We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily our very best hotel experience... ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easily our very best hotel experience... ever!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel is absolutely amazing, the decor, the design, the layout, the setting. Despite reviews to the contrary, we found the staff and service to be fantastic! The hotel facilities are all very tastefully and meticulously put together – the design has clearly been very carefully considered and perfectly executed. The room (in our case a deluxe room) was beautifully appointed and laid out, spotlessly clean and luxurious in every respect – with a number of surprising touches – for example the back-lit honey onyx surface into which the bathroom’s double vanity is set, which, on its own provides the most beautiful candle light tone to the bathroom. To top it all, we had arrived late at night - and were already absolutely delighted by everything described above, however, when we opened the floor to ceiling curtains the following morning and saw the 180 degree view of Table Mountain above with the bustling city below filling the window, it was the most awe inspiring and VERY beautiful cherry on top! Thank you, 15 on Orange, we were completely impressed and will definitely be back! Thanks also to TripAdvisor’s “Show Prices” service - through which we were able to secure a fantastic rate for our stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to make contact with the hotel in advance to make them aware of any special requests or requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    196
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
77
267
32
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed for 4 nights. Spacious, contemporary, stylish rooms and bathrooms. Comfortable beds. Wifi and wired interned included. Small rooftop gym and pool. Excellent breakfast. Housekeeping needs improvement (left A/C on with thermostat at 19C, room was freezing!)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Urban chic and just the place to stay! It is a bit expensive for the South African market, but come on spoil yourself. 15 on Orange is a five star hotel in the African Pride chain. The hotel was the old office of the Cape DRC and was renovated into a modern, chic and classy place to stay on your next Cape Town get away. Right in the heart of Cape Town and next to the Gardens, the hotel has some spectacular views on Table Mountain. The rooms are lovely, very well equipped and is very relaxing. The public area is very spacious, while the restaurant serves good quality food. Enjoy a cocktail when the sun sets and make some Cape Town memories.

Room Tip: Take a Table Mountain viea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeonSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed at 15 on Orange on a business trip so it was very well located for our purposes. It is a short and pleasant walk from Company's Gardens, Parliament and Long Street.

The rooms are truly spectacular. They are enormous, beautifully appointed, and extremely comfortable. In fact, they're so good that there isn't much incentive to leave - which probably isn't a good thing!

There is free, high-speed wireless internet in the hotel, which is a blessing. The common areas of the hotel are OK - nothing to write home about, though there is a nice pool on the roof of the building. There is secure parking as well.

The breakfast was sumptuous but seemed very expensive if not included in the price of the room. Dinner was OK - not bad but hardly memorable. Service seemed fine but I didn't really ask for very much.

All in all - expensive hotel, but it's got the rooms to match.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

First, the hotel is well located and nicely appointed. The problem with the hotel is the service.

First, my flight in to Cape Town was delayed overnight so I called to let the hotel know I'd be checking in a day late. When I arrived, they had no record of the call and cancelled my whole reservation. They then said they only had a basic room available, not the type of room I paid for, and because they were fully booked, they couldn't give me the room I booked. They wouldn't offer any type of refund or solution, and were generally unpleasant during the process.

Otherwise, I had little interaction with the staff, but nothing to note or complain about during the stay. Only notes are that my wakeup call didn't come on either of the two remaining nights, and about a month later I found out the credit card I used at the hotel was being used to order things online to a Cape Town address. Since the hotel was the only place I used this card, it's safe to assume someone at the hotel got their hands on the number. I've only stayed at the Westin prior to this, and always had great service. I will be going back there from now on.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ca26o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed in this Hotel more than once and always the same great and amazing service.
Our most recent stay was in January. I had made the reservation via e-mail and was offered very good assistance. I had made reservation for the Deluxe rooms and in this case we got the 2-bedroom suite. Views are amazing from the Deluxe rooms...it's worth the extra money!!
The room was a treat in itself. Very comfortable and fresh. Huge bathrooms with both shower and a tub. We choose to have breakfast at the hotel and it's worth every penny. Super fresh and huge assortment. All the staff are very helpful and friendly, a smile everywhere you turn. We got great assistance in arranging dinner reservations, car-transportation and so on.The hotel made reservations for us at "The Roundhouse" (it's a must when you're in town) We were given the best table on the lawn to enjoy our "sun-downers", before heading inside to the best table in the house. We had an amazing evening, all thanks to the amazing staff at "15 on Orange" that made the reservation and ofcourse the staff at "The Roundhouse".
I can't find anything negative about this hotel at all. I've said it before and I will say it again: WE WILL BE BACK!
Especially a big thank you to Tasneem and Sasha who assisted us during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmjson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed here after a week of intense meetings in Pretoria - I chose this hotel as I was travelling alone and needed someone I would be happy to hang out in at night.

The hotel itself was great - beautiful, stylish rooms, great service and facilities. BUT - the restaurant and bar really sealed the deal for me - wonderful, wonderful food and a great wine list. A great hotel restaurant is always a find. A great demographic also meant that there were enough peiople to chat with if you wanted - without any issue of being hassled.

I had a deluxe room with a view of Table Mountain (as per my request) - probably the only thing which would have made the room better would be a balcony - but the hotel has a limited number of balconied rooms (and i neglected to request one in advance) - ce la vie - it was fine without one.

The on premise spa was very nice - although a little pushy with the on-sell of products - but you get that at many places. it was worth it for a couple of excellent massages.

I used both (hotel recommended) local taxis and the hotels own transfer service - both were very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaztic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#44 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 108 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Property: African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing