We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Cape Town!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bergzicht Guesthouse
Ranked #60 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our room had a fantastic view of the city and table mountain. Staff was helpful and friendly, and the neigbourhood felt safe; street parking was not a problem. Standard breakfast was fine; the special treat was eating in the historic room with frescoes on the walls! We walked to Long Street for dinner and live music; about a 15 min walk. Temperature adjustment on the shower was challenging. It would have been nice if the rooms had a mini-fride, but there is a shared fridge available downstairs. Staff tried immediately upon arrival to sell us a township tour, but we opted out since we had not been able to research the company.

Room Tip: #5 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderGirlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely place. It was fantastic to sit by the pool with a night cup looking at Table Mountain and Cape Town. The Norwegian hosts were very helpful and friendly. It was interesting to talk to the staff and they gave us good help. The breakfast was excellent and service very good. We can absolutely recommend this place.
Eli and Olav, Norway

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A very friendly guesthouse with spectacular views of Table Mountain. The walk into town takes in Long Street and is comfortable. Catherine and Victor and Jamica do a great job running the place. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank andreabooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our family stayed here for four nights in April. This is an ideal place to stay in Cape Town. It has wonderful views of Table Mountain and has a nice family pool which is ideal. You are very close to the city centre and all the sites of Cape Town. The Breakfasts are very good. The rooms are a little small and the bathrooms even smaller however they are kept spotlessly clean!. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and really make an effort to make you feel at home!. Christine and Cathy and the rest of the staff are great hosts and cannot do enough to help you. We had a great time. Roger, Veronica, Louise & Graham Noel Jersey, Channel Islands.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerJerseyCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

On the top of Tamboerskloof we found ourselves in the most tranquil surroundings. The view of Table Mountain and the city is breathtaking. The pool was a delight during the hottest days. Katherine was fantastic as a host and gave us lots of useful information. Directing us to some fantastic local restaurants, Beleza being our favourite. The location gives easy access to all destinations in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Bergzicht Guesthouse is situated in the hills of Tamboerskloof and has a fantastic view towards Table Mountain. I travelled along with my wife and two friends and we stayed for 8 nights. Walking distance to Long Street is about 12 minutes, and about 20-25 minutes to Waterfront. The staff is very friendly and was taking very good care of us. If we needed a taxi or a restaurant table, they were able to arrange it on short notice. The breakfast (included) was very good. I,ll be back the next time I visit CT.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiseraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Beautiful place w amazing views of the Table Mountain and a very helpful staff. Even One of the bathrooms had a view of the table mountain! We had just one day and Christine from the staff came up with amazing recos on restaurants as well as things to do. The small pool is great for families with children of all ages.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWTraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Belle Ombre
Villa Belle Ombre
#38 of 156 in Cape Town Central
110 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#53 of 156 in Cape Town Central
102 reviews
City Bowl
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
#91 of 156 in Cape Town Central
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergzicht Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergzicht Guesthouse

Address: 5 Devonport Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bergzicht Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing