We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and perfectly located for sightseeing”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here with family and my dad back in end May/early June. Fabulous stay. Staff were very friendly. We had booked a two bedroom suite with a mountain view (highly recommended). Huge room (almost like an apartment) where we had plenty of space for my little one to run around. Service was excellent. very helpful and friendly. The Taj lounge staff were equally excellent.

Only flaws in the room was the poor lighting. Could have done with more lighting in the room. Other than that an excellent stay.

Very well located for historical sight seeing. We preferred this location than to the waterfront.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NabeelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Given that my previous experience of Taj Hotels was the Lake Palace, this one had a lot to live up to and did a great job. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we were offered facilities to freshen up, and I was given access to the pool so I could have a swim (which was delightful). The lobby cafe was buzzy and busy, a lovely place to sit and read while we waited, and our room (we were upgraded to a suite so worth the wait!) was beautiful. We ordered room service for lunch and had dinner in Mint, in both cases the food was lovely. All the staff were attentive, courteous and professional. Special mention to the gentleman who managed our bags, and to the reception staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to South Africa and more importantly Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

From the moment we arrived and we whisked to the hotel in the hotel's sumptuous Jaguar limousine, to the royal welcome, we were made to feel like genuine Maharajas returning to one of their royals palaces. The luxury rooms were exquisite and lacked for nothing in both comfort and opulence. Breakfast in the Mint restaurant was the most enjoyable highlight, not only from the decadent variety of food but mainly down to the charm and friendliness of the staff who looked after us and always seemed to anticipate our every need. Dinner in the Bombay Brasserie was unapologetically grand but still executed with finesse and aplomb. We were sad to leave after only a two day flying business trip and having not had the time to soak up the luxury of the spa - maybe next time!

Room Tip: High floor looking towards table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Mark H
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We certainly look forward to your return in the near future. The Jiva spa is a must for all.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Taj in mid Aug. We were travelling with our 11 month old son and we had a fabulous experience.

The rooms are excellent (ask for rooms in the tower wing on the higher floors). The food was excellent. The location was perfect for us (in the heart of the city right next to all the key museums, street markets, all big key shopping related stores) and very close to the waterfront (10 min away by the free courtesy shuttle Taj provides for pick up and drop!). The hotel is one large building - so it does not have gardens etc. The pool is on one of the floors as are the spa services. That's a small difference from other Taj hotels in India where they typically tend to have large gardens and open spaces.

The best aspect though were the staff. They are absolutely fantastic and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The kind of customer centricity they exhibit is something all hotels can learn from. The conceirge services stand out here as excellent - be it in terms of providing information or helping you plan out your day.

Would totally recommend this hotel - definitely for business travellers and for families.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the tower wing on the higher floors facing the table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mpawankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Mr/s Kumar
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn that you had a good time. We hope it will not be too long before we invite you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Taj for 4 nights this summer and were so impressed with the staff. They were all helpful and friendly and always went out of their way to ask how we were doing. The concierge helped us plan all of our activities and each recommendation she made was superb. Several times when we asked for a taxi they ran and got the hotel car instead and we drove in either a jaguar or range rover to our destination. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OLCT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to share your experience. We will share this with the entire team. We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Well first thing the people make u feel like a Million bucks ! The Rooms great wonderful and comfortable because if it rains u always have a great place to put lay your head! The Car Service jaguar u would have to use it aleast one time while u r there its my third time staying in the hotel. I even made a reservation somewere else and I spent the money to stay here again I do travel alot! South Africa is wonderful great shopping @ food@ Walking down to Wharf area and taking the boat to Nelson Mandela Island . Just trust me this hotel will make u feel like u will want to be a repeat customer over and again! Tonya B

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Tonya
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spend 3 nights at Taj. It was an excellent stay, reception, concierge and valet were all very efficient and friendly. Hotel room was clean and comfortable with all amenities. Had a very enjoyable meal at Bombay Brasserie, good use of ingredients and well flavored. The thorn in the side of the hotel is the Mint restaurant. It was disappointing for Taj standards. The service seemed disjointed, there was a lack of communication between the kitchen staff and service staff, which resulted in food taking very long and not all food ordered being brought. The breakfast cannot be faulted but it wasn't wow, the a la carte breakfast menu was very disappointing. The waitress who served us throughout out made up for the parts that we're lacking with her friendly demeanor. Despite that hiccup, still very a very enjoyable stay. The Jiwa spa is also of a very good standard. Special thanks to Jarred the manager for our very comfortable stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank intuitive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly sorry that our team in the Mint Restaurant, failed to deliver on the Taj standards. We can assure you that these issues will be addressed with the them. Thank you so much for your comments pertaining to Jiva Spa and Jarred, which we will ensure he gets a nomination towards our Stars Programme.
We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,391 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,645 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,704 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £143 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing