…Great rooms ask for one with a view of table mountain and a balcony.

The wake up call service is unbelievable they will ask when you book it if you want a tea or coffee and you get the call and within a few minutes there is a knock at the door and presto there is your coffee.

A very well run hotel

Room Tip: View of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue356sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Your comments will be shared with the entire team and especially those that do the wake up call along with the beverage service. It is always rewarding to learn that we have exceeded expectations of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,157 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing