We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh the View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh the View!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Came here for work - got much more than I expected. Great hotel with modern design and modern touches. And my direct view of the mountains was to die for! Second best part was the marble sink with backlighting that was breathtaking. I travelled with a work colleague and I asked him if he turned on the vantiy light, and he did not, and he so missed out. I wish he could have seen it because it is amazing to see the light shine through the stone turning the whole vanity disco orange at night. Now how can I fit that in my own house?

Room Tip: If you don't get the mountain view then you are surely missing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the modern finishes and our honey onyx backlit basin .

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    196
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
77
267
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes....and they even cross the "t's" and dots the "i's"!. Love the bathrooms and size of the rooms.....luxurious and every need catered for. Super fast wi-fi included.
Would be unhealthy to stay too long...can not resist the food. The Norwegian salmon starter a must! Douglas and his team just raised the bar for me. All the staff extremely helpful and patient. Even thought the bar area decor looks like it comes straight from a 1970 porn movie it just works! Funky funky funky decor all the way through the hotel. i'll be back to visit this gem...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a full view of Table Mountain. The rooms facing the inside not my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Marais M,

What an amazing review and thank you for the ‘5 out of 5’ score on TripAdvisor.

We aim to provide the best GUEST service and it is wonderful to know that this is being achieved. I will commend the TEAM for their ongoing search for excellence.

I am thrilled that African Pride 15 on orange hotel is your favourite hotel in Cape Town and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are Procard holders and decided to spoil the family to a weekend in CT - 15 on Orange was a welcome change to the typical hotel one goes to. Very modern, lots of amneities, friendly staff and good service. Our bar fridge was broken and this was attended to in 10 mins - new one fitted and all ok. The double room was blissful - kids had their own decor touches and surprise sweets next to the bed. Our room was very spacious and welcoming. Bathrooms a delight.

Room Tip: Hotel faces North but the view of Table Mountian would be to the South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Travelgigg ,

Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback.

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent service offered and I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a good job!

Your interest and loyalty as a prokard member are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel again soon!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Highly recommended. The service was fabulous. The meals were beautifully prepared and served. At the cocktail lounge we were served the most glorious canapes. The rooms are very luxurious and the beds were turned down with chocolates, gowns, slippers and a special cousion for the bath to rest your head on.

Room Tip: Some rooms have inside view and some outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilavanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear LilavanZyl,

Thank you for all of your positive words about your recent stay and restaurant experience. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to African 15 on Orange Hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Although we live in Cape Town we ended up staying here one night for a romantic weekend away. The room was superb with both an amazing rain shower and large bath. Very comfortable bed and beautiful view of the mountain. Well worth the visit!

The restaurant served good food although the chocolate tart I would not recommend.

Had a treatment at the spa upstairs which made the visit even more special.

All in all this is an amazing hotel and very central to town if you are wanting to go out and enjoy the nightlife.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Tracy B,

I am delighted to read the wonderful comments you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding African Pride 15 on Orange hotel.It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. My favorite parts - the bed & the shower. The bed was amazing - almost impossible to come out of, with great pillows as well. I had 2 very good nights sleep. The shower though not very good from a water conservation standpoint was heavenly. Like showering under a water fall.

I definitely recommend this hotel. It may not be next to the sea but it makes up for it in other delightful ways.

Helpful?
Thank NyakoMaBer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear NyakoMaBer ,

Thank you for your favourable feedback that you shared with us on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an enjoyable stay and it is wonderful to hear that you were comfortable in your spacious room.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely hotel with an excellent location within walking distance of Long Street (site of many restaurants), Company Garden, National Gallery, Jewish Museum and other attractions. The rooms are very large and comfortable, the gym is nice and the breakfast buffet is great. The front-desk staff was also very helpful. One tip: When you enter from the street for the first time, don't be surprised when you don't see the lobby and reception desk. You need to take elevator or stairs up two levels. (Worth the tiny wait!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Himalaya-to-Carolina ,

Thank you for your words of appreciation about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the TEAM for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Property: African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing