We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEPPER CLUB CAPE TOWN” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“PEPPER CLUB CAPE TOWN”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very good hotel but swimming pool cold not heated despite advertised heated very few using.

1/4 of rooms suffer from noise from night clubs next street cannot get to sleep until 4.am hotel aware of this need to triple glaze
we insisted on a move after 2 nights

Room Tip: away from long street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    309
    109
    45
    37
See reviews for
103
309
29
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We loved this hotel, very friendly and helpful service, great room, fantastic breakfast, excellent dinner at very reasonable cost. When (not if) - when we return to this fabulous city, we will definitely stay there again! Thank you! And hi to "Baby" (spelling not sure??) our porter, it was great to meet you, and we wish you the best!

Room Tip: A higher floor is definitely beneficial as it's a busy night-street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you kindly for the review you posted on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received and greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear of your wonderful stay at our hotel and rest assured that your regards have been passed on to Baby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, your home away from home, on your return to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful reception area with polite staff but the rest we found very strange for a 5 star hotel. Why this empty kichenett? Yes you can request that they fill it but this is something you have to find out your self. No information above check in no information in room. Price list for minibar but no minibar. You can request it but no info about that eigther. Big balcony but no furniture. This you can not request. Solution: drag the inside furniture out. One bottle of water to share for the night. Pepper club at the beach: really only a changing room across the street from the beach. They give you a umbrella, a bottle of water and a pice of fruit. Dont bother plan to eat at the restaurant it is closed and have been for a year. But in room information still recommend this restaurant and there are no information that they has closed it down due to very little guests. Even the hotel driver did'nt know. He said they had really good food! Hmmm? Breakfast is a nightmare! The room is crowded. Go somewhere else and pay less. There are also limited options. Now to the dirty stuff. Windows and tables in breakfast area was dirty as in pool area. The corridors outside rooms was not hoovered and not our room eighter. There was breadcrumbs all our floor (carpet) and I nearly stept on a long needle. I asked a maid politely if she could hoover our room floor after showing her the needle but she only said the needle was dangerous. Yes I know! Maybe they dont have hoovers because we saw maids brush the corridors? Very strange! Pro is that we heard no noice from our room on the 12th floor facing Signal Hill. Stay again? No!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBR308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor however we are concerned with your feedback.

Our General Manager, Matthew Cornall, has kindly asked if you could please contact him directly on info@pepperclub.co.za or +27 (0)21 812 8888 in order to discuss the feedback of your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice, breakfast is good, location also. It's a little noisy on weekend nights, due to proximity to numerous bars in Long st. Ask for Table Mountain view rooms! Decoration is fine and bathrooms well designed. Parking at extra cost is convinient. Good choice while in Cape Town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay at the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our establishment .

We trust you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is ideally located with incredible views of Table MTN, If you ask in advance, ask for a high floor view of the MTN. Yes there are noisy nightclubs that seemed to be friday and saturday night only and last well into the night! As in anywhere in cape town , we were advised to stay in after darkness!! Free shuttles to V & A Waterfront are great! Say hello to Casper! If he's not running the shuttle he also works the Cab (uni cab). What a great person!! The staff here are great! Very enthusiastic and attend to every need! This hotel has world class Chefs. And u should definitely try their cheese cake too , masterpiece for such a modest price! We did not try the shuttle to camps beach, we were just in awe of the V. & A that we just kept going there. Coming from Canada we were very pleased with this hotel, you cant expect a perfect place unless your home, and sometimes that can be up for debate too!

Room Tip: High floor w view of Table Mtn. Hotel has 20 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Wow! Thank you for the lovely review you kindly posted on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We really are blessed with amazing view of the iconic Table Mountain.

Thank you for the great feedback on our staff. Rest assured that your compliments have been passed on to all mentioned in your review and all heads of departments to commend their staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, your home away from home.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights of our 18day tour of South Africa. The hotel had a room ready for us on our early arrival. Always great to get room sorted early. The room was clean modern and had every comfort we needed. The bathroom was really lovely. A good shower, nice towelling robes slippers etc. Beds were comfortable and we had a great nights sleep here no noise issues at all. The windows are well glazed and our room was on the higher floor. All service in the hotel was very good.

We used the Pool area but the pool is freezing. The Sauna area in doors is nice and warm and you can sit and read or just laze on the loungers. Capetown can be windy and the pool area can get gusts as it is high up but also well protected all around it.

We had a lovely balcony with a very small view of the sea. We used the hotels free shuttle bus to go to Camps bay and the V & A waterfront. It also goes to Table Mountain. Reception will give a print out of the timetable.

Breakfast was really lovely, do ask the server for the choice of cooked foods, omelettes etc are good. A great choice on for breakfast and the coffee was good also.

We had dinner one night. We all enjoyed our fish, steak etc. Wine prices were ok but we did get better value, price wise in other areas of Cape town. I guess we paid extra for the 5 star. The whole hotel area is lovely. We did have some drinks in the bar on one of our nights, a lovely place to relax after a day touring. The hotel is beside Long street which has lots of bars and restaurants. There is a Supermarket within walking distance also. I was pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: I would get a room high up so street noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globezila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Beautifully decorated with spacious suites, this hotel is located in the heart of the City. Easy strolls to local restaurants, pubs and clubs. Vibey Long Street is around the corner, which is the best place to get and know Cape Town. Excellent restaurant with superb buffet breakfast. First class service.

Room Tip: Try ask for a room facing Table Mountain or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are pleased to note that you had a lovely stay at the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We are very lucky to have some of Cape Town’s major tourist attractions right at our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Property: Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing