We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Cape Town for tourists and locals”

City Sightseeing Cape Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.88*
and up
City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
US$42.75*
and up
Cape Point Explorer from Cape Town
Ranked #1 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best way to see Cape Town for tourists and locals”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The first time that I used the bus was in Florence Italy and was very impressed with the commentary and efficiency - to see Cape Town in this way you get to see a lot of buildings and attractions that you would simply drive or walk past if you tried to do it on your own. Great way to get around with the family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,325
    1,109
    111
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Exploring the City of Cape Town and surrounds is easily accessible by using City Sightseeing Cape Town buses.
Purchase the two day package - that allows you to hop on / hop off both the Red route and Blue route buses + a boat tour of the V & A Waterfront canal waterways and a trip to Signal Hill.
It is much more relaxed to travel the bus to the interest destinations and stop over for a meal or refreshment or closer visit.
Even if you live in the City of Cape Town, take the bus! It is an experience you should not let escape you.
I highly recommend this tour.
.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I took the long route via Hout Bay. We had such an awesome time and would recommend the trip to anyone visiting the V&A Waterfront. Love the fact that we could spend time at various locations along the route and then just wait for the next bus to arrive to travel further.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penderis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OPEN TOP RELAXED BUS RIDE...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well worth the ride for a newbie in town. A few routes to chose from - from the V&A Waterfront via Hout Bay, Kirstenbosch, just depends how far you want to travel and how long you have. Great for summer in Cape Town

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DEAR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've lived in Cape Town all my life. I'm not really a nature and sightseeing kind of person. When my family came to Cape Town for a holiday they had the Red Bus trip on their to-do list and convinced us to join them. I am SO glad I agreed. I've seen the absolute beauty of Cape Town for the very first time. The friendly driver and the prompt arrivals and departures as per the schedules impressed me and I was really proud to be a Capetonian. The weather was perfect. We stopped off at Kirstenbosch and enjoyed a wine tasting at Constantia and then on to Hout Bay for a boat trip to Seal Island - what an experience. We then had a lovely plate of fish and chips at Fish on the Rocks. An absolute must if you love fish and calamari - you cannot get enough. When we were done the bus arrived dead on time and took us back to the Waterfront via Camps Bay. Oh we just loved it - we've decided to do it again. It is a fantastic way to spend a Saturday or Sunday if you work during the week. A wonderful way to see Cape Town!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing