We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Table Mountain View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Table Mountain View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had a two bedroom suite on the 3rd floor with a wrap around balcony facing Table Mountain. The suite was very spacious with floor to ceiling sliding windows. Each bedroom had its own en-suite, one with a shower, the other with a bathtub with handheld shower.

Good kitchen with washer and dryer so we could do our own laundry. The cutlery/glassware was a bit hit and miss. 3 champagne glasses rather than 4. When I left a note on the counter asking the maid for a 4th glass, it was ignored. I had to go to the front desk to ask for a 4th glass. Instead I got 4 additional glasses, making a total of 7.

Each bathroom started with 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels. As our two week stay progressed we would sometimes get no replacement hand towels, sometimes 1, sometimes both. One never knew what one would get towel-wise each day.

The suite however was always clean and our cups, glasses, cutlery were always washed for us. The suite floor was always washed daily.

The suite and bedrooms faced Somerset and were EXTREMELY noisy each night, all night (and I do mean ALL night). This is a party part of the city and thumping music from Cubana restaurant/bar across the street went on until 6am. The suite was also above a gas station which is also busy all night long. I was glad that I had brought good earplugs because they were definitely needed. Some friends were staying in one bedroom suites and the bedrooms were away from the windows and they had no problems with external noise.

The balcony was very nice but the balcony furniture needed to be cleaned and never was.

The wifi used a router in the suite but the signal easily dropped and one would have to log back in. Also, only one person could be logged in at a time so if you have more than one computer or smart phone, it can only be one person at a time. There was a small 60 mb limit per day and one had to get a new login code each day.

TV could stand to have more stations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank rfc_yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    195
    80
    24
    33
See reviews for
152
142
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gobabis, Omaheke, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Loved the modern look of the place, has a balcony that looks out at the sea. It also has a gym and underground parking! We loved staying there because we could do our own thing, lots of restaurants and clubs nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Great location, that's about it !!! Stayed at the Rockwell Cape Town between 23 - 27 December, encountered challenges (synonym for problems). Made the reservation in August 2011 with a request for a room with a view to the harbour, was told my request was noted. Was initially given a room on the first floor close to the pool & so called gym area, pool area could do with some greenery. Anyway, room on the 1st floor hardly had any view might as well have booked a room in a township cos that was the view from this room. Was then given a room on the 2nd floor, so called harbor view, but looked directly into some night shelter across the road. Shower was leaking water onto the bathroom floor area, bath kinda narrow, so don't think wellness, not in the vocab of thsi so called hotel, whatever. Next day had problems with towels and toilet paper, after endless enquiries it was eventually brought to the room at 23h00 that night!! So much for "downturning" the room and the list continues with the rather hard croissants and sour fruit juice for breakfast and it ended with the "removal," self help of my shorts which I know for sure I had that morning, but then someone was looking for a quick xmas gift, at least my contribution to charity. Well, before my stay in Cape Town I stayed at the Mandala Hotel in Berlin on Potsdam Platz (this was tops, rooms were certainly vacuumed daily, perfection genau, professional personnel, efficient, no "You are disturbing me" attitude! Once again, South Africa you need to jack up your service if U want to play in the "big league." No sour grapes form my side, I am use to staying in 5/6 star hotels, from New York, Paris, Dubai, all over Germany, Munich especially, so I know style & class !! An die Deutsche besucher nach Kapstad vinger weg!! Cheers, IE

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

hotel fine if u want to be near city centre was there 5 nov to 13 long week for city longer when my wife told me she had 15 pound stolen out her satchel bag whe keep for airport now i know there was a safe and it was only 15 pound but to hav someone go through your cupoard clothes to get to this bag whe felt violated quite frankly

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at the Rockwell for 2 nights. Suites are great value for money and ideal location with views, nightlife and easy access all pluses. Service is sloppy bordering on negligent though. Food orders were forgotten twice and preferences like medium rare steak or easy over eggs, completely ignored. Also was a little alarmed when I went for a massage - was asked to take it all off and had masseuse repeatedly rubbing accidentally against crotch - disconcerting at best, possibly quite dodgy. If only they offered 5 star service, they could easily play one league up ... Will try again some time and hope they've sorted things out.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA-explorer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Pro's:
* Great location right across from the Cape Quarter, with lots of eating and shopping options nearby.
* Nicely furnished.
* Friendly and helpful staff.
* Nice to have a suite with kitchen and living area.

Con's:
* Bedrooms are a bit on the small side, though this is somewhat balanced by the fact that there is a separate living area.
* Although there is a full kitchen, ours was only minimally furnished. There were four of us in a two-bedroom suite, but only 1 bowl, 3 plates, 2 wine glasses, etc.
* This seems to be one of those buildings that was put up quickly without attention to all the details. Bathroom and kitchen fixtures were loose, etc. Not a big deal but noticeable.
* Parking is R50 per day, though there did appear to be plenty of free spots on the street outside the hotel if you want to chance it.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Rockwell is located within walking distance to both V&A waterfront and Long Street. I found it on Hotels.com, and it was much nicer than it seems on the website.

Very nice and spacious apartment with a balcony, bedroom, closet safe, living room and kitchen. We had lunch a few times in the Lounge downstairs and the food was suprisingly good, especially the veg. wrap. The people working in the reception were really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FotoCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Property: Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD, The V&A Waterfront & some of the trendiest shopping & dining venues.Offering an enticing blend of contemporary urban style & inner-city excitement, surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 39 two-bedroom apartments, 17 one-bedroom apartments & 3 lavish penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour.The new state-of-the-art conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi.Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym & wellness area, heated indoor pool, health & beauty treatment suite, 24hr security & undercover parking.The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing