We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Happy Rhino Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Long Street Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Pinnacle(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Cape Town Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
St Martini Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Town Hollow(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
454
375
130
47
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
375
130
47
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspepper crabpepper club hotellong streetsinatra restaurantcamps baytable mountainloop streetfree shuttlecoffee machinenight lifeshuttle serviceconcierge desksignal hilllion's headenjoyed my stayour honeymoonsouth africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a great experience at the hotel, the staff were helpful and the room we had was superb and provided a beautiful view of Cape town. We were on our honeymoon and the hotel very kindly sent up a bottle of sparkling wine and some chocolate covered strawberries (nice touch!) The bathroom was impossible to go to without lighting up the whole bedroom which was unfortunate as my husband got quite ill one day and neither of us got much sleep with him visiting the bathroom all night!
The pool is very small and seemed to be in a bit of a wind trap. There wasn't enough seating around it either- only 2 chairs.
The worst thing, however, was the noise of the nearby clubs that pounded through the walls until the small hours- not the best thing for a relaxing holiday!
Location was good for shopping and museums etc, however I think that if I returned I would be inclined to stay at Camps Bay instead of the city location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

We would like to thank you for writing a review regarding your stay with us. We have noted the comments that you have made especially regarding the pool area as well as the noise disturbances from the surrounding nightlife.

We wish that you had mentioned the noise disturbance during your stay, as we would have been able to move you to a higher floor as well as called the CCID (Central City Improvement District) who gladly assist us by having the offenders lower their volume. We strive to service your every need and would happily oblige to assist in every instance,

Yours in service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My friends and i booked a two roomed suite for over 5000 rand per night and stayed there for 7 nights. The views, location and rooms were excellent but all aspects of service were poor apart from about 3 members of staff who stood out. I managed to speak to the General manager Dave Hughes before check out and went through about 7 different complaints we had ranging from no service at breakfast, two aircon units not working, unhelpful and very unfriendly conceirge service, non exsistent shuttle service etc. Dave was apologetic helpful and surprised about the complaints but most of the other guests we spoke to had similar experiences. My advice to anyone staying there go past the duty managers if you have a complaint,they were friendly but ultimately made no difference. Hopefully this hotel can sort out their service.

Room Tip: Get one of the high rooms facing into table mountain.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

We have noted your comments and have implemented a stringent training program across all departments. We completely agree that service is of paramount importance and this is our main focus always. We realise that your stay with us was not one that you or any guest should ever experience and we hope that should you return, you will note the marked improvements in service.

As a new hotel, there are always teething problems, but conversely this means that we have room to grow and adapt to the needs of our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments as this only assists us in making the changes that best service you.

Yours in service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sadly the hotel price cannot compare to the value it offers. After a fantastic holiday in South Africa, this hotel was the worst place to close off a beautiful holiday. What a pitty.
My booking was not found upon arrival. Without my booking confirmation, I would not have found a room.
The Bell boy needed an hour to bring our luggage to the room.
The Bar was almost completely sold out - and the staff were not able to serve the guests. After waiting an hour for drinks, we gave up.
the room service lost our order, only after 45 minutes were they able to serve the drinks we ordered.
The Breakfast which was delivered to the room was not the breakfast we ordered. Even though there is no note on the order form - having breakfast in the room is not only charged the tray charge - but also the full breakfast price. The breakfast in the room, is however much better than the breakfast in the dining room.
The Valet service gave me a strangers car keys. They had misplaced my keys. Upon arrival at my car, after it was parked by the valet service, the car was not locked. Luckily, nothing was missing.
Beach Club leider in "Camps Bay" - nicht der beste Strand zum Schwimmen in Kapstadt - aber sehr trendy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darnitBLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here over the New Year period. Lovely hotel, very sleek and modern. Got an excellent rate on Agoda and a lovely room with huge balcony (1106) This floor seems to have the large walk-onto balconies with city views and of Lions Head. Reception was good and lovely decorated with a huge chandelier, very NYC feel. Sleek restaurant and bar with patio.....very nice for the location. Right in the city center between Loop and Long streets. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carelbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

It is always lovely to have a local enjoy our establishment and it's offerings and even more so, one who likes it enough to return! Do drop in to Paparazzi Bar or Sinatra's Restaurant to get that Manhattan feeling right here, in the comfort of your own city.

And don't forget to snap a photo of yourself on the Hot Seat!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope that we soon become your regular haunt.

Yours in service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Even though the rooms are quite nice and the visual of the hotel is modern, everything regarding service and order is missing in this so called luxury hotel. This was not worth the price!

Check in was dreadful. The room was supposed to be ready at 2 pm but took an additional 1,5h to finish. 3 different people called to check when we were checking out after the first night, even though we were staying 2 nights.

Breakfast serving is a mess and even with 15 staff, half of all things are missing at all times, even when the restaurant is half full only. It took 3 calls to get an iron and ironing board to the room, 1,5h in total.

Pickup service did not show up at all so we had to take a taxi, they did not even notice that they had missed this when we got back to the hotel.

The pool at the 8th floor was dirty and there were not even a single sun bed available.

The complimentary "Pepper Club on the Beach" in Camps Bay is simply a standalone restaurant where you had to chase down the manager in order to get access to the changing rooms in the back of the restaurant.

The location of the hotel is just of the very busy Long street and during weekends you will find yourself lying in bed with the music from the surrounding clubs roaring in your room until early next morning.

Basically, if you are looking for a luxury hotel at 3000-4000 ZAR a night, choose another hotel in Cape Town than the Pepper Club Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Per P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_to_GM, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for bringing to light the incidents that took place during your stay that made it a less than satisfactory one for you. We take each comment very seriously and investigated each point that you made to better understand where exactly it all went wrong.

We realise that you might be hesitant to stay with us in the future, but we can guarantee you this- that we continuously strive to improve every aspect of our service excellence. We would love to have you stay with us in the near future to experience just how much your words have affected us and hope that we spice up you life...just a little bit.

Yours in service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews