We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need in the centre of CT <3”
Review of Penthouse on Long

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse on Long
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything you need in the centre of CT <3”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Penthouse on long. It is a wonderful location with good services and awesome decorated rooms. Also a good opportunity to meet other travellers :) The rooms were nice and clean and I slept very good in the beds (especially after a night in Longstreet!). Don't forget to check out the rooftopbar! They often organize a nice evening with entertainment.
I loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iris-Dutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
16
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in the 20 bed dorm. It was surprisingly quiet in the room, and in the hostel overall. The beds decent, my ladder was a bit broken. Not a lot if space for bags and it was quite messy. But the hostel has got an amazing rooftop bar! Furthermore, the staff was great! The hostel is located on long, which is number one party street in ctown. However, the party is further up the street and you can't hear it during nights. Overall a decent hostel, great value for the money!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Looking for an affordable place without any frills? This is it. Perfect to crash in for a night or two on a budget, but don't expect too much. We were disappointed in its cleanliness (hair all over the bed sheets and pillows, mould in the shower, dirty mats and carpets) and it was pretty noisy. However it's in a very convenient spot and for what we paid it was a pretty decent stay all round.

Room Tip: For just a little extra you can get a private room with en suite bathroom. Do it. Totally worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M_Abrahams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
366 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I think overall this was a really nice hostel to stay in. I stayed in the 22 bed dorm for 6 days. They helped me book day trips and I liked the idea to have a whiteboard for the guest to put up there own activites (we climbed mountains one day for an instance). The lockers in the door was big and I felt secure leaving all my stuffs there when doing day trips. The WIFI was good. The only negative I can think of was the opening hours of the pub on the roof. Could have been open longer :).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielHenrysson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Penthouse is beyond awesome. The staff is so cherishing, warm, caring and giving so much effort that you just feel like contributing. You can leave your values around and nothing will happen to it, they might just become cleaner and nicer during your absence. Perfect service, equipment, kitchen, dorms, roof top bar, and sweetest people. Especially recommendable for all da sexy gay people in the world, you´ll find yourself in backpacker heaven. And just one step outside the door you feel the vibe and heartbeat of Long Street, the party center of a breathtaking city.

Room Tip: I was in the 22 bed dorm "Fantasy", and it was perfectly fine. Never been in a big dorm be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Once again loved the roof terrace, the location, friendlyness of the staff and cleanlyness of rooms. Remember to hire Steve as a driver to get around - he'll show you interesting sites and won't rip you off!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at penthouse on long for a week and really enjoyed it! Friendly staff that helped us book our skydiving and shark diving trips! Comfy beds, clean toilets and showers. The kitchen was available for making meals which we did a few times. The roof top bar is class and always open! The only down side was that we had an older man in our room who was very rude and pretty disgusting and unfortunately the penthouse was fully booked so we couldnt move but apart from him out stay was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieC43242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#58 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Backpackers
#34 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Unique Lodge
#321 of 507 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse on Long

Property: Penthouse on Long
Address: 112 Long Street | 6th Floor Twinnel Building, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us in our new, family run backpackers on viby Long Street. Right in the middle of all the fun - but a good nights sleep guaranteed.We offer a full range of accommodation from dorms to ensuite doubles and family rooms. All our rooms are individually decorated. We are very women friendly with some girls only dorms with full length mirrors and hair dryers. Fully equipped kitchen, tv lounge, fantastic indoor entertainment area and our own secret garden and bar on the roof. Friendliest welcome in Cape Town. An added bonus is our in-house tour bus offering day tours of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Penthouse on Long reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penthouse On Long Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing