We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure class”
Review of Constantia Uitsig - CLOSED

Constantia Uitsig
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure class”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have eaten regularly @ uitsig & this has to be my favourite restaurant of all time !
Better book quick ! The farm has been sold & the restaurant is closing shortly !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    40
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Uitsig is Uitstanding”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

First of all the setting is magnificent on the beautiful Uitsig Vineyards.

Food good, wine very good. (Napoleone sent to find his wine near Uitsig to be brought to him on St Helena).
Staff absolutely first class.

There were a couple of folk in shorts and flip flops and they soon got "disappeared" so its a fairly formal, sort of 'smart casual.'

Price wise, it denies the inexpensive fine dining. You're going to get smacked here about the same as in Paris or Brussels.

Put it on your itinerary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stoffel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great venue!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Liked very much the venue, excellent food with special wines. Bill was a bit on the high side but the smiles on the staff faces made up for this!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrederikvandenBergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Private Room”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our group of 17 had an outstanding experience in a private room of this restaurant set in a Cape Dutch house in a winery. We had chosen a set menu in advance. The food was outstanding. We elected wines from the estate which were first class. But it was the service which really set it apart. We were truly pampered. But hurry - there are rumours that the winery has changed hands and that the restaurant may be closed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
383 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent food n service”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The best meal we had while in Cape Town. The beef was so tender, you almost didn't need a knife. Their was homemade chocolate chip ice cream with fruit for dessert and it was fabulous. It is very quaint n located at a winery so their wine list is large too. Good service. Memorable meal.. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Constantia Uitsig also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing