We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is AMAZING!! i have stayed here twice and every time it is amazing. The rooms are big, have everything and more. The layout is amazing, and everything about it makes your stay amazing.
Franck the barman is a liquid chef, amazing guy.... try the vanila bourbon sours cocktail.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites for solo or couple are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeldelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed at during our 2-week trip in South Africa. Its design is very contemporary and tasteful. The room was spacious. The bathroom was beautiful. Some may find its design a bit funky as the bathtub is outside the bathroom. The bed and pillows were ultra-comfortable. The restaurants are very trendy and serves delicious, creative food. The service is a bit slow, but it's very typical in South Africa. There is a nice view of the Table Mountain from the rooftop. It has a spa which is pretty reasonable. The location is on a quiet street and within walking distance to a lot of attractions. It's a few minutes cab drive to the V & A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekkingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have stayed at 15 on Orange for a long weekend. Very centrally situated, we enjoyed a nice stroll through the Historic Company Gardens and a visit to the planetarium. We have stayed in a deluxe suite, very spacious with a balcony. The bathroom was enormous and have concealed lighting in the double vanity. The best air conditioning systems I have experienced in any hotel. The Hotel itself is very modern and tastefully decorated, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The highlight was the food, from the eggs Benedict that was made to perfection. I can recommend the a la carte menu and rate the food 7 stars. The Sunday lunch buffet including bottomless sparkling wine is also highly recommendable. The best view on Table Mountain from the swimming pool. Very nice safety feature, lifts to rooms will not operate without your room key card.

Room Tip: Request a Mountain View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Some Hotels that try to be this modern can have an issue with form over function. This was not the case with 15 on Orange. I stayed 5 night at this Hotel and would return without hesitation. The room was clean and well stocked and the staff were exceptionally helpful with all of my requests. The hotel is one block away from a whole row of bars and active nightlife ( it's far enough away that you cannot hear or see it from the hotel). Room service was prompt. If you are looking for a sophisticated but modern hotel, this is a great spot.

Two things of note:
1.) The spa at the hotel is independently operated so you cannot easily charge to your room. It's 2011 you should not be issuing paper receipts at a five star hotel while having to explain how antiquated your billing system is . The service at the Spa was otherwise amazing.

2.) When I was checking out there was a miscellaneous charge for champagne from my mini bar that I never opened. The hotel removed the charge without any issues, but something I would keep an eye on when checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Table Mountain, or you can choose a room that overlooks the lobby for some great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2intrepid1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at the 15 On Orange Hotel in Cape Town recently and can only commend the hotel for their impeccable style, elegance and quality.
Everything from the beds, to the bars, even the elevators exude luxury which place this hotel in a class of it's own.
The hotel also smelt amazing! Something to do with perfume being diffused into their air vents!

It's a little bit of a splurge but SO worth it when you see their rooms! we had a 180 degree view of Table Mountain.
The buffet breakfasts are also great!

Definitely a great setting for a romantic weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have stunning views of the Mother City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel offers spectular rooms for the price. Very large, beautifully fitted, large luxury bathroom, room sized shower. Luxurious free San Pelegrino spoarking water and another brand of still, bowl of green and black olives, luxury nuts, great bed, gowns, slippers,etc. The style and size is really amazing and the view of Table Mountain unsurpassed. A large but modestly equipped new gym on the 6rth floor. A great experinece for the price and the second time I have stayed. All that wonder and funk and yet a disappointing very mediocre breakfast. If this hotel wants to be really great, they should lift their game in this department.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seftelgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This relatively new hotel in Cape Town is well worth a visit. We stayed here for four nights as part of an organized tour.The decor is contemporary, the rooms large with comfortable beds and views down to reception or to Table Mountain. The staff are very attentive and helpful. The food is AMAZING. The breakfasts as mentioned in previous reviews are really great you cannot ask for anything better, includes specialty coffees which is always a bonus. We also ate in the evening in the cafe and restaurant, both were great value for money especially the set 3 course meal with a glass of wine in the main restaurant. Free wi-fi internet access is always appreciated.
This hotel is situated at the "dodgy end" of Long Street but we ventured out there during the day without incident, and you can walk down to the Waterfront if you so desire. You can walk to The Nelson Hotel around the corner for the "Hop on Hop Off Tourist Bus" to The Botanic Gardens (Blue Bus) or around the city (Red Bus) or to sample their excellent afternoon tea.
I would definitely stay at 15 on Orange again.

Room Tip: No complaints about the rooms from any of the 39 people on our tour. All rooms were quiet and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £126 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing