We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to experience to enjoy the cape malay culture”
Review of Biesmiellah

Biesmiellah
Ranked #172 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best place to experience to enjoy the cape malay culture”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ate at this restaurant on two occasions. The food is great. The denning vleis mutton kalya chicken briyani and cray fish curry are winners.

Sana really took good care of us as the host.


  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    72
    28
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plain restaurant with authentic Cape Malay Cuisine”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stopped by with 5 guests from L.A. for a bite of some typical Malay dishes I had been talking about. We were not disappointed with a great vegetable curry some denning vleis and of course starters including beef samosas. The salad was a bit thin so we ordered extra. Service was slow, but they were busy and we had lots to talk about. An 8 out of 10 for a great mid day meal of many small tasters..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food but not necessarily a place to definitely go”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Service is great. They are very attentive and nice. Food is good. It is not crowded at all, since it is away from touristy areas. Prices are average or slightly above average. Overall, not a place that you should definitely check out but if you are in the bo-kaap or de waterkaant area, then go here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Traditional Cape Malay food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Biesmiellah is in the Bo Kaap, Cape Malay district of Cape Town. We had wanted to try authentic Cape Malay food for a while and finally did - it was really good. We tried the Tomato Bredie and the Pienang Curry, neither was what we had expected, but both were excellent and we will try more of their menu. The food wasn't as spicy as we were expecting and a bit sweet, but the combination was amazing. The roti was also very well prepared as were the standard sides served with the food.

The interior decoration is also beautifully done and the staff are very friendly and humble.

The pricing does feel a bit touristy though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Cape Malay curries & other dishes”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Following a recommendation from Bon Appetit, we had dinner here last evening. The chicken curry was the best we've ever had. The small dishes of Atchar and onion & tomato sambal were piquant accompaniments. The waitress was dignified and knowledgable while guiding our choices. The restaurant is non-alcoholic, but fruit juices were superb. The restaurant is simple in decor and in the middle of the BoKaap (Cape Malay) area at 2 North Wale Street. A unique & wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biesmiellah also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Biesmiellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing