We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“39 more years”
Review of Biesmiellah

Biesmiellah
Ranked #191 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: African, Malaysian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“39 more years”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

A restaurant of 39 years standing (not, as one guidebook says, solely a takeaway) serving the best Malay food this side of the Indian Ocean. For lunch we had the Kingkip Curry on a recommendation from the owner (meaty fresh fish and a gorgeous sauce made from turmeric, green chillies, curry leaves and coriander) and Pienang Curry (the best sweet and sour beef we've ever had, made with tumeric and vinegar, slow cooked to give the perfect balance between tang and spice). The roti was crisp too and they brought out more as soon as we needed it.

The setting is next to a street of brightly coloured houses, and there's a view of Table Mountain. A great find and well worth the short walk up the hill to it. No alcohol. Decor simple. The owner says it has been in her family for all of its 39 years - she took over from her late mother 5 years ago.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    72
    27
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rendsburg
Level Contributor
201 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice Cape Malay at Bo-Kaap”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have had lunch at Biesmiellah. The restaurant is furnished simple (it's clean).
The restaurant offer cape malay cuisin, which is a little bit similar to indian, but not very spicy.

We orderes some starters, plus two main courses (curries) and Mango-Lassi
The dishes are very tasty, the service friendly and caring.
It has been a nice lunch break, thank you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Scout_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
276 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Cape Town for a year and wanted to go to a typical cape malay restaurant for all that time.

Finally we booked for biesmillah for a lunch inviting friends.
The venue has a "good" aspect! Of table mountain when no rain. Could not see the mountain.
Set on a "grubby" corner. Not what I expected in bo kaap.

Restaurant VERY basic.

Reading the website this surprised me.
When we walked in I wanted to walk out.
Guests politely suggested we give it a go.

Knew it was halal but thought we could take wine. Being a birthday celebration that was disappointing. No alcohol allowed. Normally fine but a celebration - was flat.

Lady who served us was nice but treated us like children. Explaining things we knew. Like home salad - meaning very basic.

Starters were lovely samosas, moons and corn stuff. Great

Main courses were flavourless .

I went there to have deningvleis. Had it once before and so badly wanted it again. It was horrible. Basic lamb chops in a horrid sweet onion sauce. Nobody ate it.
The bryanie was bland. Salad basic.

Sorry - it was a really disappointing meal. Nobody liked the food and we were embarrassed taking guests there.
I have no idea how they have survived.

Would never recommend anyone going there.


  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Cape Malay Cuisine”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The food here is spectacular, and the service is extremely warm and welcoming. The exterior may not look like much, but the inside is quaint and charming, and the Cape Malay dishes are really special. I recommend ordering the Denning Vleis, a stewed meat dish (as the name tells you) that is sweet and so uniquely spiced. The falooda is also lovely for an after-dinner treat. Biesmiellah served us one of the best dinners in Cape Town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_Golden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best for African Malay cuisine”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We tried some take-away snacks courtesy of our excellent Bo-Kaap tour guide and they were really excellent

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hope0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biesmiellah also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Biesmiellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing