We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”
Review of Penthouse on Long

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse on Long
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A Gem”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

There isn't a thing I can fault about this place. It's located very conveniently, being right in the city centre, so it's close to the train station and close to the night club scene. The management and staff were great - very warm and welcoming. Bathrooms and showers were flawless. The real appeal of the place is the roof top bar - always busy, with plenty of other guests, and especially great when the weather's good. I'll definitely be back when I get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewKEriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
16
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great stay! Fun bar nights and great location. Good tours available. A nice relaxing tv room is great after a long day. Walking distance to the bars and waterfront. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelReviews00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here the last 2 nights of a 3 week vacation in South Africa. The facility was centrally located, close to transit, clean, affordable and had a great self-serve kitchen. There was a small library room and separate tv room that also had a computer with internet access. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robincpcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

So we booked the penthouse to start our 1 year trip around the world and we were pleasantly surprised :-) the hostel is pretty big with different areas for you to go and chill out. There's a roof top area with a bar to. Also if you want to self cater there's a good fully equipped kitchen. The location of the penthouse is perfect as its literally right in the centre of Cape Town so you can get anywhere pretty quickly including Table Mountain, Signal Hill and the Waterfront. Use the taxi company they suggest which is Excite as they are very reasonable and run on a metre. We used this company throughout our trip in Cape Town. Also as its on long street there's plenty of restaurants etc to go too. I would advise using a taxi at night though.

The reasons why this isn't a 5 star is because for me a few things let it down, however this is just personal to me and might not matter to others.

1. The wifi the whole time we were there was down. It would come on every now and again but mainly off. For us wifi is essential as most of our trip requires planning on the Internet. If your the same then please double check wifi etc.

2. On occasion I found the staff a little off. Not as friendly as the other place we stayed in Cape Town and not as friendly as where we are now. For me this is important.

3. BBQ was not good value at all and you can get a lot more in a restaurant. Also we were never told you have to order BBQ to begin with and I only got mine because some was left over. Either way I wouldn't recommend it.

4. They have a secure cash machine which is great but please double check that it has been filled before withdrawing cash. We tried to withdraw 600r but there was no cash and nobody had told us.

Overall it is a really nice place but those above if improved would make it a 5. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Penthouse on Long St is a special place - it's a family run backpackers and you really feel welcome when you arrive! The entrance can be difficult to find the first time, if you don't know what you are looking for ;) Centrally located on busy LONG st, there's small tuck shops around to buy food and supplies. The reception staff are friendly and give great tips/ advice for what to see & do in Cape Town.

Dorms & rooms are clean, comfortable beds and clean linens, well-lit halls and lots of common space to chill. A huge communal kitchen that's well-stocked for cooking, there's even a mixer if you want to bake cakes! TV lounge is open 24/7, and Penthouse has the best ROOFTOP parties in the city! It's great to see local bands and party with Cape Townians at the backpacker - don't have to go far for the fun ;) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaHuang_FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at penthouse for almost two weeks, and i enjoyed my stay so much. It's a bit tricky to find, because the sign on the street isn't too big, but once you found the kiosk that's right next to the door, it's all fine. all the people who work there are very friendly, so helpful and entertaining and there's always a very good atmosphere (Jommy playing the guitar for example). There was all the time something going on at the roof top bar (that rooftop has an amazing view and if you're keen you can play pool there) and the rooms are well sized and the bathrooms are clean. It's located on Long Street, the perfect place to stay, there are all the bars and clubs and restaurants next to it, and i felt very save there. The kitchen had all the supplies you need for cooking. Also there was a huge tv room with couches and a nice chill out area for everyone. It was a bit cold in the dorm due to an air condition, that you can easily turn off if you find it;) The lift wasn't always working, so sometimes you had to walk down one floor to cacth it from there. What I found quite strange were the cameras in the hallways or the chill out area. But apart from that it was just great! I meat so many amazing people there that i really miss a lot already! anyway I guess it's the place to stay when you're in Cape Town and I was very very happy that I decided to go there.

Room Tip: So the girl's dorm (6 beds) is super nice, it's all red and decorated with little hearts, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank apfelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very lovely and helpful staff! All I asked was a "yes"!
Great stay, booked at first for one night only. And because I liked this place to much, I booked the rest of the week also. Surprising titivated & clean rooms :-).
Location of Penthouse is nice and easy. Becouse of the bars and restaurants. And the bus to airport not far away. Taxi in front of the street and in organized trips you were picked up at the door.
I will say yes if you like easy, cheap, clean, and a good atmosphere!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janineZ8646DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Backpackers
#34 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Unique Lodge
#320 of 508 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse on Long

Property: Penthouse on Long
Address: 112 Long Street | 6th Floor Twinnel Building, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us in our new, family run backpackers on viby Long Street. Right in the middle of all the fun - but a good nights sleep guaranteed.We offer a full range of accommodation from dorms to ensuite doubles and family rooms. All our rooms are individually decorated. We are very women friendly with some girls only dorms with full length mirrors and hair dryers. Fully equipped kitchen, tv lounge, fantastic indoor entertainment area and our own secret garden and bar on the roof. Friendliest welcome in Cape Town. An added bonus is our in-house tour bus offering day tours of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Penthouse on Long reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penthouse On Long Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing