We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location - wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Constantia Uitsig - CLOSED

Constantia Uitsig
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location - wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are really spoiled in Constantia - having so great restaurants to roam... Been to Uitsig Restaurant some four or five times in the past six weeks for lunch. What can I say: Outright wonderful food, great value for the money. Wonderful old house, relaxed atmosphere. If the weather is really bad outside, you may have the chance to meet the Uitsig`s wine maker Andre Rousseau there. If you are lucky (like we were), he will treat you some REALLY fine examples of his winemaking art... Try the desert wine!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clemens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    40
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

One of the nicest meals I had during my trip, the food and the service were excellent, it was a little expensive but well worth the money

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This reservation was made as a treat for my Mom and I....and was it a treat! We were really so impressed with the quality of the meal...the presentation, taste..just everything. The menu itself was varied yet not too extensive and the chef's specials of the day were to die for. The service was outstanding and we were treated like queens. Of course the setting is also magnificent! It is my latest favourite restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good, but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I really enjoyed Constantia Uitsig, but coming the night after eating at La Colombe (please read my review of that), it paled. Service and food were excellent, but service was a little stuffy and food was not as innovative as many other wonderful meals in South Africa. (Note, trip was actually 2007; new to writing reviews on Trip Advisor.)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Laughing Hyena”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Noise unbearable in this establishment put the dampers on a tasty meal.....but there again you can,t always pick your fellow diners in the next room (shutting the window would have helped but seems they needed this to stack glasses and bottles on)....menu rattled off like a military exercise...fast and furious....without the map i.e. the board) Having visited some fantastic restraunt,s in the Western Cape it gets a 4 for the meal (taste 5...Presentation 3) and 2 for the ambience .......the racket (noise) on this my one and last visit gets it a Zilch.....Zero. Nearly forgot security is good......,.want a good Restraunt try the Nelly or better still Le Grande Prov in Franchoek.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Constantia Uitsig also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing