We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstading personal tours in Cape Town”

Discovery Tours - Day Tours
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstading personal tours in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Before coming to Cape Town, we contacted Discovery Tours and arranged to be met at the airport, given three days of private tours (Cape Town, the Wine Country, and the Cape Peninsula) and then delivered back to the airport. Tania and Yaseen were great guides and really enjoyable company. They handled all of the details perfectly and were extremely accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed their company and every part of the three-day tour. By the way, Discovery Tours has a special relationship with African Villa, where we stayed, so the combination was perfect.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in Cape Town on vacation over the last week of May and contemplated renting a car but we knew the driver wouldn't be able to admire the amazing sights and views of the mountains all over the Cape fully if we did that. Moreover, there is always the nagging worry we would inadvertently drive into an undesirable neighbourhood, so we decided to go for a private tour instead.

Scoured the net for day tour companies in Cape Town and contacted Discovery Tours after reading all the excellent reviews online. We are so glad we did. Our email queries to them were responded to very promptly and our booking was confirmed in no time. We decided on the Cape Peninsular tour and the Winelands Tour.

Tania picked us up from our hotel in a very spacious Volkswagen MPV. As it was just the two of us and Tania driving, we had plenty of room in the vehicle. We had a lovely time chit-chatting and driving through the beautiful small towns around Cape Town on our way to the wineries. Tania is obviously very passionate about her job and she has a wealth of knowledge on the area. She pointed out the various plants/trees indigenous to the region, told us the names of various wildlife spotted along the way, recount histories of the towns and wineries we drove by and the prominent personalities that influenced the area - it was a smorgasbord of amazing bite-size information which made our trip so much more enjoyable.

Because we drank a lot in the morning and over lunch in the wineries, she suggested we go for a chocolate tasting instead after lunch. Fantastic idea as we ended up buying not an insignificant amount of chocolates from the chocolatier. We also stopped by Franschhoek briefly to stretch our legs and do a spot of souvenir shopping.

Besides the Winelands Tour we also used Discovery for a Cape Peninsular tour. Again, Tania was a wealth of information which made the whole trip so much more enriching. She also has a very sharp eye for spotting wildlife - we saw ostriches, elands, baboons, springboks, antelopes, guinea fowls, zebras and various birds of which names I can no longer remember. Everytime she exclaimed 'look!' it was a mad rush to ready the camera and point it at where she was pointing. She timed the Cape Peninsular tour expertly so we could catch the awe-inspiring view of the sunset over Hout Bay. Pictures of it on the net do not do the place justice, you have to be there (at that time of the day) to experience it.

It was a perfect two days we spent with Tania and we were almost sad when the tour came to an end. We became good friends over the short time we spent together. If you are ever in the Cape Town area and in need of a (customisable) private tour, you can do no wrong but to contact Discovery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ooFlaneryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were in Cape Town for several days and in Franschhoek. From the moment Yaseen picked us up at the airport, we knew we were in good hands. As this was our second trip to South Africa, Yaseen found activities for us to do that we didn't do on our last trip. He was also very knowledgable in directing us to great local shops for items we were interested in (i.e. maps, antiques, etc.). In Constantia and Franschhoek, Yaseen took us to amazing wineries with stunning views. We will contact Discovery Tours again on our next trip back to Cape Town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknown
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent a day with Yaseen over the Easter holidays. I am still not sure how he kept 2 adults and four children aged from 9 to 16 interested in so much all day long! We did a tour of the Cape with him and he took us to many points of special interest. Although I had definate ideas of what I wanted to see, we certainly saw much more and had a better day than we would have had if we had hired a car. I would highly recommend Discovery as they can clearly deliver a tour to suit every group. Thanks Yaseen!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisdilure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special day on the Cape Peninsula tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable tour of the Cape Peninsula - Yaseem our driver/ guide made the day very special and fun for our whole family. We had a mixed aged group with youngsters and not so yougsters and Yaseem tailored the day for us. From the amazing scenary from Signal Hill and Cape Point to the wonderful wildlife (penguins, cape Zebra, ostrich, baboon, antelopes and more) we had an amazing day that will be remembered for a very long time. Many thanks Yaseem!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Discovery Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing