We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bergzicht Guesthouse
Ranked #63 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently for a business trip. Room was clean, bed was fine but the duvet was too small. Bathroom was very small. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and they even made it 30 mins earlier for us due to us having to leave for meetings earlier. Try and book a space in the parking lot as we had to park in the street and our rental car was broken into. Don't book the room closest to the street as the noise is quite bad. Very helpful and friendly manager.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain's side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at the Bergzight Guesthouse as a treat on Valentines Day, even though we live just a few kilometres away. We had a beautiful, quiet room with an amazing view of the city and Table Mountain. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and we were proud to be Capetownians and have such wonderful people representing our city. Well done on creating a happy environment for tourists and locals alike. Oh, and the breakfast was delicious!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomKotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Bergzicht- all of 5 nights. We stayed there from 29 November till 4 December 2012.
FIrstly, the property is superbly located- only 5 minutes by car from the city centre and 10 minutes from the V&A waterfront. The bungalow is situated on a hilltop with a fabulous view to boot of Table Mountain, in a safe residential area. You may park your rental car in their garage at night.
The owners, Cecilia and Finn were warm and helpful, and gave us great tips for our tour of Stellenbosch and Constantia wine farms. Our travel agency was not able to book a room with a king sized bed due to unavailability (we booked our trip quite last minute) but when such a room became available, they made sure we got it- thanks guys!
The staff are exemplary and the rooms wonderful, especially the honeymoon suite- what a view of Table Mountain! Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, a buffet and warm breakfast to order- yum.
We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed one night before returning home. They was very accommodating with our luggage as we had been to Stellenbosch for the day. Steps to upper level can be a bit tough for some people. They get an A+ for the radio tuned to a classical music station and F for the TV selection. Great view on Table mountain

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Stephanus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

It is an old house with a beautiful position situated just in front of the bay. Rooms are large, beds are really comfortable. Rates include breakfast, which is served in a beautiful room by kind people. The girl at the desk is kind and helpful. She booked a capetown history tour which was really excellent. The also have a small private car parking.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at Bergzicht for 3 nights and just loved it! The guesthouse has a lovely view over the Table Mountains and Cape Town being our first stop in South Africa we just couldn't stop admiring it! The staff is really wonderful and everybody was extremely helpful; the super nice Norwegian owners Finn and Cecilie, not to forget Katherine and Caity. They were never too busy to help you with advice on tourist attractions, booking a cab, printing tickets to Robben Island, giving us tips of sightseeing in the region etc.Cecilie even handwrote us a whole A4 note of what to see and do on the Cape of Good Hope with very useful tips on sights, where to stop for lunch, nice restaurants, and other things that only a local would know about.
Breakfast was very nice, and the beds extremely comfortable. Room a bit small, but cosy and functional. Within walking distance to Long Street. Free internet access in reception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scalatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our room had a fantastic view of the city and table mountain. Staff was helpful and friendly, and the neigbourhood felt safe; street parking was not a problem. Standard breakfast was fine; the special treat was eating in the historic room with frescoes on the walls! We walked to Long Street for dinner and live music; about a 15 min walk. Temperature adjustment on the shower was challenging. It would have been nice if the rooms had a mini-fride, but there is a shared fridge available downstairs. Staff tried immediately upon arrival to sell us a township tour, but we opted out since we had not been able to research the company.

Room Tip: #5 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderGirlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Belle Ombre
Villa Belle Ombre
#41 of 156 in Cape Town Central
110 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#53 of 156 in Cape Town Central
102 reviews
City Bowl
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
Hillcrest Manor Guesthouse
#89 of 156 in Cape Town Central
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergzicht Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergzicht Guesthouse

Address: 5 Devonport Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bergzicht Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing