We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bistro food and atmosphere”
Review of Table Thirteen

Table Thirteen
Ranked #186 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Bistro food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This place would be easy to miss. Just off Somerset Rd. down from the Victoria Junction Hotel (where you can park underground). Look for the white awnings, the small tables and umbrellas on the pavement. The food is always fresh and abundant and delicious. Excellent coffee too. Open for breakfast & lunch but check about dinner - only certain nights. Oh, and takeaways if you want a picnic! Close to town, Cape Quarter and V&A.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluejayinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Delicious Food & Amazing Deserts”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Table Thirteen is one of my favorite restaurants in Cape Town and somewhat of a hidden gem. This is my 2nd review as I wanted to show how the place has stayed good. A lot of places in Cape Town start off well and then drop the quality. Table thirteen continues to be a great place.

Situated in a side street off the main road in Green Point it is opposite the Cape Town Traffic Department. Parking is a bit tricky so we normally try parking in the street behind or in the underground parking at the Protea next door.

The food is just amazing. You can choose from either a breakfast style dish (like smoke salmon and scrambled eggs) or a sandwich or they have a new concept which is deli-style dishes with a side order.

I went for the potato, corgette and mozarella tart with a side of incredible persian style rice. My wife had the same and my mother-in-law had a salmon sandwich with salmon, avo, ginger and wasabi mayo on rye bread (my normal order).

Desert is a selection of incredible cakes. I had my favourite chocolate orange.

Service is very personal and the restaurant is cosy. They sometimes have tables out front or there is a quaint courtyard where you can site outside.

My only complaint with table thirteen is that they are only open for lunch/brunch till 17h00 and only open on normal week days (not Sundays) which basically means I cant visit them often as I am at work most week days and dont go out on Saturdays.

All in all table thirteen is a great place for a light lunch with a client, friends or if you feel like lazing the day away on your laptop.

Would definitely recommend to visitors to the cape or Capetown.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Only Place To Eat when in Town”
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Have been visiting T13 since it opened 18 months ago, it just gets better and better every time. There is so much passion & genuine caring about what comes out from the kitchen, good fresh ideas on a daily basis. With so many local restaurants loosing that caring touch after a few months Lara and her team are always welcoming and friendly, don,t be put off by the lack of parking around the area, its worth waiting for a space or getting a ticket, or why not walk, you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thecapegrandcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful everything!”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Table 13 is an amazing place with a great staff, fresh fabulous food and wonderful ambience. We had a dinner there, put together by Bukela African Safaris, which was very special. They do large group dinners only, I believe. Lara, owner and hostess extraordinaire put together a delicious multi-course dinner menu with the staff doing some talented entertaining! Many thanks to Lara, Eileen, Louisa, Talmandi, Zakiyya and everyone else involved. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveldinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Amazing Chocolate Orange Cake & Good Croissants”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

My wife actually located Table Thirteen. I had not eaten there before and she always raved about the place as it is one of her favorite girly lunch locations. There is also a life style shop next to the restaurant (husbands beware!)

I have since eaten lunch at the restaurant several times and have to say it is great! Only open during the week, it is a breakfast/brunch/lunch location. The menu changes every day as they use only fresh ingredients. The menu is very European with french influence.

You have to try the Chocolate-Orange Cake, it is genuinely the best cake I have ever had. Very doughy in texture it is like a brioche infused with chockolate chunks. Amazing! Look at the pic, u will see it on the table. I think they make there own bread and bakery items like cake and stuff.

The only complaint I have with Table Thirteen is that it is not open for dinner or on Sundays.

For Kaapenaars or visitors to Cape Town I would highly recommend it. It is a hidden gem behind the victoria junction hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Table Thirteen also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Table Thirteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing