We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel - but Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here last week while attending a conference in Cape Town.
Whilst I agree with majority of the reviews - the rooms are beautiful, very modern, clean and the entire hotel just always smells good.
You get a good impression upon entering, staff were not the friendliest however.
The bathroom is simply amazing - loved the shower especially!
Our accommodation was booked through the conference owners and so maybe not the hotels fault that we were under the impression that the rate included breakfast.
We were told that breakfast was an extra R195pp.
Having stayed here twice I can't say that I'll go back - for considerably less you could stay at a 5 star wine estate in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Chantelle J,

Thank you for your review and for staying at African Pride 15 on Orange hotel.

We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and loved our amazing bathrooms. It is disappointing to hear that you found our STAFF unfriendly, as we pride ourselves in our STAFFing Philosophy and this area of concern will definitely be addressed with our TEAM.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon to our centrally located Cape Town hotel!

Kind Regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We got the deluxe room with the mountain view, and it was well worth it. The device and staff and accommodations were all great. This is probably one of the betteir value stays I've had in a downtown core area in a long time. I highly recommend it, but shop around on rates, they varied widely for the same room/dates.

Thank jgmoore79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear jgmoore79,

Thank you for your review and for staying at African Pride 15 on Orange hotel.

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a four-night stay here through our tour with Friendly Planet. We thoroughly enjoyed every day there. The room had a spectacular view of Table Mountain. The breakfast buffet was nicely presented and had something for everyone's taste. After a slight misunderstanding in the dining room, a special thanks to Rachel Davis, assistant F&B manager, who sent us a note. The only downside to this hotel is the location is a bit far from the Wharf. It's a 40 minute walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear claudia ,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate Rachel for going the extra mile.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to African Pride 15 on Orange hotel and to hearing from you again!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

When going on holiday locally or internationally you always ask yourself one question: Is the hotel centrally located. If it is, you’ll want to know if it will fulfil all your other requirements as well.

The African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel will do just that. It is the preferred choice for discerning, well-travelled connoisseurs and is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain.

This ideal location means that guests are near the South African National Gallery, Planetarium and Company Gardens as well as superb golf courses, world-class shopping destinations and the Long Street Baths.

This hotel combines sensual sophistication with exquisite haute couture design features and a renowned first-class staffing philosophy.

So not only does it tick the box for location but all of the other boxes too when searching for accommodation, whether for leisure or business.

Facilities at 15 on Orange include a rooftop swimming pool, fully equipped gym, bar, restaurant, coffee shop, conference and business centre lounge, and a spa. For a quiet day in, there is also a full cinema room which is equipped with a quality sound system, big-screen TV and good movies to choose from.

Advanced, luxury conferencing

It’s an ideal setting for executive meetings and conferences with five boardrooms, four meeting rooms and a spacious conference room capable of accommodating up to 200 delegates. All venues are fully air-conditioned and suffused with natural light. The technology is state-of-the-art and the banqueting staff will cater to your every whim.

Luxury rooms

No detail is spared to ensure optimum comfort and luxury in the spacious suites. Prestigious bespoke furnishings are complemented by the cool dappled tones of the walls and the warm plus carpet. Sandblasted glass doors lead into an opulent en-suite bathroom.

A visit to 15 on Orange is an experience you’ll never forget – the skilled staff are always available to cater to your every need and to ensure that your stay is as memorable as possible.

For more information and reservations visit:

www.africanpridehotels.com or call +27 (21) 469 8000 or email reservations@15onorangehotel.com

Room Tip: Rooms with Table Mountain view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley_VDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Ashley_VDM

Thank you for your detailed review and for staying at African Pride 15 on Orange hotel.

“Ultimate luxury” is definitely a great way to describe the look and feel of the hotel. We aim to provide the best GUEST service and it is wonderful to know that this is being achieved. I will commend the TEAM for their ongoing search for excellence.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I would give this hotel 4.5 stars if that was an option. Stayed here for four nights as part of a Friendly Planet tour of Cape Town. Fantastic breakfast with lots of hot and cold options. Used room service twice and service was fast. Very comfortable bed and a great shower. Excellent service by their in house driver Greg, who drove us to wine country.

There were two negatives. One was the slow service of the laundry staff, who kept saying my clothes would be delivered when they were not. Also our phones kept getting blocked so we could not make local calls. When we finally did, the calls were very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sethness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear sethness,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and our very comfortable bed.

I would like to apologise for the slow service you experienced with our housekeeping and the problems with making telephone calls from your room. We will address the issue immediately to ensure our GUESTS receive only the best service at all times.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and that we can make up for the shortcomings of this stay.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

just a great hotel and every stay there is always a pleasure..service was excellent as always.. not good with names but special thanks to Tasha and Faseeg who gave us excellent service and to all the other staff as well who are always smiling and willing to assist..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mohammed N,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback on tripadvisor after your recent stay with us at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Tasha & Faseeg in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I recently held a 65 person event at the hotel and I can honestly say it was a great experience. The hotel is modern and secure and located in the shadow of Table Mountain at the top of Long Street.
I thought the price was fairly decent, considering the hotel rating.
The meeting space is very functional and although I was using multiple break out rooms on different levels, the space is contained and serviced by it's own elevator.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
The food is superb
The only slight negative is the size of the outdoor pool, but this is minor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Rob S,

What a fantastic review and your title says it all. Thank you for the ‘5 out of 5’ score on
TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled that African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel was such a great experience and the event was a success.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again soon!

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,025 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
252 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £132 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing