We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Cape Malay food in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biesmiellah

Biesmiellah
Ranked #196 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: African, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Traditional Cape Malay food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Biesmiellah is in the Bo Kaap, Cape Malay district of Cape Town. We had wanted to try authentic Cape Malay food for a while and finally did - it was really good. We tried the Tomato Bredie and the Pienang Curry, neither was what we had expected, but both were excellent and we will try more of their menu. The food wasn't as spicy as we were expecting and a bit sweet, but the combination was amazing. The roti was also very well prepared as were the standard sides served with the food.

The interior decoration is also beautifully done and the staff are very friendly and humble.

The pricing does feel a bit touristy though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    70
    27
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
154 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Cape Malay curries & other dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Following a recommendation from Bon Appetit, we had dinner here last evening. The chicken curry was the best we've ever had. The small dishes of Atchar and onion & tomato sambal were piquant accompaniments. The waitress was dignified and knowledgable while guiding our choices. The restaurant is non-alcoholic, but fruit juices were superb. The restaurant is simple in decor and in the middle of the BoKaap (Cape Malay) area at 2 North Wale Street. A unique & wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were staying locally in Bo Kaap at the time and ate locally quite late after a very busy day.

The restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived 9.30 ish in evening (although a weekday) and had only a couple of tourists and a local family. The restaurant was quite basic although in fairness Biesmielah doesn't try to claim its something it isn't.

When the waitress came to serve us she was delightfully friendly and told us to relax, enjoy the food and to lick our fingers afterwards! I did aswell!

We ordered Denning Vleis and a Daal with a couple of starters / sides. When the food came it was delicious. The meat was falling apart in the mouth and the spice mix was perfect. Was my first experience of Cape Malay cooking and I wasn't disapointed.

Also returned to use the take out section after a night out and fully recommend the steak sandwich!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_B_Xmas_stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Average food, abysmal service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We came here for the bobotie and curries, which were decent, although not outstanding. The service was so terrible, however, that we couldn't get past it for the food. First, after a 40-minute wait, we learned that they were completely out of chicken (it was given to the take-out orders)--then we had to wait another 1/2 hour while the one order was redone and they waited to serve all of us. We had to go to the counter several times when our server disappeared (for sort of important stuff, such as waiting for the rice that never came while the curry got cold). At one point, every table in the restaurant was waiting for the check and the whole place just came to a standstill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelluver222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local is lekker”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We decided to drive around the Bo Kaap, and found this restaurant next to the road. Very clean, and the service was good. We had the pienang curry and butter chicken and enjoyed it very much. For a quick lunch without any fuss, this is the place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biesmiellah also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Biesmiellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing