We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trendy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

As far as hotel's go, this one deserves its trendsetter title. The rooms are spacious and the fittings are top quailty as I have come to expect from the African Pride group. The location is super if you are visiting the city as it is centrally located in the hub of the night life. The decor is trendy and the rooms are fitted with everything you need, including desk to work and stocked bar fridge. The staff are friendly and helpful and will even drive you to wherever you want to go (in the hotel car of course for a fee). Only down fall is that everything in the hotel is very expensive; a 3 minute phone calls to my cell phone provider to cancel my line after my phone was pick pocketed from me in the street, cost nearly R100. The spa is on the top floor with a pool on the roof; while the spa is small, they cater for couples or singles.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Bridgette D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and to hearing from you again!

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    187
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
73
265
30
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

we arrived at about 20:30 for a pre dinner cocktail at the murano bar at 15 on Orange. the service was very slow (we order beer while the cocktails were being made). when they eventually did arrive, the cocktails were average at best, and the dirty martini was not nice at all. we mentioned the bad quality of the cocktails to the bar staff who did not seem interested. not recommended for drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear dianainspace

Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent visit with us at African Pride, 15 on Orange Hotel.
We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, African Pride Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

We are most apologetic for the delays in your cocktails ordered that evening and the unacceptable amount of time that you waited for them to be made, this is definitely not the service that we are known for.

Although the design detail of the Hotel sets us apart from our competitor set, this is not what we base our success on and it is disappointing to see that we did not succeed in the most important part, namely service delivery. We have a unique STAFF employment philosophy, which we focus on training, motivation and succession planning that has been extremely successful. As mentioned it is extremely disappointing when all of this effort does not deliver the desired results. Please be assured that the concerns raised by yourselves have been taken extremely seriously and been discussed with the Management TEAM as well as the Junior STAFF where necessary. It is only by receiving feedback on our shortcomings and addressing them in earnest that we will be able to deliver the type of service that we want to be known for.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance whatsoever.

With best regards
Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed there on business in November. Rooms are modern, clean. Food excellent. Location superb. Just thought the price for breakfast was way too expensive. Found staff not too attentive, you have to hunt the waiter down for some coffee at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ensure your room rate includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonelleJ1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear RonelleJ1955

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you African Pride Hospitality at its best!

With best regards,

Douglas Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Hotel is modern and stylish. Long Street with its restaurants and bars is in walking distance (5 minutes). From the upper floors one has a great view of table mountain.
On the roof top, there is a small pool (weather was too cold for me to use the pool) with a great vista of table mountain and downtown Cape Town.
Museums are next door, and also a stop of the red double decker sight seeing buses (strongly recommended for those who have little time, yet still want to see a bit of Cape Town and surroundings (at a very reasonable price).

Room Tip: Ask fpor a room on the upper floors (vista). Avoid a room with window towards the internal court (Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear StefanMarco,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience. Thank you for choosing to stay at 15 on Orange Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels next bring you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Spacious, clean, tastefully furnished and everything works.
So if you are looking for a centrally located hotel in Cape Town, that is the right choice.

I took the entry room and was very positively surprised.
The downside is that the view is on the the hotel lobby, so do not expect to be waken up by the sunshine or the noise of the ocean. On the other hand your sleep will not be affected by noise.

Staff is courteous, smiling and will take your feedbacks seriously.
You are within walking distance from Gardens and Long market, which makes it centrally located.

Can only recommend it and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear P H,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Really good hotel, immaculate decor, big room. Turn down service at night. Staff very polite and hard working. The views are spectacular. Great terrace to sit out on. The Breakfast was OK but not as good as it could have been. The hotel would be better for business than holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear MarkBReading,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and to hearing from you again!


Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

one of the best, not overly expensive hotels. So it's not on the beach but it is walking distance to the cafe society of Kloof and the CBD with its great old architecture and cathedral. The hotel itself is modern, with great spa facilities, a superb restaurant with the option of a three course meal at a set price (when I was there it was R185) or a la carte, the most helpful concierge desk and great staff. The suite I was lucky enough to stay in was the size of a small apartment and the bathroom - just divine!

Can't say enough superlatives I would go back tomorrow and it is a short drive from there to all of the other great attractions; table mountain, Hout Bay, Camps Bay, Waterfront etc.

LOVE IT!

Room Tip: I had a suite and they were all fabulous but wouldn't recommend the standard rooms in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Kate L,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel!

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back to 15 on Orange when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Property: African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing