We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pepper Club Hotel Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pepper Club Hotel Cape Town”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at the Pepper Club Hotel in Cape Town.

Very friendly bar staff. Lovely personable dining room attendants. The people at the hotel are very warm and so hospitable, that I would recommend the hotel for this reason alone.

The hotel also has a private cinema and a wonderful spa!

Basic room was a bit poky in size but had a lovely deep bath. Location is ideal in so far as Long Street is just around the corner.

The dining room is lacking in character. It feels like, and is a dining room stuffed with so many tables, that you know it is aimed at tour bus visitors. On a busy day, it strikes you that the carfé-style dining room experience is completely incongruous with the 'luxury' 'boutique' label to which the owners obviously aspire.

The only complaint I have is that I had to ask - several times in fact - to have security ensure that guests were not smoking on the floors in what is clearly meant to be a non-smoking hotel. This happened at least 4 times.

Room Tip: Try the spa, book the private cinema, have a meal in Long Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    319
    114
    46
    38
See reviews for
114
323
30
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent only one night, but noise from Long Street made for poor sleep. Perhaps the rooms could do with better isolation to block out noise levels. Great food in the restaurant, although presentation could be better. Tasty breakfast with good spread of cheeses and variety of foods. Good bed and spacious rooms with ok decoration. Perhaps not the best place for a family holiday due to neighborhood vibe at night and many business travelers. Lifts are rather confusing (use the fireman's lift and not the service lift). Great gym facility on 8th floor.
Overall, good location for stays to work at the national parliament and certainly an excellent choice for business travelers. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed there for three days as I was conducting a workshop there.The hotel room, the conference venue, service, staff's professionalism and the food can't be faulted, it was a real 5 star experience. My problem was with the lifts. I was staying on the 6th floor and to get access there I had to ride up to the 8th floor where the gym and Spa is situated, then walk through the Spa to get to another lift at the other extreme end. as if that was not enough I decided to use the stairs one morning, but I could not access the reception through that route, I asked one man in an office there and he was unable to assist me. I also had the misfortune of getting a room that is directly opposite a night club and Wednesday and Thursday I could not sleep a wink. but otherwise everything else was superb.

Room Tip: Avoid East facing rooms, there is club opposite the hotel on that side which will really spoil your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor however we are concerned with your feedback. Our General Manager has kindly asked if you could please make direct contact him on info@pepperclub.co.za or +27 (0)21 812 8888 in order to discuss the feedback of your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It makes such a great change experiencing good service, with a smile and alert staff in Cape Town. Lately I have found service SO bad ...sloppy staff who slouch around and act as if you're interrupting THEIR evening when you beg for attention. I spent the night at the Pepperclub Hotel and Spa (wish it had been longer). Had a wonderful experience and dinner..... fillet steak, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented in the intimate dining room.
Went out on the town later, how convenient that Bree streets bustling nightlife is right on their door step!!! Arrived back at 1am...greeted by the doorman who didn't interrogate me as if I were a wondering minstral, he gently asked me what room I was in...polite and warm.
the hotel has a 28 seater cinema which is great for an intimate movie for 2 with free popcorn or one can hire it for a movie viewing for friends, party, function or to watch a big rugby match.
Did I mention the views?!?!
8th floor outdoor pool area and our room - mountain veiws everywhere.
The suite we stayed in had a dining and lounge area as big as some decent flats. I was worried that the city noise would keep me awake, but they must have double glazing, slept like a baby.
I think I took photos of every crystal chandelier in the hotel - very stylish dècor.
A refreshing experience...
I will be back!
Thanks
Mandy Hogg
Marketing Manager Constantia Wine Route Tours

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

To start off our Honeymoon, we stayed in Cape town for 3 nights at Pepper Club in February 2014. My husband and I had a great stay at the hotel. (It was booked by our agent). The bedroom was big enough and the bathroom was huge. The rooms were clean. Since the hotel knew that it was our honeymoon, they ensured to make us feel good. (We had a surprise wine and chocolate coated strawberries in our room on the very first day. Well done !) The room- service is well priced. The reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Not to mention the food, the breakfast was outstanding and of great value. The quality of the food was superb. Also Great Location! Quite a happening place and many good restaurants nearby, with walking distance of 5-10 mins.

Room Tip: Choose room on top floors, preferably above 7-8th floor to have noise free nights..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Most definitely not a 5 star experience.

Upon arrival we waited to be checked in for about 5 mins before anyone even acknowledged we were waiting. My wife had paid for the room upfront on their website but after repeatedly explaining this and sending every form of proof of payment i could find they eventually let us go to our room. When we went to check out they requested we make payment yet again. After a bit more searching they found our payment on their system, surely in this day and age this is automated since we made the payment directly on their site.

We eventually made our way to our room, we requested a room with a view of the mountain but got a room on the opposite side of the hotel. I questioned this at check out and they explained that we would have been put in our room because of the noise but as i said to the front desk, we were told we were in a room with a view of the mountain but this was not the case. I have to wonder how well the gentleman who checked us in actually knew his hotel.

The decor in the room was okay but looked cheap. All of the towels were fraying and looked like towels that where there since the hotel opened. The bedding was terrible, the sheet did not cover the mattress and the mattress did not have a mattress protector so it was discoloured and stained. The sheet also had holes in it.

When trying to find something to watch on the TV, a few of the channels did not work and had error messages.

This hotel is generally very noisy but it is in the city centre so it is to be expected.

My wife went down for breakfast, she said the food was okay but her table was not level and she had paper serviettes instead of linen.

Overall our experience was terrible and unless they give all departments of the hotel a review they are not going to succeed as a 5 star hotel in Cape Town as there is a lot of 5 star choice with much better value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RolandCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper_Club_PR, Public Relations Manager at Pepperclub Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Pepperclub Hotel & Spa. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Our General Manager has been in direct contact with you and is personally investigating this matter.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay... Beautiful comfortable rooms, a bath tub to die for, staff for whom nothing is too much.
The restaurant can however improve on consistency- ranged from excellent one night to really mediocre the next ... Pity the noise coming from club across the road throughout the night will keep me away in future

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BeegMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,268 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
668 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepperclub Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperclub Hotel & Spa

Property: Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
Address: Cnr Loop and Pepper Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pepperclub Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bound by Loop, Long, Pepper and Bloem Street, Pepperclub Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of bustling Cape Town and at the foot of renowned Table Mountain and Lions Head. The hotel not only offers the ideal location, but also five star comfort and personalised service to suit the needs of both leisure and business travellers. Inspired by New York's chic interiors, the hotel consists of 210 generously appointed suites, all of which include spectacular views of Cape Town. Facilities at the hotel include, among others, the intimate Odeon cinema, a fully-equipped gymnasium and a swimming pool with panoramic views. Cayenne Spa, tucked away on the 8th floor of the hotel, offers sanctuary for guests with its modern aura and eclectic menu of modern treatments. Located on the ground floor is Pepperclub's exclusive Paparazzi Bar & Lounge and in-house restaurant, Sinatra's, which combines a stylish and modern setting with a menu inspired by European continental cuisine. The hotel also offers guests scheduled complimentary shuttles to the V&A Waterfront and Camps Bay, home to one of South Africa's most beautiful and picturesque beachfronts. It is here that you will also find our beach club facilities. Hotel guests will have exclusive VIP access to the beach club's showers, private lockers and changing and restroom facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pepperclub Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel And Spa
Pepper Club Luxury Hotel Cape Town Central
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing