We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See Cape Town by Red & Blue buses first.”

City Sightseeing Cape Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.69*
and up
City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #2 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the best way to see Cape Town. Our red open-top buses take you on hop-on, hop-off tours: Red City Tour via Table Mountain and scenic Blue Mini Peninsula Tour via Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See Cape Town by Red & Blue buses first.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic way of exploring Cape Town, we enjoyed the buses very much, great staff, they all had such a nice attitude, lovely people on the buses - very helpful and kind. We never had a grumpy staff member, we loved the ride out to Mariners wharf at Hout Bay great seafood, calamari is special, get off the bus and have seafood in a box! Fantastic! Wish I could go back for more calamari.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennyhasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,203
    1,064
    107
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see Cape Town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A perfect way to see and get to know the beautiful city of Cape Town. There's lots to see, and the tours have a wide selection. There's something for everyone! A good way to start your holiday in Cape Town. We toke the red and the blue line. We learned a lot listining to the guide. There's lots of stops I can talk about, I choose to write about one of the best experiences we had on the tours. A MUST is the nice Winetour, we went of at Groot Constantia. We had an interesting wine&chocolate tasting! And a very good,gourmet lunch at the restaurant with a magnificent view over the wine ranks and Cape Town nature! Have a Nice trip!! :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GourmandKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Do!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I accompanied with our 3-year old daughter took the 2-day ticket that gave access to the Red Bus, Blue Bus, Wine Tour and the Canal Cruise. The buses are great stopping at just the right places. The Blue Bus tour was better since it was for more outdoor stuff to do while the Red Bus takes you to museums and of course the Table Mountain. We wanted to do both. Many stops are also common. Both buses and the canal cruise has audio connectivity where they share history and facts about places that you are passing. So much information that you cant imagine. And all making it worth for. We visited in May so the buses were'nt crowded at all and you could sit wherever you wanted. The staff on the bus are also very friendly and let you know about times. The best part was that we took the last Red Bus on the first of the two days while returning to the Waterfront. The driver said that we could get off at Long Street. He offered and dropped us right outside our hotel on Wale Street when he saw us with our 3-year old. What a wonderful guy and what amazing hospitality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrashantKhullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best way to see Cape Town for tourists and locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The first time that I used the bus was in Florence Italy and was very impressed with the commentary and efficiency - to see Cape Town in this way you get to see a lot of buildings and attractions that you would simply drive or walk past if you tried to do it on your own. Great way to get around with the family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Exploring the City of Cape Town and surrounds is easily accessible by using City Sightseeing Cape Town buses.
Purchase the two day package - that allows you to hop on / hop off both the Red route and Blue route buses + a boat tour of the V & A Waterfront canal waterways and a trip to Signal Hill.
It is much more relaxed to travel the bus to the interest destinations and stop over for a meal or refreshment or closer visit.
Even if you live in the City of Cape Town, take the bus! It is an experience you should not let escape you.
I highly recommend this tour.
.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Sightseeing Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing