We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in Cape Town.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bergzicht Guesthouse
Ranked #60 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our family stayed here for four nights in April. This is an ideal place to stay in Cape Town. It has wonderful views of Table Mountain and has a nice family pool which is ideal. You are very close to the city centre and all the sites of Cape Town. The Breakfasts are very good. The rooms are a little small and the bathrooms even smaller however they are kept spotlessly clean!. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and really make an effort to make you feel at home!. Christine and Cathy and the rest of the staff are great hosts and cannot do enough to help you. We had a great time. Roger, Veronica, Louise & Graham Noel Jersey, Channel Islands.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerJerseyCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

On the top of Tamboerskloof we found ourselves in the most tranquil surroundings. The view of Table Mountain and the city is breathtaking. The pool was a delight during the hottest days. Katherine was fantastic as a host and gave us lots of useful information. Directing us to some fantastic local restaurants, Beleza being our favourite. The location gives easy access to all destinations in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Bergzicht Guesthouse is situated in the hills of Tamboerskloof and has a fantastic view towards Table Mountain. I travelled along with my wife and two friends and we stayed for 8 nights. Walking distance to Long Street is about 12 minutes, and about 20-25 minutes to Waterfront. The staff is very friendly and was taking very good care of us. If we needed a taxi or a restaurant table, they were able to arrange it on short notice. The breakfast (included) was very good. I,ll be back the next time I visit CT.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiseraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Beautiful place w amazing views of the Table Mountain and a very helpful staff. Even One of the bathrooms had a view of the table mountain! We had just one day and Christine from the staff came up with amazing recos on restaurants as well as things to do. The small pool is great for families with children of all ages.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWTraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Beautiful location at the top of Tamboerskloof. Katherine made us feel right at home. The close proximity to all destinations and the Cape town stadium for the soccer was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank robertjohnhalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We spent the first night of our 19 day trip at the Bergzicht. Rooms were comfortable, although as mentioned in previous review the bathrooms were small compared to other guesthouses we have stayed in. The manager was very helpful, although not all advice given was accurate. For example he advised us that the best horse racing course in Cape Town is Royal Ascot, but we later discovered this closed down some time ago. The garden and views alone are worth a visit, but the real higlhight was Catherine, a member of staff, who was an absolute delight.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I stayed at Bergzicht guest house for 4 and 3 nights respectively the beginning and end of my trip to South Africa in November/December 2009. The guest house is located in Tamboerskool in the City Bowl suburbs. It is generally well located; there are a good range of restaurants within walking distance. Some of the sites are within walking distance though a car is an essential requirement when travelling around South Africa. Bergzicht provides a good base to see the various sites in and around Cape Town for example the cable care to Table Mountain is only a short drive away. The room was generally well set out though the bathroom was rather small. The grounds are really nice and having a swim and viewing the backdrop of Table Mountain after a days sight seeing was a great way of ending a day. The best feature of the Bergzicht is the personal touch provided by owners and staff. Nothing was too much trouble; they provided reliable advice and guidance, sorted out bookings or simple talk over a cup of tea. I was particularly thankful for all the help and support they provided me and my wife when I became unwell. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
371 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Belle Ombre
Villa Belle Ombre
#38 of 156 in Cape Town Central
110 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#54 of 156 in Cape Town Central
102 reviews
City Bowl
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
#89 of 156 in Cape Town Central
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergzicht Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergzicht Guesthouse

Address: 5 Devonport Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bergzicht Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing