We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Central and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

i had a wonderful stay, the staff are all so very helpful and attentive. However, my first night was extrememly noisy. There was a street fight and loud vagrants, whom were not addressed until 3.15am by the police. The next night was better though. I advise you to ensure you book to stay on the Loop street side of the hotel as it is much quieter. But you are in central town, so noise is unavoidable.

Room Tip: Book on Loop street side, as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and found the location of the hotel to be of convenience.

Our sincere apologies for the noise levels you experienced. Due to being a city centre hotel, we are faced with disturbances from time to time. However, I would like to assure you that we do our utmost to try to contain the noise levels. We are in constant communication with the local authorities in order to manage and ensure that the noise is kept down to an absolute minimum.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    310
    110
    45
    37
See reviews for
103
309
29
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for one night at Pepper Club in downtown Cape Town and truly enjoyed the hotel. Its a real 5 star experience and was especially impressed with large size rooms and bathroom. Although the area can be a bit noisy with Long Street around the corner, we stayed on the Loop street side with views over Signal Hill and was very quiet. The room with spacious balcony is simply great and what I personally prefer when traveling on business is a large bathroom with walk in shower and Pepper Club offers this. The lobby lounge bar is a great feature and very friendly service. If there is one thing to improve it is the restaurant. Although the quality of the food is great, the restaurant is missing a bit of character and seems to be stuffed away in a corner behind the bar. They can make more out of this I believe. But in summary, a great hotel and if you are more keen on clubbing than shopping at the Waterfront, excellent location and walking distance to many restaurants, convention centre and shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My visit at the Pepperclub was unfortunately very brief as I attended a meeting facilitated by the German Chamber of Commerce. On arrival from the parking (big bonus) I was welcomed and taken to the appropriate person who courteously walked me to where I need to be, what a treat. Passing through I noticed tasteful enclaves perfect for the meetings happening, note to self. The conference rooms were a bit clumsy to access with only one staircase at the back of the building but the delicious pastries made up for it. On departure the bank of lovely staff promptly attended to my parking ticket and graciously listened to my rambling entreaties for them to visit the Chavonnes Battery Museum at the Clock Tower, V&A. I will be back...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChavonnesMUSEUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is an excellent boutique hotel! My room was nicely appointed and had great views of Table Mountain. Loved the breakfast each morning. My only compliant is that we could hear lots of noise from Long Street. It kept me up most of the night.

Great location in Cape Town, lots of restaurants within walking distance. It is about a 20 min walk to the V&A Waterfront which was enjoyable. If you don't feel like walking it is a short taxi ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Long Street. It is extremely noisy on Thurs, Fri & Sat nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked a family suit. The master bedroom had amazing view of Table Mountains. The best view I can say as we stayed there for 3 days and had seen Table Mountains form all sides possible. Nothing could match that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANIIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback was warmly received.

We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the picturesque views we have to offer. The hotel is extremely privileged to be located right in front of Table Mountain.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My usual accommodation in Cape Town was not available and a friend recommended The Pepper Club in Loop Str Cape Town. From the moment I arrived, on a late night incoming flight the service was excellent. Reception, information and directions were all good. The rooms are very well proportioned and well maintained. In the rooms the only drawback was the hard towels. Not nice after a long day and a good soak in the bath. The other problem I had was the attitude of the Resturant staff. I am not sure why but it appeared as if I was not trusted to settle the bill for an extra guest I had invited as part of a working breakfast. Irony of it all was that when I checked out I had to inform them that they had not included the extra guest on my bill. Apart from the latter, the hotel is an excellent stay and the breakfast in the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I did not choose the hotel for my recent business trip but i was also not disapointed with the choice made for me.
The location and view (from my room) was excellent.
The staff, everyone of them, were friendly and talkative. My coffee was poored before I could sit down at breakfast and the choice of eggs always explained even when I only wanted toast :-)
The evening staff were just as helpfull and friendly especially the bubbly Nicola (Ithink it was).
The choice of evening meals was a little short for a two week stay but on request there was some flexability, thank you.
As previous reviews have stated the noise on some nights was a little too loud and could drone on, this was again the case even on the 14th floor but by no way a complaint about the hotel.
Thank you and hopefully see you next year
Dave M

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midd6194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for the review you kindly posted on TripAdvisor. You feedback was appreciated and valued.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa and thank you for the compliments on Nicola and the rest of our team. Rest assured that your feedback has been passed on to all management to commend their team on their service excellence.

Our sincere apologies for the noise levels you experienced. Due to being a city centre hotel, we are faced with disturbances from time to time. However, I would like to assure you that we do our utmost to try to contain the noise levels. We are in constant communication with the local authorities in order to manage and ensure that the noise is kept down to an absolute minimum.

We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel on your next business trip.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Property: Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing